Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
Read the current newsletter! Weekly
Newsletter
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - RDS-TMC cannot be used in combination with the current map
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

RDS-TMC cannot be used in combination with the current map

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Portable Navigation Devices
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
jackster73
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Dec 29, 2007
Posts: 4
Location: Wiltshire

PostPosted: Mon Dec 31, 2007 12:09 am    Post subject: RDS-TMC cannot be used in combination with the current map Reply with quote

Hi,
I've just bought a 920T from the States. Two reasons; 1, my wife does a lot of business there so the US maps were needed 2, I didn't have to sell my left kidney to buy it Wink as it was less than half the price of one over the counter in the UK.
Over the Christmas period we used it, in the UK, to drive around 1k miles. Works fine - apart from the annoying way it reads road numbers long-hand.

However.......

I get this message when I plug in the RDS TMC...
"RDS-TMC traffic information.
Your RDS-TMC Traffic Receiver cannot be used with the current map."

Now, I'm guessing that it maybe because the Freq used in the States is different to the Classic FM signal over here. I have read a lot of posts and the FAQs in this Forum but am none the wiser. Can this be fixed or do I need to buy the RDS-TMC thingy over here? From the posts I think I can re-tune the base tuner but I can't seem to find an Icon that is similar to the one in the posts/FAQs.

Any ideas?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
if1977
Lifetime Member


Joined: Nov 30, 2007
Posts: 649
Location: Doncaster

PostPosted: Mon Dec 31, 2007 12:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hi jackster73 and welcome. Dont quote me on this but i remember reading that the RDS-TMC does not work with the US maps but they would be changing this soonbut if you bought the 920T from the states then you would think it would work ok.
_________________
NEW Tomtom GO 500 (hope it is good)
iphone (running all day, doesn't like it)
XL LIVE IQ Routes (Got stolen and miss it)
GO 510 (in drawer now, time for upgrade)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mikealder
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jan 14, 2005
Posts: 19638
Location: Blackpool , Lancs

PostPosted: Mon Dec 31, 2007 6:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The RDS-TMC devices from the other side of the "Pond" are different and will not work in Europe, as you bought this in the USA it is designed to work over there, not here.
You could try asking TomTom support if it is possible to change it (0845 161 0009) but to be honest you would be better keeping it for your wife’s travels to America and purchase a European RDS Receiver for use over here - Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
jackster73
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Dec 29, 2007
Posts: 4
Location: Wiltshire

PostPosted: Mon Dec 31, 2007 7:08 pm    Post subject: More questions - RDS TMC Reply with quote

mike, if1977,

Thanks for the replies - I have been looking for a Europe spec model since reading them. So here's another question;
The RDS TMC that I have (that only works in the US) is different to those I can find on eBay (UK) but looks the same as the one on the TomTom website.
On my RDS TMC lead, the oval-shaped device on the wire is only about a hand span from the jack plug (which isn't angled) and then there's another metre of wire, with three sucker cups, that terminates in a small plastic tip. There's also a varistor between the jack plug and the oval device. See here. All of the ones for sale on eBay, have an angled jack plug and terminate at the oval device. See here.

Is the one I have and the one on the TomTom website the newer version? Possibly the upgrade that is mentioned elsewhere in these forums?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pcaouolte
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Dec 27, 2006
Posts: 998
Location: South Lincs, UK.

PostPosted: Tue Jan 01, 2008 5:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You want one which looks the same as the one you have from the US.

It must have two wires coming out of the oval shaped device. It must also have a white paper "flag" on the lead near the plug which connects it to the sat nav and this flag must have a number ending in 013.

Any other device is an old version and will not work very well in the uk.

I saw some of the new type in Halfords at the weekend packaged in a clear plastic bubble where you could clearly see the two wires coming out of the oval shaped device.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mikealder
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jan 14, 2005
Posts: 19638
Location: Blackpool , Lancs

PostPosted: Tue Jan 01, 2008 5:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have a look at THIS Post I made a while back which shows the different versions of receiver that have been supplied so far, your US spec device might look the same but the device is different and cannot decode UK or European information - Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
jackster73
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Dec 29, 2007
Posts: 4
Location: Wiltshire

PostPosted: Tue Jan 01, 2008 10:34 pm    Post subject: That's got it! Reply with quote

pcaouolte, Mike,

That's got it. All wrapped up. Very Happy
Many thanks for your extremely helpful replies.

By the way, the US version I have is 4V00.083, for future reference.

Thanks again,

Jack
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kokobadu
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Apr 11, 2008
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Fri Apr 11, 2008 2:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here is one newbie from Holland, hallo,

I got same TMC receiver as Jackster73, version 4V00-083, coming from US as well.
I would like to inform that this receiver can work in Holland. Actually it worked fine for a while. Unfortunately I did connect my device to TomTom Home 2, it made few updates and my TMC is not working ever since. On my screen I see grey dot with red cross through it next to traffic information Sad
Anybody can make sense of it all?? I can't.
Of course I did contact customer service of TT, but as you all probably know they are not too competent Sad

Many greetings from Holland,
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jackster73
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Dec 29, 2007
Posts: 4
Location: Wiltshire

PostPosted: Sun Apr 20, 2008 6:36 pm    Post subject: Hello kokobadu!! Reply with quote

Hello kokobadu - and welcome to the forum.

I knew my RDS-TMC wouldn't work because when I attached it, it said that it was not compatable with the current (UK) map. It said this straight away and has never worked, however, my wife has it in the US right at this moment and it works fine.

Is your TomTom from the US as well, or just the RDS TMC? I am surprised that it worked at all, but not surprised that an 'Update' caused a problem! It always seems to cause problems with my 920T.

Best wishes from the UK.......
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kokobadu
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Apr 11, 2008
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sun Apr 20, 2008 9:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello,
The whole set comes from US.
I wish I could fall back to the settings I had before the update. Unfortunately, to my knowledge it is impossible Sad I didn’t work that smooth, but it worked. After tring to turn TMC on it was displaying information that ‘the TMC-RDS will not work in combination with current map’ but second attempt of turning it on was successfully. Each time, same story from beginning, twice turning TMC on. Nerveless the information that this receiver was gathering was always correct. With other words it is possible with US TMC receiver, get the information from the air (in the Netherlands at least).

Many greetings,
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
keithsjp
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Nov 25, 2009
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Wed Nov 25, 2009 1:35 am    Post subject: tom tom 930 RDS-TMC (4v00.083) Reply with quote

if u are looking for RDS-TMC for the usa only i have one thats no good to me if u like to buy it $50 email me ADMIN Edit: email address removed only for the RDS-TMC (4v00.083)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
falkirk81
Pocket GPS Verifier
Pocket GPS Verifier


Joined: Jul 07, 2006
Posts: 1648
Location: Newcastle, England, UK

PostPosted: Wed Nov 25, 2009 9:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Also, don't forget that the RDS-TMC system in the USA is a subscription based service also, where you get 1 year of Traffic updates from first use. After the initial year, you then have to pay annually to keep the RDS-TMC service working!

Can't remember the pricing, but I did spend some 6 months living in the USA and investigated why my European cable did not work!

Hope this helps also!
_________________
Tomtom GO 1005 LIVE

iPhone 12
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Darren
Pocket GPS Staff
Pocket GPS Staff


Joined: 11/07/2002 14:36:40
Posts: 23848
Location: Hampshire, UK

PostPosted: Wed Nov 25, 2009 10:15 am    Post subject: Re: tom tom 930 RDS-TMC (4v00.083) Reply with quote

keithsjp wrote:
if u are looking for RDS-TMC for the usa only i have one thats no good to me if u like to buy it $50 email me ADMIN Edit: email address removed only for the RDS-TMC (4v00.083)

Please use the For Sale forum for any posts such as this. If necessary you can link to the advert in this thread.

Also not advisable to post your email address in the open in forums.
_________________
Darren Griffin - Editor
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Portable Navigation Devices All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB 2.0.11 © 2001 phpBB Group
phpBB port v2.1 based on Tom Nitzschner's phpbb2.0.6 upgraded to phpBB 2.0.4 standalone was developed and tested by:
ArtificialIntel, ChatServ, mikem,
sixonetonoffun and Paul Laudanski (aka Zhen-Xjell).

Version 2.1 by Nuke Cops © 2003 http://www.nukecops.com

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
19.012 (12 Jan 22)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







© Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping