Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
Read the current newsletter! Weekly
Newsletter
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - TomTom 5 Upgrades
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

TomTom 5 Upgrades
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> GPS Shows & Related Technology Events
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Privateer
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: 30/12/2002 17:36:20
Posts: 4688
Location: Oxfordshire, England, UK

PostPosted: Thu Mar 10, 2005 4:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

PocketGPS-CeBit wrote:
All Navigator 2 and 3 customers will have to pay 49 euro's to upgrade to version 5, but thrown in with this you will get an upgrade to European Maps.


Is that a free upgrade?
Is that just MRE, full Western Maps of Europe, or something else?

Regards,
_________________
Robert.
iPhone 6s Plus, iOS 13.1.2: iOS CamerAlert v2.0.7
TomTom GO Mobile iOS 2.0.3; TomTom (UK & ROI and Europe) iOS apps v1.29
Garmin Camper 770 LMT-D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
GpsPasSion
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Mar 10, 2005
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Thu Mar 10, 2005 4:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Besides, since Smartphone users did not have an acitvation code in the past that might not work for them either ? Unless there was a product code on the box that they could use to activate v5 ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DavidW
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: 17/05/2003 02:26:21
Posts: 3747
Location: Bedfordshire, UK

PostPosted: Thu Mar 10, 2005 4:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've just discussed this with Dave and passed it back to the CeBIT team, Robert - we're confused.

I suspect we're hearing a repeat of the Navigator 2 -> 3 deal, which is that you get all your Navigator 3 products upgraded for one price so long as they're different. That is, you could pay EUR49 plus P&P to upgrade Navigator 3 GB, Navigator 3 Maps of Western Europe and Navigator 3 USA maps. However, you can't pay EUR49 to upgrade two copies of Navigator 3 GB.


Hopefully TomTom will soon issue further clarification.


So far as TomTom Mobile goes, I believe TomTom have issued Product Codes with existing copies of TomTom Mobile.



David
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
GpsPasSion
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Mar 10, 2005
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Thu Mar 10, 2005 4:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Good news for Smartphone users then, it means they should be able to get a n activation code on www.ttcode.com. I think this will be different than 2->3 as a software only upgrade likely means the activation code is unchanged if not the logistics would be a nightmare for a free upgrade ! I could be wrong of course.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MarkHewitt
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Nov 16, 2004
Posts: 1077
Location: Chester-le-Street & York

PostPosted: Thu Mar 10, 2005 4:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So if I upgrade my TomTom3 to TomTom5 I for Ä49 I will get full street level mapping of the whole of Europe, including the UK?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GpsPasSion
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Mar 10, 2005
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Thu Mar 10, 2005 4:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That would be a big change in pricing, rather your country map blended with European MRE for seamless routing I'd say.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Privateer
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: 30/12/2002 17:36:20
Posts: 4688
Location: Oxfordshire, England, UK

PostPosted: Thu Mar 10, 2005 4:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Privateer wrote:
Is that a free upgrade?
Is that just MRE, full Western Maps of Europe, or something else?

Iíve just reread my last post and it is rather ambiguous, sorry!!! Embarassed Embarassed Embarassed

MarkHewitt wrote:
So if I upgrade my TomTom3 to TomTom5 I for Ä49 I will get full street level mapping of the whole of Europe, including the UK?

Nicely put by MarkHewitt, and it's what I originally meant to say! Smile

Regards,
_________________
Robert.
iPhone 6s Plus, iOS 13.1.2: iOS CamerAlert v2.0.7
TomTom GO Mobile iOS 2.0.3; TomTom (UK & ROI and Europe) iOS apps v1.29
Garmin Camper 770 LMT-D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
GpsPasSion
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Mar 10, 2005
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Thu Mar 10, 2005 5:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just got this : updated PR :

"UPGRADE PROGRAMME
Upgrade program to be announced shortly"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DavidW
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: 17/05/2003 02:26:21
Posts: 3747
Location: Bedfordshire, UK

PostPosted: Thu Mar 10, 2005 5:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'd noticed that earlier - they changed the Press Release for Navigator 5 on their web site about an hour ago and didn't note anywhere that it was a revised version.



David
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Zeena
Regular Visitor


Joined: Oct 15, 2004
Posts: 187
Location: Norway

PostPosted: Thu Mar 10, 2005 8:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

To bad...

I think you should correct this in your rewiev...:

This one: http://www.pocketgpsworld.com/tomtom-navigator-5.php

Before more people get fooled... Wink
_________________
Gunnar Nystul, Forum Admin, TomTom Forum Norway and Nystul Navigasjon
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
GpsPasSion
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Mar 10, 2005
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Thu Mar 10, 2005 9:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

PocketGPS-CeBit wrote:
TomTom now have a revised statement on their website.

REVISED TOMTOM STATEMENT
European owners of TomTom NAVIGATOR 2 and 3 will be offered the possibility to upgrade to the newest version of TomTom....


Stil not very clear, "offered" as in "offered for free" or as in "offered the possibility" ? Are the v4 users covered now ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dave
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Sep 10, 2003
Posts: 6460
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu Mar 10, 2005 10:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Seems to be a bit of a power struggle, some TomTom employees believe it's free and some don't. Shortly after we talked to them about this they suggested the upgrade would cost 49 euro's for TTN2 and TTN3 customers, although this wasn't final Laughing

TomTom acknowledged they had messed up on the Press Release and shortly after that changed their website....then changed it again to the above statement.

My guess is that 4.x customers will get a free upgrade and TTN2/3 users will be at a cost of 49 euro's, but obviously that's down to TomTom and they may change their mind <again>. Rolling Eyes
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
emjaiuk
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Dec 06, 2003
Posts: 335
Location: North Surrey (TW17) UK

PostPosted: Fri Mar 11, 2005 9:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is there any change in BT implementation with TT5? Does it still block other apps, and will there be a work round?

Malcolm
_________________
Go740L App 9.510 Europe 985.8155
RDS_TMC mount
Home 2.8.3.2499 Win10 Home
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nigelw
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jan 26, 2005
Posts: 35

PostPosted: Fri Mar 11, 2005 5:51 pm    Post subject: BT ok in TT 3.07 Reply with quote

If you mean can other apps use the BT port to access the GPS, then TT 3.07 is ok on a Dell Axim X50 with BT Fortuna ClipOn. MM 2004 can access the GPS without problems (well, not without problems, but I think they are caused by the usual lackadaisical attitude to quality at Microsoft). I can use either application, TT doesn't block MM from the BT port.

I have it setup to ask for a BT device when the application starts as I find this doesn't hang the BT interface quite as often, especially if the app is running when the PDA is powered off then on. Obviously, only one application at a time can access the BT GPS, but if I exit one I can start the other and it will again ask for the BT device and open it when selected.

Hopefully it will still ok work in TT5.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
emjaiuk
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Dec 06, 2003
Posts: 335
Location: North Surrey (TW17) UK

PostPosted: Fri Mar 11, 2005 6:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Hopefully it will still ok work in TT5.


That's what I'm nervous about!
_________________
Go740L App 9.510 Europe 985.8155
RDS_TMC mount
Home 2.8.3.2499 Win10 Home
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> GPS Shows & Related Technology Events All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB 2.0.11 © 2001 phpBB Group
phpBB port v2.1 based on Tom Nitzschner's phpbb2.0.6 upgraded to phpBB 2.0.4 standalone was developed and tested by:
ArtificialIntel, ChatServ, mikem,
sixonetonoffun and Paul Laudanski (aka Zhen-Xjell).

Version 2.1 by Nuke Cops © 2003 http://www.nukecops.com

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
17.102 (09 Oct 19)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







© Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping