Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
Read the current newsletter! Weekly
Newsletter
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - I am expecting abuse!!
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

I am expecting abuse!!
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Garmin Portable Navigation Devices
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
malcolm1sim
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Apr 19, 2006
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Wed Apr 18, 2007 1:45 pm    Post subject: I am expecting abuse!! Reply with quote

I have posted this on another forum without much luck.
This may be the right place.


Hi All,

An old fxxt needs help here, please.

I have a Garmin C340 and have loaded UK camera
locations without any problem, from this site.

I now wish to load European cameras and note that POIs
overwrite therefore only one folder can be used.

However as the file details are different, namely MPH and KPH and my unit asks for one or the other how do maintain accuracy?

Will I have to change all the KPH to Mph in the file first?

I hope not as there seem to be rather a lot!!!

Any guidance would be appreciated.

Thanks in anticipation.

Malcolm
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoshT
Regular Visitor


Joined: Aug 05, 2006
Posts: 93
Location: Berks, England

PostPosted: Wed Apr 18, 2007 2:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

One way I got round this on my Nuvi was to save UK POI's to the Device and European onto an SD card.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mostdom
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jul 10, 2006
Posts: 1964
Location: Surrey, UK.

PostPosted: Wed Apr 18, 2007 2:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Check your other post. If you follow the help links you will have got to this helpful document. This solves the naming issue.

Who's euro database do you have, as the PGPSW file currently hasn't any speeds set to it.
_________________
Dom

HERE LIES PND May it rest in peace.
Navigon 7310/iPhone Navigon&Copilot
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
malcolm1sim
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Apr 19, 2006
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Wed Apr 18, 2007 2:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for your response, although I am
not sure if it helps.

I will explain further.

Before doing so, the database I have is the basic from
http://www.gpsinform.com

Now back to the problem.

I am happy with the loading system and in partic
the single file aspect.
However if I put both databases in one folder I have
inconsistant data. Some limits being in MPH and some in KPH.
As when loading only one such option is available then
the warnings for say 130kph will not sound until 130mph.

If then I set the unit to metric to correct that then the
warning for 70mph will sound at 43kph.

Hope that makes sense.

Look forward to more replies.

It just may bethat all the speeds must be adjusted un the database
prior to installation, there are lots and that would be quite a job.

Finally, an SD card cannot be used as the C340 only
picks up POi's that are loaded via the Garmin loader (As far as I am aware) as all POI's must be in the same folder within the unit.

Malcolm
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
philpugh
Lifetime Member


Joined: Dec 28, 2005
Posts: 2003
Location: Antrobus, Cheshire

PostPosted: Wed Apr 18, 2007 3:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Malcolm

If you do have to edit the files then it's not a major job. You can do a 'global replace' using Excel (Edit/Replace or CTRL H) and look for @nn replacing it with @NN as required.
_________________
Phil
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
malcolm1sim
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Apr 19, 2006
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Wed Apr 18, 2007 3:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Now we are getting somewhere, thank you very much.

You learn something about Excel every day, or at least I do
as I know so little in the first place!!

That seems to me to be an excellent solution as once entered
in identical data the unit itself will convert if settings are switched,
when you get over the water.

Cheers for now, anyone else who would like to throw in their
threepennyworth is welcome.

Malcolm

Roll on Le Mans
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoshT
Regular Visitor


Joined: Aug 05, 2006
Posts: 93
Location: Berks, England

PostPosted: Wed Apr 18, 2007 3:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

malcolm1sim wrote:

Finally, an SD card cannot be used as the C340 only
picks up POi's that are loaded via the Garmin loader (As far as I am aware) as all POI's must be in the same folder within the unit.



Malcolm

I download POI's to separate folders on my PC - Say UK and European.

POI updater detects SD card when plugged into Nuvi - usually drive e:\ for Nuvi and F:\ for SD card

I then load UK POI's from the UK folder in MPH to the Nuvi on the e:\ drive and European POI's in the European folder in the Kmh to the SD card on the f:\ drive.


Then when I turn on the Nuvi it states that extra POI's have been detected on the SD card and did I want to merge the files. I decline preferring to kept them separate but you can say yes as the conversion has already been done.

Hope this helps!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Eldar
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Sep 24, 2004
Posts: 1294
Location: London

PostPosted: Wed Apr 18, 2007 3:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Why can't you simply rename the poi.gpi file to something like UK_cameras.gpi, then load the European cameras and rename this new poi.gpi file to European_cameras.gpi? Am I missing something here?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
malcolm1sim
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Apr 19, 2006
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Wed Apr 18, 2007 4:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

JoshT

Thank you, there is a reason for an upgrade!

I don't think the C340 allows the computer to identify
the SD card itself.

More modern units do.

Thus you only get one go at loading.

That said, the above solution, convert kph to mph before loading,
seems to me to be a good one.

Thanks for your interest.



Eldar

I think you may be!

It is not the loading/naming that is the problem, it is the fact that
there is a data conflict. Namely MPH & KPH.
The unit will work in either but cannot cope with mixing.
Thus it can convert mph to kph or visa versa but cannot
recognise mph or kph on a line by line basis, the default is set on entry.

Hope that explains the problem a little better, if not let me know and I will
try again.

Again thank you for your interest.

Malcolm
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoshT
Regular Visitor


Joined: Aug 05, 2006
Posts: 93
Location: Berks, England

PostPosted: Wed Apr 18, 2007 4:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I use SCDB which have download files in CSV format. I guess I could rename the files but it works the way I'm doing it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
swing
Pocket GPS Verifier
Pocket GPS Verifier


Joined: Nov 04, 2003
Posts: 2225
Location: Bedfordshire, UK

PostPosted: Wed Apr 18, 2007 6:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

malcolm1sim wrote:
It is not the loading/naming that is the problem, it is the fact that
there is a data conflict. Namely MPH & KPH.
The unit will work in either but cannot cope with mixing.
Thus it can convert mph to kph or visa versa but cannot
recognise mph or kph on a line by line basis, the default is set on entry.
That's not how the Garmin POI Loader works - it actually converts either the MPH or KPH values into metres per second, and then the Nuvi just uses the metres per second value within the .GPI files.

So, if you convert 1 file with POI Loader set to MPH to create 1 .gpi file, and then convert the other file with POI Loader set to KPH to create the other .gpi file, then the Nuvi should correctly alert you to the correct speed within both files.
_________________
Please don't be offended if I do not reply to a PM - please ask questions via the forums.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Eldar
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Sep 24, 2004
Posts: 1294
Location: London

PostPosted: Wed Apr 18, 2007 6:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

swing wrote:
malcolm1sim wrote:
It is not the loading/naming that is the problem, it is the fact that
there is a data conflict. Namely MPH & KPH.
The unit will work in either but cannot cope with mixing.
Thus it can convert mph to kph or visa versa but cannot
recognise mph or kph on a line by line basis, the default is set on entry.
That's not how the Garmin POI Loader works - it actually converts either the MPH or KPH values into metres per second, and then the Nuvi just uses the metres per second value within the .GPI files.

So, if you convert 1 file with POI Loader set to MPH to create 1 .gpi file, and then convert the other file with POI Loader set to KPH to create the other .gpi file, then the Nuvi should correctly alert you to the correct speed within both files.


My understanding is that he was trying to use the source data with mixed KPH and MPH data to create a single GPI file
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
malcolm1sim
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Apr 19, 2006
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Thu Apr 19, 2007 3:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi All,

I thank you all for your comments on this.

It does seem to me that I am probably dafter than I thought.

Whilst I can see what is being said, the fact is that the C340
will only take Poi's loaded from one folder, albeit with lots of
files in it and will overwrite if another folder and files are loaded.

Therefore the files contained in my folder must all be set at the same
value, MPH or KPH, for the system to cope.

I am therefore going to convert my KPH files to MPH, as advised by "philpugh" and load accordingy.
I then have the choice of leaving the unit set to MPH and being warned in
MPH or switching unit to metric and being warned in KPH. The unit will cope with converting all files, provided of course that the data is uniform.

In any event I am off to Europe for a while soon and will let you know how it went and how much it may have cost me if I have got it wrong!

Cheers for now,

Malcolm
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jamas
Regular Visitor


Joined: Mar 02, 2006
Posts: 76
Location: Toulouse-France

PostPosted: Thu Apr 19, 2007 10:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Why British people can't just drive on the right (right Smile ) side of the road and use kph ? Wink
Eldar wrote:
Why can't you simply rename the poi.gpi file to something like UK_cameras.gpi, then load the European cameras and rename this new poi.gpi file to European_cameras.gpi? Am I missing something here?
Idea More seriously, I think you get it Eldar: this is the solution.

Jamas
_________________
SP i3 S/W 2.9-> 2.7 City Navigator V8 NT+
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PhilHornby
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Dec 07, 2006
Posts: 561
Location: North Devon

PostPosted: Thu Apr 19, 2007 10:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

jamas wrote:
Eldar wrote:
Why can't you simply rename the poi.gpi file to something like UK_cameras.gpi, then load the European cameras and rename this new poi.gpi file to European_cameras.gpi? Am I missing something here?
Idea More seriously, I think you get it Eldar: this is the solution.


However - the C340 doesn't expose its file system ... so you can't rename the .GPI file. It can't read POI's from the SD card either. (I already had to use the 'embarassed' icon in another forum, after I suggested this!).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Garmin Portable Navigation Devices All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB 2.0.11 © 2001 phpBB Group
phpBB port v2.1 based on Tom Nitzschner's phpbb2.0.6 upgraded to phpBB 2.0.4 standalone was developed and tested by:
ArtificialIntel, ChatServ, mikem,
sixonetonoffun and Paul Laudanski (aka Zhen-Xjell).

Version 2.1 by Nuke Cops 2003 http://www.nukecops.com

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
20.065 (29 Jun 22)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping