Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
MacFixer, the iPhone, iPod, and iPad specialists
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - poorly HP5550
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

poorly HP5550

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> PocketGPSWorld Speed Camera Database
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
alec
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Apr 14, 2004
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Mon Apr 19, 2004 6:08 pm    Post subject: poorly HP5550 Reply with quote

Hello can you help me hope your the right persons to talk to
I have bought a HP5550 I have loaded TomTom Navigator 1 Maps without a problem and the 3 files from the camera free download (I cant seem to load the 2nd excel file as it is in a format not recognised by my device) My problem is I cant see the camera as a point of interest and hence cant see the camera base on the map


Also I have tried loading checkpoint and this does not work properly either once in checkpoint I cant get into another programme or into the set up file for checkpoint


please advise

Regards
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Darren
Pocket GPS Staff
Pocket GPS Staff


Joined: 11/07/2002 14:36:40
Posts: 23848
Location: Hampshire, UK

PostPosted: Mon Apr 19, 2004 7:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Firstly, Are you sure you have TomTom Navigator v1? That's quite an old application now.

Secondly, for TomTom you only need two files from the .zip, the .bmp file (this is the sped camera icon) and the .ov2 file (the database file). These must be saved in the Great_Britain Map folder.

Anyway, working from memory here as I haven't a copy of TomTomv1 to refer to, you need to locate the properties page and then the POI section. Scroll down and locate the pocketgps_sc_uk entry and ensure a tick is placed in the box, this will ensure it is displayed on the map.

As for CheckPOInt, what version are you attempting to install?
_________________
Darren Griffin - Editor
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
alec
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Apr 14, 2004
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Tue Apr 20, 2004 3:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks but I am running tomtom Navigator version 1.36
(i have tried to update it from the tom tom zip file verion 1.53 but there is something wrong with the tom tom zip file)

the camera does not come up as a poi when you go into properties and thats the problem

if i go to file explorer on my HP5550 i see that it wont read and open the bmp file to show the camera but it will open the file and show the camera if i save it as a jpeg file

I have tried copying the ov2 file and bmp file from my 3630 which worked fine to the 5550 but still no luck i cant see the camera on the poi list
Is it simply your camera base wont run on a hp5550 device because of the different rom outlook and active sinc versions?

as fr as checkpoint is concerened i,ve tried downloading both versions 2.? and 3.? with still the same problem

thanks for your time, hope you have another solution to try
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lbendlin
Pocket GPS Staff
Pocket GPS Staff


Joined: 02/11/2002 22:41:59
Posts: 11878
Location: Massachusetts, USA

PostPosted: Tue Apr 20, 2004 3:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The BMP file doesn't display on the 5550 ? Maybe it was broken during the transfer? Make sure to copy it directly, and avoid conversion to .2bp format.
_________________
Lutz

Report Map Errors here:
TomTom/TeleAtlas NAVTEQ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
alec
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Apr 14, 2004
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Tue Apr 20, 2004 4:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yes the bmp file does display on the 5550 but you cant open it and see the camera, all you get is a black screen
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lbendlin
Pocket GPS Staff
Pocket GPS Staff


Joined: 02/11/2002 22:41:59
Posts: 11878
Location: Massachusetts, USA

PostPosted: Tue Apr 20, 2004 4:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i guess it is corrupted. Can you copy it again?
_________________
Lutz

Report Map Errors here:
TomTom/TeleAtlas NAVTEQ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
alec
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Apr 14, 2004
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Tue Apr 20, 2004 4:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i have copied and pasted it a number of times with no luck can you check the integrity of the file for me and check it out on a 5550
thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> PocketGPSWorld Speed Camera Database All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB 2.0.11 © 2001 phpBB Group
phpBB port v2.1 based on Tom Nitzschner's phpbb2.0.6 upgraded to phpBB 2.0.4 standalone was developed and tested by:
ArtificialIntel, ChatServ, mikem,
sixonetonoffun and Paul Laudanski (aka Zhen-Xjell).

Version 2.1 by Nuke Cops 2003 http://www.nukecops.com

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
20.115 (30 Nov 22)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping