Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
Read the current newsletter! Weekly
Newsletter
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - NavDesk 2008
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

NavDesk 2008

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Navman Handhelds
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
vark
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Mar 20, 2008
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Tue Apr 22, 2008 1:24 pm    Post subject: NavDesk 2008 Reply with quote

Hi, I have a Navman s90i and I've lost my cd software. Sad Unfortunately I cannot found it anywhere. Please can someone to tell me how can I find it or to give me a copy? Please don't reply smart answers, like buy it from there etc. Evil or Very Mad
Thank you!!!!!!!!!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mostdom
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jul 10, 2006
Posts: 1964
Location: Surrey, UK.

PostPosted: Tue Apr 22, 2008 1:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Vark and welcome to the forum.

If it is only the smart desktop software you have lost then talk to navman support and they might send you a new one, or even look on ebay. However if it is the map cds you have misplaced then I'm afraid your luck has run out. All map cds are individually coded, as far as I am aware. Again I would suggest talking to navman but for those disks I would expect bad news.
_________________
Dom

HERE LIES PND May it rest in peace.
Navigon 7310/iPhone Navigon&Copilot
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
vark
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Mar 20, 2008
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Mon Apr 28, 2008 2:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No, the problem is only with the smart st 2008, I have the maps preloaded into my gps. I spoke with navman technical support and they told me to buy from them a new one! Sad Thank you !!!!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Darren
Pocket GPS Staff
Pocket GPS Staff


Joined: 11/07/2002 14:36:40
Posts: 23848
Location: Hampshire, UK

PostPosted: Mon Apr 28, 2008 2:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Buy a new CD or a new device?
_________________
Darren Griffin - Editor
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
DGreen
Regular Visitor


Joined: Sep 13, 2005
Posts: 65
Location: Adelaide, Australia

PostPosted: Tue Apr 29, 2008 12:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have you downloaded the SP1 pack for the S-series. From memory, when executed, this loaded a new version of NavDesk 2008 onto my system. I did have the original version installed at the time, so I am not sure if it just upgraded the original version or installed the latest version in total. At no time during the update did I get a request to install the original disks.
I must add that my S90i was a replacement from Navman, and already had the SP1 loaded, so I was basically just replacing / updating NavDesk 2008, which may be just what you are after.

Best Regards,
Denis
_________________
Navman S90i
SmartST 2008 - Australian Maps, Pan European Maps
Navman S300T, MY-55T
SmartST 2009 - Australian Maps, Western & Eastern European Maps
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xtraseller
Frequent Visitor


Joined: 15/07/2003 22:59:27
Posts: 1050
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Thu May 01, 2008 11:02 am    Post subject: Try SP1 Reply with quote

As DGreen says, it would seem as if SP1 is a standalone NavDesk - and why wouldn't they, as it is no use with Navman S Series unit, which contain the mapping data pre-loaded, or the CD which contains back-up of the mapping data / out of region purchased mapping data

When I lost my DVD Navman quoted me around 30 for another btw
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
vark
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Mar 20, 2008
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sat May 03, 2008 12:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

HMMMMM!!!! I don't have preinstalled navdesk 2008 on my pc and this is a problem, because when I tried to install SP1 wrote that it needs navdesk 2008. The main problem is why nobody does not want to share his navdesk?
I don't think he going to have any problem! Sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mostdom
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jul 10, 2006
Posts: 1964
Location: Surrey, UK.

PostPosted: Sat May 03, 2008 7:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

vark wrote:
The main problem is why nobody does not want to share his navdesk?
I don't think he going to have any problem! Sad


The reason why, is because it is against the forum rules to share software that may infringe on the copyrights of the supplier, or in any way be deemed illegal. As smart st and navdesk are intellectual property I am unsure if sharing this software would be a breach of this copyright.

If it was shareware or freeware then it should be possible to download the software from navman but as they request money for the program, this would suggest otherwise. If you can't pay 30 for a bit of software then download it yourself from one of those file sharing sites.
_________________
Dom

HERE LIES PND May it rest in peace.
Navigon 7310/iPhone Navigon&Copilot
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Darren
Pocket GPS Staff
Pocket GPS Staff


Joined: 11/07/2002 14:36:40
Posts: 23848
Location: Hampshire, UK

PostPosted: Sat May 03, 2008 8:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mostdom has summed it up superbly, if it is not available to download from Navman then they must have their reasons.

Consequently we will not condone it's supply from elsewhere.
_________________
Darren Griffin - Editor
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
MichaelSPerry
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jun 05, 2008
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Tue Jun 24, 2008 9:21 am    Post subject: Navdesk 2008 software Reply with quote

The reason you are having little response is that each Navman unit is 'code locked' to work only with the supplied software and mapping data on the DVD that was supplied in the box at purchase. To use a different DVD requires the Navman unit to be recoded - and they don't willingly do that for free!

I know that for a fact as I had a problem that required their assistance in reconfiguring the software and supplying a suitable replacement DVD with clear instructions to remove all previous versions from the PC before reinstalling from the new disk.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Navman Handhelds All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB 2.0.11 © 2001 phpBB Group
phpBB port v2.1 based on Tom Nitzschner's phpbb2.0.6 upgraded to phpBB 2.0.4 standalone was developed and tested by:
ArtificialIntel, ChatServ, mikem,
sixonetonoffun and Paul Laudanski (aka Zhen-Xjell).

Version 2.1 by Nuke Cops 2003 http://www.nukecops.com

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
19.102 (13 Oct 21)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping