Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - PC Connectivity problems
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

PC Connectivity problems

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Satmap Active 10
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Dragsterman
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Nov 06, 2007
Posts: 39

PostPosted: Fri Jun 06, 2008 10:15 am    Post subject: PC Connectivity problems Reply with quote

I currently can't transfer any gpx files to my A10. This is the first time I've tried connecting the unit to my PC. I let the A10 unit boot up first, then I insert the USB cable to the PC, I then run the SatSync software (it doesn't run automatically). And I have the following message:

"Please connect your Satmap unit, which should have batteries in, and be switched on."

I can't do anything else then. Clicking on the File drop down menu all the options are greyed out apart from Close Window and Exit SatSync.

The batteries are fresh, the unit is switched on before running the software. Is there something I'm doing wrong? Hope somebody can help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
LostMike
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Jan 17, 2008
Posts: 369
Location: Monmouthshire

PostPosted: Fri Jun 06, 2008 11:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try doing it as Satsync suggests. i.e. Run Satsync first and then connect the running A10.

It works for me.
_________________
LostMike
Satmap A10. Platform 21
Software version 1.5.9193
Satsync 1.525
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dragsterman
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Nov 06, 2007
Posts: 39

PostPosted: Fri Jun 06, 2008 12:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Done that. Still doesn't work! It 's as though the A10 is unrecognised.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
drpeej
Occasional Visitor


Joined: May 30, 2008
Posts: 38
Location: Warwickshire

PostPosted: Fri Jun 06, 2008 1:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I had this problem on both my main PC and my laptop.

Try this with the Satmap plugged in to USB port: (assuming XP but Vista probably similar)

1) Open control Panel / administrative tools / computer management

2) Select Disk Management

3) Scroll the bottom window down till you see the Satmap device

4) Right Click on it and select "Change drive letter"

5) Change the Driveletter to something else (M worked for me)

This solved the problem on both PCs

Peter
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dragsterman
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Nov 06, 2007
Posts: 39

PostPosted: Fri Jun 06, 2008 1:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for that. I've already tried changing the drive letter and still no joy!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mikealder
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jan 14, 2005
Posts: 19638
Location: Blackpool , Lancs

PostPosted: Fri Jun 06, 2008 1:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can you confirm you are using the USB cable supplied with the device and try connecting it to a USB port on the rear of the PC, this often cures USB/ device related issues. Also what version of software is on your SatMap device? - Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
Dragsterman
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Nov 06, 2007
Posts: 39

PostPosted: Fri Jun 06, 2008 2:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, it's the USB cable that came with the unit.

This is a brand new replacement A10 that was sent to me that came pre-installed with Version 1.16.

And I'm using SatSync Ver 1.0.21 Beta.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dragsterman
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Nov 06, 2007
Posts: 39

PostPosted: Fri Jun 06, 2008 2:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've just tried plugging the USB cable into one of the ports at the back of my PC. Initially it came up with an error message saying my USB device had malfunctioned and should replace it! I tried again in another USB port at the back of the PC and hey presto the SatSync software is now showing what's on my A10. So thanks for that Mike, much appreciated [thumbs up]. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
drpeej
Occasional Visitor


Joined: May 30, 2008
Posts: 38
Location: Warwickshire

PostPosted: Sat Jun 07, 2008 8:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Interestingly, I have just had this problem yet again after a week of it working fine.

Once again, changing the drive letter fixed it for me.

Peter
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Satmap Active 10 All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB 2.0.11 © 2001 phpBB Group
phpBB port v2.1 based on Tom Nitzschner's phpbb2.0.6 upgraded to phpBB 2.0.4 standalone was developed and tested by:
ArtificialIntel, ChatServ, mikem,
sixonetonoffun and Paul Laudanski (aka Zhen-Xjell).

Version 2.1 by Nuke Cops 2003 http://www.nukecops.com

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
20.121 (07 Dec 22)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping