Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - GTM21 traffic issues
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

GTM21 traffic issues
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, ... 13, 14, 15  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Garmin Portable Navigation Devices
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
JoshT
Regular Visitor


Joined: Aug 05, 2006
Posts: 93
Location: Berks, England

PostPosted: Wed Oct 18, 2006 7:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I had more luck with TMC today!

This morning I travelled from Maidenhead to Milton Keynes - M4, M25, M1

All the way Led was yellow indicating not picking up TMC traffic data. Aerial was in vertical position.

At my destination I changed the aerial position to horizonal along the bottom of the windscreen - LED went green and TMC received :D

Travelled back to Maidenhead and had TMC most of the way down the M25, Lost signal there after from M1 juction all the way to Maidenhead.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoshT
Regular Visitor


Joined: Aug 05, 2006
Posts: 93
Location: Berks, England

PostPosted: Sun Oct 22, 2006 7:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I travelled to Reading on the M4 today from Maidenhead. No TMC reception along M4. Only got reception when I was off the motorway and half way from Junction 11 into Reading.

I don't think the GTM 21 is as good as the GTM 12 which has had issues on the Nuvi 310 D (resolved by latest cigarette charger)

Is anybody having similar problems with the GTM 21? If so have you reported it to Garmin? Garmin don't seem to be aware of any problems especially as the Nuvi 660 has just been released.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mwfox
Regular Visitor


Joined: Jun 18, 2006
Posts: 148
Location: Buckingham. UK

PostPosted: Sun Oct 22, 2006 7:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Has anyone connected their GTM 21 or 12 to the car aerial and managed to get better reception?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mikealder
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jan 14, 2005
Posts: 19638
Location: Blackpool , Lancs

PostPosted: Sun Oct 22, 2006 9:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mwfox wrote:
Has anyone connected their GTM 21 or 12 to the car aerial and managed to get better reception?
I have tried connecting the GTM12 to a Maplin Mag mount aerial. This has proven to boost the signal with other TMC units, sadly not with the GTM12 Sad , although I used the "twisted" wire approach, will try a better soldered conection in the morning. If this proves unsatisfactory I will try it with the Hirshman amplified aerial I have on the car - will report tomorrow night any findings - Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
Flashyphotos
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Nov 14, 2003
Posts: 306
Location: All Over The UK

PostPosted: Mon Oct 23, 2006 10:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have a GTM21 on a 660 and a GTM12 on a 360

Side by side in the same car the GTM12 provides a better reception

On the driveway, 12 gives Signal 11, 21 gives Signal 9

From home in NG17 to the M1 Junc 28 the 12 keeps signal
From home in NG17 to the M1 Junc 28 the 21 loses signal and hunts

Between J28 southbound and J27 the GTM12 keeps signal the GTM21 Hunts for a signal.

Also I have noted the GTM21 keeps a green light on the charger showing it has a signal for 2 to 3 minutes after it has actually started to hunt, so can lead to a false sense of security that it has a signal when it does not.

All in all the GTM21 seems a lot worse reception wise than the GTM12

Hope that helps
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
JoshT
Regular Visitor


Joined: Aug 05, 2006
Posts: 93
Location: Berks, England

PostPosted: Mon Oct 23, 2006 2:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Flasyphotos - Thanks for your findings . Have you reported the issue to Garmin?

Hopefully if enough of us report it , Garmin will start to look at it seriously as they did with the GTM 12.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Flashyphotos
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Nov 14, 2003
Posts: 306
Location: All Over The UK

PostPosted: Wed Oct 25, 2006 1:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi

Yes I reported it to Garmin, they really did not seem to have any real interest, and gave the normal response that traffic depends on the FM network and the levels are variable,

I tried explaining that if the units were next to each other then the signal should be similar, but they were having none of it!.

I have decided not to bother with Garmin FM TMC for now, as the reliability is not up to what I need,

Shame really, as so far I am more than satisfied with the actual performance of the New Nuvis compared to my old TT910.

For now I am not going to bother with integrated traffic and will rely on my external Trafficmaster and instinct!.

Cheers
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
len73
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jun 03, 2006
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Thu Oct 26, 2006 9:32 pm    Post subject: Signal Strength Reply with quote

Can you display the TMC signal levels from a GTM21 on a StreetPilot c550 as you can on a Nuvi?

Thanks

Len
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sparky8609
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Oct 30, 2006
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Thu Nov 02, 2006 7:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have a c550 with a GTM21, I live in surrey and travel the M3 to work every day I only receive TMC after I have got off the motorway and am virtually at work, other than than zilch nothing nada, signal strength at home topped at 7 on channel 154, rest between 3-5.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JoshT
Regular Visitor


Joined: Aug 05, 2006
Posts: 93
Location: Berks, England

PostPosted: Fri Nov 03, 2006 10:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm having a problem getting Garmin to recognise their is a problem on the GTM 21.

I hope everyone is reporting their issues with the unit to Garmin (i've reported it both by phone and email)

Does anybody know anyone in Garmin Technical support who could champion this for us to get this resolved Question Hopefully it's just a tweat of the GTM 21 software (As the GTM 21 is not as receptive as the GTM 12)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
swing
Pocket GPS Verifier
Pocket GPS Verifier


Joined: Nov 04, 2003
Posts: 2225
Location: Bedfordshire, UK

PostPosted: Fri Nov 03, 2006 11:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Chances are it's not a problem with the GTM21 - it's simply the very weak signals that the radio station transmitters use (and before we blame Trafficmaster, it's actually not them that set the output limits on the transmitters either).

For example - even with a perfectly working setup, I've never seen traffic on the M4 between the M25 and Swindon, so no surprise you aren't getting it around Reading.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
JoshT
Regular Visitor


Joined: Aug 05, 2006
Posts: 93
Location: Berks, England

PostPosted: Fri Nov 03, 2006 12:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Swing,

I used to receive TMC information on the GTM12 (310D) between Junctions 8/9 and J11 all be it intermittantly before I took the unit back. One the 660 + GTM21 I get nothing at all

Flasyphotos did the following test:


Flashyphotos wrote:
I have a GTM21 on a 660 and a GTM12 on a 360

Side by side in the same car the GTM12 provides a better reception

On the driveway, 12 gives Signal 11, 21 gives Signal 9

From home in NG17 to the M1 Junc 28 the 12 keeps signal
From home in NG17 to the M1 Junc 28 the 21 loses signal and hunts

Between J28 southbound and J27 the GTM12 keeps signal the GTM21 Hunts for a signal.

Also I have noted the GTM21 keeps a green light on the charger showing it has a signal for 2 to 3 minutes after it has actually started to hunt, so can lead to a false sense of security that it has a signal when it does not.

All in all the GTM21 seems a lot worse reception wise than the GTM12

Hope that helps


Which draws me to the same conclusion
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
swing
Pocket GPS Verifier
Pocket GPS Verifier


Joined: Nov 04, 2003
Posts: 2225
Location: Bedfordshire, UK

PostPosted: Fri Nov 03, 2006 1:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ah - that does seem to indicate that things could be better, although whether it's the best that the GTM21 can achieve I do not know.

Certainly I've never seen traffic on the M4, but I only use it very occasionally.

It does seem that with such a small difference between the two signal levels (remember the signal strength goes well above 100 - ie we're seeing 1 or 2% difference between the two) it might just be a small issue which is taking the GTM21 just over the edge, whereas the GTM12 can just cope.

Either way, it would be nice if Garmin could come up with an even better fix for the UK, but I doubt that's going to happen.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
PhilGarmin
Lifetime Member


Joined: Nov 07, 2006
Posts: 52
Location: Kidsgrove, Staffordshire, UK

PostPosted: Sun Nov 12, 2006 11:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have just got the Nuvi 660 with a GTM21.

Tried GTM Aerial vertically on RHS of screen and got reasonable TMC coverage around M1 from A50 to A14 turn off. TMC then faded away.
Around St.Neots able to get TMC most of the time.

Donwloaded the first nuvi 660 update from Garmin (v2.6)and this has upgraded the GTM firmware to 3.70 from 2.3. Have not been down the same route as above yet . Will keep you all posted.

Is the aerial wire on the GTM21 just a single core and would it improve the reception if it was extended?

BTW, took back unit to Halfords and swapped it over as had two deadpixels (showing white on a dark screen). Anyone else had this?
_________________
Garmin Nuvi 660
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mwfox
Regular Visitor


Joined: Jun 18, 2006
Posts: 148
Location: Buckingham. UK

PostPosted: Tue Nov 14, 2006 9:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes the aerial cable is just single core - extending it seems to help - or connecting it to your car aerial with a splitter is another option to improve reception.

Inside the house I extend the aerial cable to get reception.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Garmin Portable Navigation Devices All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, ... 13, 14, 15  Next
Page 2 of 15

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB 2.0.11 © 2001 phpBB Group
phpBB port v2.1 based on Tom Nitzschner's phpbb2.0.6 upgraded to phpBB 2.0.4 standalone was developed and tested by:
ArtificialIntel, ChatServ, mikem,
sixonetonoffun and Paul Laudanski (aka Zhen-Xjell).

Version 2.1 by Nuke Cops 2003 http://www.nukecops.com

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
20.114 (23 Nov 22)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping