Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - REVIEW COMMENTS: Medion MDPNA150
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

REVIEW COMMENTS: Medion MDPNA150
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Navigon Portable Navigation Devices
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
AAH
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Feb 22, 2005
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Tue Feb 22, 2005 1:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have just purchased 150 and was advised by Medion that the software for the whole of western europe should have been included in the package. They have agreed to supply 2 cd's containing the additional countries. Unfortunately, I received 2 of the same in error and am awaiting the second cd. Both versions are 3.1.

In any event, I have managed to aquire version 4.2 of Medion's software which includes all of western europe. The software relies on activesync but has a different interface/way of getting the software on the card. I have not played about with this yet, as I am seeking advice on what to do if anything went wrong. Having read the review, I understand a hard reset will solve any problems that I may encounter.

Will the 4.2 software work?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Darren
Pocket GPS Staff
Pocket GPS Staff


Joined: 11/07/2002 14:36:40
Posts: 23848
Location: Hampshire, UK

PostPosted: Tue Feb 22, 2005 4:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes a hard reset will reset the unit to defaults if it all goes wrong, however I very much doubt 4.2 will work as it is designed for PocketPC not WinCE.Net which the 150 runs.
_________________
Darren Griffin - Editor
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
bobgentry
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jan 11, 2005
Posts: 24
Location: UK

PostPosted: Fri Feb 25, 2005 5:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've finally got the UK speed camera database working with the Auto Alert feature on the Medion MDPNA 150.
is it posible to upload to this forum
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Darren
Pocket GPS Staff
Pocket GPS Staff


Joined: 11/07/2002 14:36:40
Posts: 23848
Location: Hampshire, UK

PostPosted: Fri Feb 25, 2005 5:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can't upload files but you can post the 'How To' here.
_________________
Darren Griffin - Editor
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
DreX
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Feb 19, 2005
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Sun Feb 27, 2005 1:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Update

Maps from Medion PNA100 do not work
Maybe something to do with the this one running windows Cd
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
charlie88
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Feb 26, 2005
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sun Feb 27, 2005 2:45 pm    Post subject: Please post instructions Medion150 Reply with quote

bobgentry wrote:
I've finally got the UK speed camera database working with the Auto Alert feature on the Medion MDPNA 150.
is it posible to upload to this forum


How did you manage to get the poi's and alerts to work on the Medion150? I haven't brought a PNA device yet, as reviews and info is very sketchy regarding the compatability with camera database and alerts, with the exception of TTGO, Navigon150 (only with additional software for a fee) and Navman510. I really like the size, look of the Medion150 and the price if suppliers ever have them in stock. Please can you post the instructions and if the POI's and alerts work well? I'm depending on this info as to whether to purchase a Medion150. Are you satisfied with the Medion150?

At the moment after reading extensive reviews regarding POI's and alerts I would place them in the following ranking TomtomGO, Navman510, Navigon150. As these definately indicate that they are compatible with this feature.

Does anyone else know if POI's and alerts can be installed onto a Mitec MIO268 either straight from the box or with additional software?

A very confused beginner to GPS systems Confused [/b]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
shokat
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Mar 01, 2005
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Wed Mar 02, 2005 2:37 am    Post subject: MIO 268 / 269 and TOM TOM NAVIGATOR 3 Reply with quote

I know this is a bit of topic but I have question.
I want to buy the MIO 268 / 269 and I'm hoping some one can tell me if the program will work on them?

And if it will, then how would you install it (I mean do you install the program and the maps on to the SD card?)

Most grateful for any help, as I donít know dam about these things
Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Darren
Pocket GPS Staff
Pocket GPS Staff


Joined: 11/07/2002 14:36:40
Posts: 23848
Location: Hampshire, UK

PostPosted: Wed Mar 02, 2005 8:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

DreX wrote:
Hi Update

Maps from Medion PNA100 do not work
Maybe something to do with the this one running windows Cd


WindowsCE and yes that us why they don't work.
_________________
Darren Griffin - Editor
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
bigbob
Regular Visitor


Joined: Feb 13, 2005
Posts: 108
Location: Highlands Scotland

PostPosted: Wed Mar 02, 2005 11:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Drex
last time I posted about getting info on european maps and have eventually found out that Medion are not releasing europe for PNA 150 so I took the 150 back and got a pna100. The 100 comes with western europe infact the western europe maps look more detailed than the uk ones supplied and if you know where you are going you can do routes with 10Km corridors or however wide you want the corridor instead of downloading sections or whole countries thus saving memory. I am quite pleased with the unit and look forward to using it on our bike tour in June.

cheers Bob
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
mcewena
Regular Visitor


Joined: Feb 21, 2005
Posts: 110
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Wed Mar 09, 2005 9:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Am I right in thinking the Medion 150 is the same as the Mitac 136 except with Teleatlas maps instead of Navteq?

Which maps would you recommend for North America?

The Navman 510 is the same thing without the battery? (why the heck would they do that?).

BTW you implied good battery life in your medion review but didn't mention how long you got...

Thanks,
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mcewena
Regular Visitor


Joined: Feb 21, 2005
Posts: 110
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Wed Mar 09, 2005 10:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mcewena wrote:
The Navman 510 is the same thing without the battery?


My mistake, looks like all 3 have batteries (same 1100mah?).

So are there any major differences between the three besides the map base?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
energello
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Mar 09, 2005
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Thu Mar 10, 2005 1:01 am    Post subject: can i? Reply with quote

:D

hi to all.

recently i bought a medion mdpna150, and my question is, reading all this loooong thread:

can i substitute teleatlas maps (and software obviusly) with navigon maps and software)


how?

tnk u

p.s.

i have personalizied my medion with the packet founded on gps passion..

tnk u

bye bye :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DavidW
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: 17/05/2003 02:26:21
Posts: 3747
Location: Bedfordshire, UK

PostPosted: Thu Mar 10, 2005 9:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

No - like really all Personal Navigation Devices, you can only run the navigation software supplied by the manufacturer. If you want to choose and install your own software, you need something based on Pocket PC or another 'open' operating system.


TeleAtlas don't produce software - TeleAtlas produce map data that the software companies use. I don't know whether the software in the MDPNA150 uses TeleAtlas or Navteq maps - I have a feeling it's TeleAtlas, but I'm not sure.



David
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Mastermind
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Apr 14, 2005
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Thu Apr 14, 2005 2:21 pm    Post subject: Medion PNA 200 Reply with quote

Hi
I just bought a Medion PNA 200 in Norway. Is this the same as the PNA 150 in the UK?
I believe it came with the Navigon Mobile Navigator 4 software and not the Destinator 3. Is it possible to download POI from central databases to this unit? Is it possible to choose a destination based on a persons adress in Outlook contacts?

best regards
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Nesnomissen
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Apr 22, 2005
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Fri Apr 22, 2005 8:02 pm    Post subject: MDPNA150 Reply with quote

Donīt by medions MDPNA150.... it sucks

To many errors, and it locks all the time...

No service....no nothing!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Navigon Portable Navigation Devices All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Page 3 of 4

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB 2.0.11 © 2001 phpBB Group
phpBB port v2.1 based on Tom Nitzschner's phpbb2.0.6 upgraded to phpBB 2.0.4 standalone was developed and tested by:
ArtificialIntel, ChatServ, mikem,
sixonetonoffun and Paul Laudanski (aka Zhen-Xjell).

Version 2.1 by Nuke Cops © 2003 http://www.nukecops.com

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
20.114 (23 Nov 22)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







© Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping