Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
Read the current newsletter! Weekly
Newsletter
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - Destinator 6 TMC Question
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

Destinator 6 TMC Question

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Destinator
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Beep
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jun 04, 2004
Posts: 29
Location: Central Scotland

PostPosted: Mon Jun 05, 2006 11:29 pm    Post subject: Destinator 6 TMC Question Reply with quote

Hi,

Recently bought Destinator 6 to replace Navigon Vn4 and am happy with the GPS side of things, however I have not been able to set up TMC (free version) to show any reports. Auto detect does not detect any channels but manual allows selection of a number of stations. Navigon uses Classic (ITIS) to receive broadcast but I suspect that Destinator uses Trafficmaster/RAC so in Central Scotland I suspect that is (Chrysalis) XFM Scotland. Anybody had any luck with TMC on Destinator 6?

Beep

PS This has also been posted on TMC forum but as yet no responses so thought I would try asking the same question here.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Petekk
Regular Visitor


Joined: Mar 06, 2004
Posts: 137

PostPosted: Tue Jun 06, 2006 11:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Prior to D6 release, I understood the situation to be that the standard version suported "free" TMC - i.e as is avaliable in some countries (not the UK), and that the new "traficsam" version would provide "pay TMC" i.e as avaliable as a premium service in Germany/France etc - or the only varient avaliable in the UK (i.e Itis and TM are both pay TMC services)

I have asked Destinator Support if TMC in the UK is supported by the standard version (i.,e without trafficsam) and received the following response.

Quote:
Destinator 6 supports also the standard version of TMC in the UK. You can purchase TrafficSam additionally and it will provide you with more detailled data about traffic jams as well as immediate information as soon as the traffic jams clear up. The advantage is that TrafficSam collects data from installed stations and not from i.e. radio stations. The fee will be roundabout 60? and this is for a lifetime.


This now makes little sense? i.e Are both running from iTis / or TM & Itis combined? What are "installed stations and not from i.e local stations"? Any one else have some info.,
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Petekk
Regular Visitor


Joined: Mar 06, 2004
Posts: 137

PostPosted: Tue Jun 06, 2006 3:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

New reply from Destinator:

Quote:
Destinator 6 is available without Traffic Sam as well. The standart TMC is dependently to the free TMC Radio Stations which are currently not available in UK. You have to contact the www.trafficmaster.co.uk to get TMC messages in UK.

Do not hesitate to conctact us in case of further questions.


I suspect that the left hand doesnt know what the right hand is doing.

It seems that you need the Trafficsam version for the UK!!! Which does not yet appear to have a release date!!!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Beep
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jun 04, 2004
Posts: 29
Location: Central Scotland

PostPosted: Tue Jun 06, 2006 11:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks Petekk. As you were posting the second response from Destinator I was receiving the same reply, almost word for word, suggesting I contact Trafficmaster. I will post back any more details I receive.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chippie_w
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Mar 02, 2006
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Tue Jun 13, 2006 1:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi
I received Navigator 6 yesterday and installed it on my Eten G500 which has inbuilt GPS & TMC receiver.

Went into the setup and set both GPS & TMC to receive on port 4 speed 38400. TMC set to autoscan

GPS locked on but TMC scanning FM channels but no input.
Then i remember reading somewhere that you have to plug your earphones in to act as an aerial.
Voila starting receiving Traffic reports.
These will be the same as you receive via RDS, not as many or updated live like Traffic Master, but its better than nothing and free!! :D

Regards

Chippy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Petekk
Regular Visitor


Joined: Mar 06, 2004
Posts: 137

PostPosted: Thu Jun 22, 2006 12:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

what country are you in?

Is this the standard or the trafficsam version?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Beep
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jun 04, 2004
Posts: 29
Location: Central Scotland

PostPosted: Thu Jun 22, 2006 8:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

PeteKK

I'm in UK, Central Scotland, using standard version.
This is a cross posting with http://www.pocketgpsworld.com/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=41148
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ysurya
Occasional Visitor


Joined: May 23, 2006
Posts: 28
Location: Southampton

PostPosted: Fri Jul 14, 2006 10:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have just upgraded my DPN5 to D6. The TMC was working perfectly well in DPN5. However, when I installed D6, it does not show any TMC option. I did select the TMC option during installation.

Embarassed


Can anyone advise me any possible solution.

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TheRock
Regular Visitor


Joined: Aug 24, 2005
Posts: 126

PostPosted: Fri Jul 14, 2006 11:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ysurya

copy the tmc.cab from C:\DestinatorApps\Installer\Console\2577\WM5\TMC or C:\DestinatorApps\Installer\Console\2577\PPC2003\TMC on your PDA and execute it.

If you have on TMC options within D6 look in Destinator.ini and set your options with the editor.
_________________
D7
loox n500
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ysurya
Occasional Visitor


Joined: May 23, 2006
Posts: 28
Location: Southampton

PostPosted: Sun Jul 16, 2006 3:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanks TheRock

I tried your suggested method and its done. However, in the TMC menu, it only gives two options, i.e. 1) search - automatic / manual, and 2) avoid - automatic / manual. It does not ask for the radius, message types, etc.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TheRock
Regular Visitor


Joined: Aug 24, 2005
Posts: 126

PostPosted: Sun Jul 16, 2006 7:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ysurya wrote:
thanks TheRock

I tried your suggested method and its done. However, in the TMC menu, it only gives two options, i.e. 1) search - automatic / manual, and 2) avoid - automatic / manual. It does not ask for the radius, message types, etc.


They removed this options in D6 from the menu, cause it confused to many users.
You still can set them in the destinator.ini
_________________
D7
loox n500
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ysurya
Occasional Visitor


Joined: May 23, 2006
Posts: 28
Location: Southampton

PostPosted: Sun Jul 16, 2006 10:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for your help TheRock

I have done the required settings in the ini file

Cheers!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bubbah
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Sep 22, 2008
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Tue Jan 12, 2010 2:09 am    Post subject: help with gps settings on my fone Reply with quote

I have version 9 of destinator that installs fine on my motosurf a3100 winMobile6.1 phone and accepts USA and EU maps with aplomb, however I am flummoxed how to use it to turn on and use the inboard GPS radio on my device. Any ideas ?? Google Maps works fine and sets com0 4800 ...do I need to set up some other way? If I do, will it mess up google maps or does it accept several specs?

---TIA !!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bubbah
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Sep 22, 2008
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Tue Jan 12, 2010 2:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

MORE DETAILS, there is an application in the phone settings titled 'external gps' that has settings IN THE FIRST TAB "PROGRAMS" for GPS PROGRAM PORT which is the "port programs use to obtain GPS data" with choices com 0-9 or GPD 1-9 (I don't know what GPD is). Since there is a SECOND TAB "HARDWARE" which has NONE selected and Baud rate 4800 which "specifies the hardware port to which the GPS device is connected" and finally ACCESS TAB only having a checkbox to "manage GPS automatically" saying this allows multiple programs to obtain GPS data simultaneously. ...what do I need to get the destinator app to "see" the GPS?? Google maps (as well as Bing and other stuff) have a "turn on GPS radio" item in the menus ...do I need to tell the GPS to turn on? I tried turning on in google maps and running destinator9 simultaneously...no joy! hellllp !!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Destinator All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB 2.0.11 © 2001 phpBB Group
phpBB port v2.1 based on Tom Nitzschner's phpbb2.0.6 upgraded to phpBB 2.0.4 standalone was developed and tested by:
ArtificialIntel, ChatServ, mikem,
sixonetonoffun and Paul Laudanski (aka Zhen-Xjell).

Version 2.1 by Nuke Cops 2003 http://www.nukecops.com

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
19.013 (20 Jan 21)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping