Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
MacFixer, the iPhone, iPod, and iPad specialists
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - TMC Information
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

TMC Information
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Portable Navigation Devices
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
mikealder
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jan 14, 2005
Posts: 19638
Location: Blackpool , Lancs

PostPosted: Sun Dec 09, 2007 5:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

if1977 - the simple answer to the device channel swapping is probably down to transmitter power, the receiver will go for the strongest signal it can find, the Classic FM transmitters are often very high power compared to the regional radio stations that act as fill in transmitters providing local 'Hot Spots' in areas known to be poor coverage, last week I only had Classic FM reception from Blackpool to Elgin, I didn't see any of the alternate stations appear on the unit and I was looking for this on the drive - Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
if1977
Lifetime Member


Joined: Nov 30, 2007
Posts: 649
Location: Doncaster

PostPosted: Sun Dec 09, 2007 5:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I also have a wireless connection to my Nokia 6120 and if i disconnect my RDS-TMC reciever i can get traffic info that way. Tomtom say that their messaging service is far better than the RDS way, but to be honest i dont see any more incidents on theirs that the TMC-RDS. Do you know if it is worth the charge per update or keep to the TMC-RDS reciever.
_________________
NEW Tomtom GO 500 (hope it is good)
iphone (running all day, doesn't like it)
XL LIVE IQ Routes (Got stolen and miss it)
GO 510 (in drawer now, time for upgrade)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mikealder
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jan 14, 2005
Posts: 19638
Location: Blackpool , Lancs

PostPosted: Sun Dec 09, 2007 5:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

TomTom have to justify the subscription charge associated with the subscription GPRS service, the data is the same but RDS is regional data where as GPRS is full UK, to be honest if you have good reception from the RDS device ditch the GPRS as it will save you some cash.
By default when you connect the RDS unit it will be the prime source of data over riding the GPRS system, the only way to use GPRS data for traffic is to disconnect the RDS device.
I have some screen shots detailing the regional coverage as you travel around the country, I will post these later tonight, for me the RDS system works fine, the receiver re-tunes to new transmitters as you are driving offering information specific to the region I am in, if in North Scotland I am not interested in the M25 for example, but driving South I would get M25 information well before I reach the giant car park - Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
if1977
Lifetime Member


Joined: Nov 30, 2007
Posts: 649
Location: Doncaster

PostPosted: Sun Dec 09, 2007 6:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks Mike, You have put my mind at ease a little and will keep my
RDS-TMC reciever connected. I sent you an e-mail earlier for the
RDS-TMC Poi's. Just wondering if you got the E-mail and if you think
the Poi's for the RDS-TMC would work well in my region.
_________________
NEW Tomtom GO 500 (hope it is good)
iphone (running all day, doesn't like it)
XL LIVE IQ Routes (Got stolen and miss it)
GO 510 (in drawer now, time for upgrade)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
if1977
Lifetime Member


Joined: Nov 30, 2007
Posts: 649
Location: Doncaster

PostPosted: Sun Dec 09, 2007 8:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi mike

Thanks for the Poi's for the TMC. When looking at them as if you were going to navigate to one, i.e. 106M 100.3 Pontop Pike (130)
113M 101.8 Morecambe Bay (6.4)
115M 100.2 Douglas (1)
125M 100.5 Meldrum (150)

I understand that the 125M is the distance away from my Gps position.
I understand that the 100.5 is the frequency to choose for that antenna.
I understand that the Meldrum is the name of the town it is located.
Could you tell me what the (150) is in the brackets at the end of the name of the towns. I am not sure if it is the signal strenth or polarity
etc.

Thanks again for your time and sorry you did'nt recieve my E-mail.
_________________
NEW Tomtom GO 500 (hope it is good)
iphone (running all day, doesn't like it)
XL LIVE IQ Routes (Got stolen and miss it)
GO 510 (in drawer now, time for upgrade)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mikealder
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jan 14, 2005
Posts: 19638
Location: Blackpool , Lancs

PostPosted: Sun Dec 09, 2007 8:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The name is refering to the actual transmitter name, it might be the same as the local area but not always. The figure in brackets is the power of the transmitter in KW, the higher the figure the greater the range (excluding terain masking etc) - Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
if1977
Lifetime Member


Joined: Nov 30, 2007
Posts: 649
Location: Doncaster

PostPosted: Sun Dec 09, 2007 8:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks Mike,

Nice to know that the one next to my location is one of the strongest
signals (Blackwood (150) ). This must be why am not getting as many
problems as other TT Go users over the country.
_________________
NEW Tomtom GO 500 (hope it is good)
iphone (running all day, doesn't like it)
XL LIVE IQ Routes (Got stolen and miss it)
GO 510 (in drawer now, time for upgrade)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
carl_w
Lifetime Member


Joined: Mar 13, 2004
Posts: 242

PostPosted: Mon Dec 10, 2007 11:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Any chance of posting up the POIs file Mike, so we can all get hold of it? Somewhere here would be good Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tedkay
Regular Visitor


Joined: 23/10/2002 02:45:38
Posts: 223
Location: United Kingdom - Ringwood Hants

PostPosted: Tue Dec 18, 2007 9:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Your car radio is the best way to find the strongest Classic FM signal in any given area, and just about all car radios nowadays autotune to the strongest signal. Just tune it in to Classic and read off the frequency. The quality of the reception on the car radio will indicate how strong the signal is - if it is poor you can manually adjust the frequency until you get the best reception - and that frequency wll be the best one to enter in your TomTom. But the car radio will always get better reception because it is a far more powerful receiver than the tiny TMC one, and the car radio has the added benefit of a proper outside aerial.... All the Classic FM transmitter frequencies are on the Classic FM website http://www.classicfm.co.uk/Article.asp?id=455179&spid=13479

I have found that placing the TMC receiver as far away from the TT as possible helps too (as far as the very short lead wil allow that is).

It's all going to change soon anyway - TT are working with Vodafone to develop an entirely new system which gets live info direct from mobile phones in any given area - my understanding is that it utilises the fact that the mobile operator knows the exact location of all the phones on its' network, so for example if there are 50 mobiles stationary for a while on a stretch of the A34 (when isn't there ?!) then that means that there is a traffic jam ! TT are releasing new devices with a built-in wireless modem to receive the info, but they have said that the service will also be available for older devices via mobile phone link. It will of course be a subscription service ... http://uk.reuters.com/article/motoringSummary/idUKNOA24882020071112
_________________
TED

"If at first you don't succeed; call it version 1.0"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
mikealder
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jan 14, 2005
Posts: 19638
Location: Blackpool , Lancs

PostPosted: Tue Dec 18, 2007 11:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Good idea using the car stereo to locate the frequency, however iTIS don't just use Classic F these days, they use an ever increasing number of local stations depending upon your area - Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
if1977
Lifetime Member


Joined: Nov 30, 2007
Posts: 649
Location: Doncaster

PostPosted: Thu Dec 20, 2007 2:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

mike wrote
Quote:
Good idea using the car stereo to locate the frequency, however iTIS don't just use Classic F these days, they use an ever increasing number of local stations depending upon your area - Mike


I get about 4 good FM stations on my car radio and 2 of them give you better local traffic updates that classic FM and signal is stronger than classic FM according to a friend of mine but my TT still wants to stay on classic or for a few minutes it will stay on Clyde 1FM but when it starts automatically searching for a new channel it goes right back to classic FM. Any way to get it to stay on the other channel (Clyde1FM) without auto searching for any other channel.
_________________
NEW Tomtom GO 500 (hope it is good)
iphone (running all day, doesn't like it)
XL LIVE IQ Routes (Got stolen and miss it)
GO 510 (in drawer now, time for upgrade)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
deesoft
Regular Visitor


Joined: 14/03/2003 19:10:05
Posts: 138
Location: Warrington, Cheshire, UK

PostPosted: Thu Dec 20, 2007 7:13 pm    Post subject: Best Position for TMC Antenna Reply with quote

I recently bought the new mark 2 TMC, it worked fine in the house. But in the car was useless, the other day I just pulled the two suckers of the Windscreen and let the Antenna hang down below the dashboard and Voila (as Rene would say) now find that the TMC is working fine. I drive a Peugeot 307 which I believe has an Athermic windscreen.
David
_________________
Ipaq hx2750, TTN5, Globalsat 338 GPS, Garmin Nuvi 310D and GTM12, TomTom GO910 and now GO540

God gave us the Integer, the rest was devised by man.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
tedkay
Regular Visitor


Joined: 23/10/2002 02:45:38
Posts: 223
Location: United Kingdom - Ringwood Hants

PostPosted: Fri Dec 21, 2007 12:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Curioser and Curioser - as Alice would say ......
_________________
TED

"If at first you don't succeed; call it version 1.0"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
wazzzzupmate
Regular Visitor


Joined: Jul 05, 2004
Posts: 221
Location: Rochdale

PostPosted: Wed Dec 26, 2007 9:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have just ordered a 720T. Is there any way to tell from looking at the unit if it has a type 1 or type 2 TMC unit with it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
mikealder
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jan 14, 2005
Posts: 19638
Location: Blackpool , Lancs

PostPosted: Wed Dec 26, 2007 10:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have a look at This Post which shows pictures of three different types of receiver, you want the one that ends with .013 on the small label on the device - Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Portable Navigation Devices All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next
Page 5 of 7

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB 2.0.11 © 2001 phpBB Group
phpBB port v2.1 based on Tom Nitzschner's phpbb2.0.6 upgraded to phpBB 2.0.4 standalone was developed and tested by:
ArtificialIntel, ChatServ, mikem,
sixonetonoffun and Paul Laudanski (aka Zhen-Xjell).

Version 2.1 by Nuke Cops 2003 http://www.nukecops.com

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
20.115 (30 Nov 22)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping