Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
MacFixer, the iPhone, iPod, and iPad specialists
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - No Image on my own POI's
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

No Image on my own POI's

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Points Of Interest (POIs)
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
mmace
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Mar 11, 2004
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Wed Mar 17, 2004 4:40 pm    Post subject: No Image on my own POI's Reply with quote

I've created my own POI's (friends, family, work buildings etc) but in checkPOInt they appear in the Unsyncronized folder & they all have "No Image" next to them instead of the 8bit, 22x22 bmp file I have created (overwritten the standard star bitmap).

I am new to all this so please be kind!
_________________
----------------------
Maff
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Rogerfrit
Regular Visitor


Joined: Dec 17, 2003
Posts: 141
Location: North Devon - England

PostPosted: Wed Mar 17, 2004 6:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Make sure the BitMap and the OV2 files have the identical name, and are in the same file - that ought to do it.
Roger
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mmace
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Mar 11, 2004
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Thu Mar 18, 2004 8:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The files are named the same and in the same directory (I just loaded the bmp's created by the software into photoshop & changed them, then exported as an 8 bit BMP)
_________________
----------------------
Maff
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dave
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Sep 10, 2003
Posts: 6460
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu Mar 18, 2004 10:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Are you sure they re-saved as BMP format ? Not a different format with the BMP extension ? Personally I edit mine in Paint Shop Pro.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
mmace
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Mar 11, 2004
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Thu Mar 18, 2004 10:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

yes m8, I use photoshop in my job so I know what i'm doing with the images!
_________________
----------------------
Maff
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dave
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Sep 10, 2003
Posts: 6460
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu Mar 18, 2004 11:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It might be that PhotoShop is adding extra info to the images. The other thing to try is to save it as a 16-bit bitmap.

I haven't done too many images myself, none lately but from what I recall 8-bitand 22x22 was fine for me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
mmace
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Mar 11, 2004
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Thu Mar 18, 2004 11:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

just re-read my last post and I sound like i was being a bit touchy, i apologise if you took it the wrong way!

I have created a file in "Paint" and it didn't work, I've also renamed a bmp that does work (in one of the syncronized folders) and that doesn't work either.

Does anyone have any idea?

I've created a ov2 file using WinOV2 to convert my asc files (renamed txt files) which i created in notepad using long & lat from streetmap.co.uk. WinOV2 creates a bmp file for you (which doesn't work either!) which I change.

It has to be something to do with it being unsynchronized (doesn't it?)

please help as I've made 3 ov2 files that have taken me a while, one of which I am wanting to share with a couple of collegues.

I am using checkPOInt 3
_________________
----------------------
Maff
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Privateer
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: 30/12/2002 17:36:20
Posts: 4908
Location: Oxfordshire, England, UK

PostPosted: Thu Mar 18, 2004 1:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just a thought, when I used CheckPOInt 3.2 I found that it would only show the BMPs of the custom POIs that I had synchronised with the CheckPOInt website.

All of my own POIs (and those that I’d downloaded from Pocket GPS World) would only appear in the unsynchronised folder and their BMPs were not displayed. However I could still get CheckPOInt to warn me when I was approaching any POI that I had set it up to warn me about.

Basically, even though CheckPOInt doesn’t show your BMP files it will still work with the POIs.

I assume that TomTom is showing your BMPs OK?

Regards,
Robert.
_________________
Robert.
iPhone 6s Plus, iOS 14.0.1: iOS CamerAlert v2.0.7
TomTom GO Mobile iOS 2.3.1; TomTom (UK & ROI and Europe) iOS apps v1.29
Garmin Camper 770 LMT-D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Points Of Interest (POIs) All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
21.054 (24 May 23)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping