Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
Read the current newsletter! Weekly
Newsletter
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
MacFixer, the iPhone, iPod, and iPad specialists
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - Voice commamd UK Postcodes Nuvi 2595LMT
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

Voice commamd UK Postcodes Nuvi 2595LMT

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Garmin Portable Navigation Devices
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
smeagain
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jan 24, 2008
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sat Jan 05, 2013 2:20 pm    Post subject: Voice commamd UK Postcodes Nuvi 2595LMT Reply with quote

I had a 2595LMT for Christmas and it is a massive step up from my much older Street Pilot c510.

One of the main reasons it was chosen for me was the Voice Command Feature. However, I can't seem to make it accept Postcodes by Voice Command.

Is it me not operating it correctly or is Postcode input via Voice Command a feature not supported by this model.

I have updated the Maps to current version and Voice Command takes instructions by Address or Town input, just not Postcodes.

Any help or guidance will be much appreciated.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sussamb
Pocket GPS Verifier
Pocket GPS Verifier


Joined: Mar 18, 2011
Posts: 4399
Location: West Sussex

PostPosted: Sat Jan 05, 2013 3:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Reading the manual it would seem unlikely that you'd be able to input postcodes. Having input the addres though you can call it up using the commands. See page 18 to 20 of the manual:

http://static.garmincdn.com/pumac/nuvi_2405_2505_series_OM.pdf
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
smeagain
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jan 24, 2008
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sat Jan 05, 2013 3:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the prompt reply sussamb.
I am frequently issued with a list of Locations just by Postcode alone. So it would have been a big advance for me to input using Voice Command.

Looks like it's back to old fashioned (and awkward) Touch-screen entry for these locations.

Maybe Garmin will catchup in a software/firmware upgrade sometime soon. Not holding my breath though.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sussamb
Pocket GPS Verifier
Pocket GPS Verifier


Joined: Mar 18, 2011
Posts: 4399
Location: West Sussex

PostPosted: Sat Jan 05, 2013 3:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

smeagain wrote:

Maybe Garmin will catchup in a software/firmware upgrade sometime soon. Not holding my breath though.


Very wise Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Andy_P
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jun 04, 2005
Posts: 19991
Location: West and Southwest London

PostPosted: Sun Jan 06, 2013 3:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I wonder why this is?

TomTom are exactly the same... they are able to accept city and street names as addresses o navigate to, but not postcodes (you have to do those by tapping on screen as normal).

Now, I'm sure it must be easier for a voice recognition system to identify simple letters and numbers rather than tricky sounding street names, so I think there must be some other reason they don't offer it for postcodes.

Maybe some stupid copyright restriction from the Post Office (who own and licence the postcodes)?
_________________
"Settling in nicely" ;-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
smeagain
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jan 24, 2008
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Mon Jan 07, 2013 1:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Maybe some stupid copyright restriction from the Post Office

I doubt it's copyright, because that has been relaxed in recent years and anyway I would expect it to be applied the same when tapped in or spoken.

However back to the original issue.
I only purchased this Garmin model to eliminate on the go tapping in destinations. The Voice Command only eliminates less than 50% for me. So, I do feel a bit cheated as I had expectations that this capability would be at the top of a designers list when specifying Voice Command capability.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Andy_P
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jun 04, 2005
Posts: 19991
Location: West and Southwest London

PostPosted: Mon Jan 07, 2013 3:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

At least you get a "trigger word" (to go into voice control mode) on Garmins, don't you?

On a TomTom, you have to tap the screen just to get started with voice control, then you get a chance to shout at it for a while, and then you often have to tap the screen again to finish!
_________________
"Settling in nicely" ;-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
smeagain
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jan 24, 2008
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Mon Jan 07, 2013 8:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

One day, designers will think it a good idea to perform a "User Needs Analysis" before they go off and produce 'not quite there yet products'.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
M8TJT
The Other Tired Old Man
The Other Tired Old Man


Joined: Apr 04, 2006
Posts: 10118
Location: Bexhill, South Sussex, UK

PostPosted: Mon Jan 07, 2013 10:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

But TT seem to have done the opposite. They started off with good devices and developed them into 'Not quite there' products:roll:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dougproctor
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Jun 13, 2005
Posts: 808
Location: The Deep South

PostPosted: Sat Jan 19, 2013 4:10 pm    Post subject: Returned to Garmin Reply with quote

I returned a TomTom 850 to Halfords because of this supposed Hands Free voice control. On Halfords site, it says talk to the 850 hands free and I said you don't because you have to press the little microphone in the bottom left hand corner to start a conversation. He couldn't really argue so I changed this for a Garmin Nuvi 2595LMT which is really hands free. The TomTom also kept crashing my Windows 8 laptop everytime I connected it.
I love the Garmin apart from the 6 hour long map updating I had to do on first getting it. I have changed the speed cameras for the one on here because, although it is advertised as having Cyclops speed cameras, they are not updated and you need to buy a subscription for 8.45 for that.
All in all, the proper satnav has come on in leaps and bounds as I have been using a Smartphone one for the past two years or so and the difference is surprising.
I'm back!!
Doug
_________________
Returned to a proper Garmin although still have Co-Pilot on a Galaxy S3!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Dabri
Lifetime Member


Joined: Aug 30, 2006
Posts: 130

PostPosted: Sat Jan 26, 2013 4:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't know how different the 2595 is from the 2460, but it is possible to use voice command to enter post codes on a 2460 using ... Voice Command, Find Address, Spell Post Code. It works on my unit.
_________________
Dabri.
Navman iCN530T; Garmin 760T v4.80; Garmin 765T v4.00; Garmin 2460LMT v3.60; Samsung S3;
Garmin 3598LMT-D v5.50; Samsung J6.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xtraseller
Frequent Visitor


Joined: 15/07/2003 22:59:27
Posts: 1050
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Sat Jan 26, 2013 4:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No units I know of accept voice entry for post codes, any make or model

Don't know the reason why other than we rely on post codes more in the UK than many other countries so maybe it's simply forgotten / less important development?
_________________
TomTom Go Live 6100, 600
Garmin DriveLux 50, D-Smart 70, NuviCam, 3598, 2699, 2798
Mio Navman 695
Nexus 6p, Apple iPhone 6sPlus and Microsoft Lumia 950xl running TomTom, Garmin, CoPilot, Navigon, Sygic, Here Drive, Google, Waze, MS Maps
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Dabri
Lifetime Member


Joined: Aug 30, 2006
Posts: 130

PostPosted: Sat Jan 26, 2013 4:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

xltraseller, the Garmin nuvi 2460 LMT does.
_________________
Dabri.
Navman iCN530T; Garmin 760T v4.80; Garmin 765T v4.00; Garmin 2460LMT v3.60; Samsung S3;
Garmin 3598LMT-D v5.50; Samsung J6.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Garmin Portable Navigation Devices All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB 2.0.11 © 2001 phpBB Group
phpBB port v2.1 based on Tom Nitzschner's phpbb2.0.6 upgraded to phpBB 2.0.4 standalone was developed and tested by:
ArtificialIntel, ChatServ, mikem,
sixonetonoffun and Paul Laudanski (aka Zhen-Xjell).

Version 2.1 by Nuke Cops 2003 http://www.nukecops.com

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
20.064 (22 Jun 22)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping