Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - Corrupt map update
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

Corrupt map update

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> MyTomTom / TomTom HOME Desktop
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
slink
Lifetime Member


Joined: Oct 09, 2004
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Thu Jun 04, 2009 11:26 pm    Post subject: Corrupt map update Reply with quote

I just bought a new XL, and on plugging it in as per the quick start guide (which doesn't say anything about backing the device up first Sad ), HOME told me there was a new map available (UK & ROI, 830). Home appeared to do its thing correctly, downloading & installing the map successfully.
However, when I now power the TomTom up, the street names appear corrupted - see the screen shot below:

Has anyone got any ideas? I have reinstalled the downloaded file via HOME, but with the same result, so I guess it's either the map or the download that's no good, but how can I force HOME to download the map again?
Thanks, Steve
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
slink
Lifetime Member


Joined: Oct 09, 2004
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Thu Jun 04, 2009 11:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Fixed it. Very Happy I found a clue on another forum site, and decided to take the plunge! In case it happens to someone else, here's what I did...

Go into HOME, on the second page there is a "remove items" icon. In this section, I selected remove maps, and confirmed that yes, I did want to delete my maps from the system! Once done, I went back to the front page of HOME, and selected the menu item TOOLS, then USE LATEST MAP GUARANTEE. This forced HOME to re-download the map file, and all appears ok after the reinstallation.

Be warned, this also deletes all your POIs, so I'm off to reinstall the speed camera data now Rolling Eyes

Steve.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Pocketgps
Lifetime Member


Joined: Nov 16, 2004
Posts: 2145
Location: Midlands, UK

PostPosted: Thu Jun 04, 2009 11:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello Steve,

I would now do a full back-up via explorer Laughing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
slink
Lifetime Member


Joined: Oct 09, 2004
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Thu Jun 04, 2009 11:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Funny that, my thoughts exactly once I've got all the sounds etc set up again for the speed cams!
It seems a shame TT haven't thought of adding a check of the downloaded data into HOME before it overwrites your map files!
Cheers, Steve.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> MyTomTom / TomTom HOME Desktop All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
21.054 (24 May 23)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping