Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
SurfShark Antivirus
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - TMC and PDAs
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

TMC and PDAs

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Traffic Message Channel (TMC)
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
leaskovski
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Mar 06, 2006
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Fri Nov 10, 2006 4:28 pm    Post subject: TMC and PDAs Reply with quote

Hi All,

Is it me or is TMC a pointless load of carp for sat nav programs that run on PDA's. Confused How on earth do they work?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dio
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Dec 10, 2004
Posts: 41

PostPosted: Sat Nov 11, 2006 12:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

They work by using a tmc module with your gps unit, I've got Navigon 4 with TMC and Bluetooth unit and it works fine (wired into aerial as well)

Will be getting Navigon 6 soon which will tap into TMC from other broadcasters around the country and will give better performance.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
leaskovski
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Mar 06, 2006
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Mon Nov 13, 2006 11:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ah, i didn't realise that some BT gps units come with TMC hardware built in as well. I just did a search for these and they cost about 200 8O
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
spock345
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jan 27, 2007
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sat Jan 27, 2007 2:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have an IPAQ PDA with wired GPS receiver running Tomtom V5. All working well. Does anyone know whether this will support TMC if I upgrade my receiver to combined GPS+TMC ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mikealder
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jan 14, 2005
Posts: 19638
Location: Blackpool , Lancs

PostPosted: Sat Jan 27, 2007 2:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No it won't work with TomTom at all, the only route you available to use with the PDA is GPRS data supplying the TMC information over the internet which requires subscription to the service - Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Traffic Message Channel (TMC) All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
21.094 (27 Sep 23)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping