Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
Read the current newsletter! Weekly
Newsletter
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - Cannot delete Custom POI's Nuvi 3590
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

Cannot delete Custom POI's Nuvi 3590
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Garmin Portable Navigation Devices
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
dougproctor
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Jun 13, 2005
Posts: 808
Location: The Deep South

PostPosted: Sat Dec 21, 2013 10:43 pm    Post subject: Cannot delete Custom POI's Nuvi 3590 Reply with quote

This has gone past the annoying stage now. I am using a Macbook to try and upload some new POI's. I am using POI Loader and have made a new folder on the Mac called POI's. In there are folders with speed cameras and other POI's. So far, so good. Done this in the past.
I used POI Loader to delete the old custom POI's and then uploaded the new ones. Or so I thought! In fact when going to the custom POI heading on the unit, there are some of the new ones and all the old ones still there.
When looking at the file structure on the Mac, there are no .gpi files in either the SD card POI folder or on the unit in the POI folder.
So how can they exist or where do they exist on the unit? A hard reset apparently does not delete them.
Is it the Mac causing the problem? When running POI Loader, it tells me they have been removed and the file is gone but they still exist! Help.
Doug
_________________
Returned to a proper Garmin although still have Co-Pilot on a Galaxy S3!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
sussamb
Pocket GPS Verifier
Pocket GPS Verifier


Joined: Mar 18, 2011
Posts: 4404
Location: West Sussex

PostPosted: Sun Dec 22, 2013 6:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Check the whole drives. Garmin will hoover up .gpi files from anywhere, not just the POI folders. As you're on a mac check the trash also.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dougproctor
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Jun 13, 2005
Posts: 808
Location: The Deep South

PostPosted: Sun Dec 22, 2013 11:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you. I had a brain wave today and ejected the SD card from the unit. Now I have only CAM1 and CAM2 folders in the list of custom POI'S on the unit. So they must be on the card somewhere rather than on the unit.
I will have a closer look at the SD card on a Windows machine - must be there somewhere!
Thanks again
Doug
_________________
Returned to a proper Garmin although still have Co-Pilot on a Galaxy S3!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Oldboy
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Dec 08, 2004
Posts: 10632
Location: Suffolk, UK

PostPosted: Sun Dec 22, 2013 12:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It could be that you have Dot_Underscore files lingering.

If you do a Search for mac and dot, there are references to a similar problem occurring on TomToms.
_________________
Richard

TT 910 V7.903 (9183/081205) OS:2344
Europe version 1045.10005
TT Via 135 App 12.075
Western Europe v1082
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
dougproctor
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Jun 13, 2005
Posts: 808
Location: The Deep South

PostPosted: Sun Dec 22, 2013 6:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well nothing shows up on the SD card, even with hidden files showing. For some reason, with it in, it shows up all the old cameras and the old POI'S folders even though I cannot find anything on the card. With the card out, it shows both old and new camera files but no separate POI'S folders that POI'S Loader has supposed to have installed. Are these transferred to the map by any chance?
Why can't I find these .gpi files?
Thanks
_________________
Returned to a proper Garmin although still have Co-Pilot on a Galaxy S3!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Kremmen
Pocket GPS Verifier
Pocket GPS Verifier


Joined: Mar 03, 2006
Posts: 6681
Location: West London & Reading

PostPosted: Tue Dec 24, 2013 7:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have you tried using the feature within POILoader to 'remove' cameras (POI's) ?

Ploy 2 would be to ensure you are allowing the equivalent of Windows 'show hidden files' and 'show protected system files'

They have to be there somewhere ?
_________________
Satnav:
Garmin DS61 LMT-D (In the car)
Garmin 2599 LMT-D (Indoor test rig)
DashCam:
Viofo A119 V3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dougproctor
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Jun 13, 2005
Posts: 808
Location: The Deep South

PostPosted: Wed Dec 25, 2013 12:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi. Thank you. I did try using the remove feature in POILoader but it does not remove everything. I took the SD card out and it left two folders CAM1 and CAM2. Put it back in and it comes up with all my old folders rather than loading the new folders I made and ran through the program.
I would like to remove all the custom POI'S and load new ones but I can't do it. I will try and find them in Windows but only have a Mac at the moment.
_________________
Returned to a proper Garmin although still have Co-Pilot on a Galaxy S3!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
dougproctor
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Jun 13, 2005
Posts: 808
Location: The Deep South

PostPosted: Sun Jan 05, 2014 8:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Still stumped by this! After supposed POI Loader deletes the POI's from the unit and I eject the micro SD card, there are still CAM1, CAM2, Cam1, Cam2 headings listed under Custom POI'S on my unit. I have searched, using a Windows laptop, for any POI'S in the folders and nothing shows up. My unit is almost completely full with only about 20Mb free. That's why they are put on the card.
I then put the SD card back in and all the other POI'S I've loaded appear including another Cam1 and Cam2 that were loaded by POI Loader.
I am confused. Where are they and where do they come from?
Doug
_________________
Returned to a proper Garmin although still have Co-Pilot on a Galaxy S3!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
sussamb
Pocket GPS Verifier
Pocket GPS Verifier


Joined: Mar 18, 2011
Posts: 4404
Location: West Sussex

PostPosted: Sun Jan 05, 2014 8:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well they're not in thin air. I still suspect there's a mac trash on the card. I'd try reformatting the card and then see if they're gone.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dougproctor
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Jun 13, 2005
Posts: 808
Location: The Deep South

PostPosted: Sun Jan 05, 2014 8:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi again. I removed the SD card and formatted it as Fat32. I then made a folder called Garmin and in that folder, made another folder called POI. I then used POI Loader and used the program to load my POI's, including my speed cameras into the folder. All done on the computer.
I then removed the custom POI's from my Nuvi by POI Loader again, looked in the POI folder and there are no .gpi files there. I have also ticked show hidden files and done a search of the whole Nuvi drive and there are no .gpi files there. Start the unit and listed under Custom POI's are CAM1, CAM2, Cam1, Cam2, Cam1 and Cam2 - all containing Pocketgps speed camera references that I loaded before. So where are they? It seems to have retained all the previous incarnations of the database.
A do appreciate your help but I am not a novice to this as you can see by my post count. I have been around a long time. But this is getting past annoying!
Doug
_________________
Returned to a proper Garmin although still have Co-Pilot on a Galaxy S3!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
dougproctor
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Jun 13, 2005
Posts: 808
Location: The Deep South

PostPosted: Sun Jan 05, 2014 9:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have just put the SC card back in and it asked me if I wanted to install the Extras to the unit and I said no because of space. It now lists all the previous Cameras and now the new POI's including the new Cameras1 and Camera2.
_________________
Returned to a proper Garmin although still have Co-Pilot on a Galaxy S3!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
sussamb
Pocket GPS Verifier
Pocket GPS Verifier


Joined: Mar 18, 2011
Posts: 4404
Location: West Sussex

PostPosted: Sun Jan 05, 2014 9:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Has your mac installed a trash on the GPS itself, maybe the files are there?

I agree though this must be very frustrating Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MaFt
Pocket GPS Staff
Pocket GPS Staff


Joined: Aug 31, 2005
Posts: 14803
Location: Bradford, West Yorkshire

PostPosted: Sun Jan 05, 2014 10:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

How are you viewing hidden files on the Mac?

I use the following:

Open up 'Terminal' and enter:
Code:
defaults write com.apple.finder AppleShowAllFiles -bool YES

and then restart Finder with:
Code:
killall Finder


Then take a look at the memory card and the device in Finder. Also clear your Trash.

Once done you can hide the dot files again using:
Code:
defaults write com.apple.finder AppleShowAllFiles -bool NO

and, again, restart finder using
Code:
killall Finder


MaFt
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
dougproctor
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Jun 13, 2005
Posts: 808
Location: The Deep South

PostPosted: Mon Jan 06, 2014 12:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello again. Sorry, actually got rid of the Mac and am now using a Acer Windows 8 machine. So just ticked the see hidden files box. Also did a search for .gpi files with no success.
The unit only has 20Mb of space available hence the use of the SD card. The full Europe map is massive!
Doug
_________________
Returned to a proper Garmin although still have Co-Pilot on a Galaxy S3!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Kremmen
Pocket GPS Verifier
Pocket GPS Verifier


Joined: Mar 03, 2006
Posts: 6681
Location: West London & Reading

PostPosted: Tue Jan 07, 2014 7:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Go back to basics.

If I understand you right your initial problem is that you have too many/duplicate cameras ?

Delete all you can via POILoader and Windows Explorer delete and run with supposedly no cameras at all.
Do you still see them ?
_________________
Satnav:
Garmin DS61 LMT-D (In the car)
Garmin 2599 LMT-D (Indoor test rig)
DashCam:
Viofo A119 V3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Garmin Portable Navigation Devices All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB 2.0.11 © 2001 phpBB Group
phpBB port v2.1 based on Tom Nitzschner's phpbb2.0.6 upgraded to phpBB 2.0.4 standalone was developed and tested by:
ArtificialIntel, ChatServ, mikem,
sixonetonoffun and Paul Laudanski (aka Zhen-Xjell).

Version 2.1 by Nuke Cops 2003 http://www.nukecops.com

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
20.081 (03 Aug 22)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping