Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - Nuvi 350 with GTM 10 TMV receiver
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

Nuvi 350 with GTM 10 TMV receiver

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Traffic Message Channel (TMC)
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
andyberesford
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jul 08, 2006
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sun Sep 10, 2006 12:53 pm    Post subject: Nuvi 350 with GTM 10 TMV receiver Reply with quote

Hi,

Anyone got any experience of a Nuvi 350 with a GTM10?
I have just installed mine and have correctly put it in line with the radio.
The LED goes through red/green flashes indicating it is looking for reception
Next it goes to yellow on/off flashes

Then it goes back to red/green and sits in this loop.

Anyone any ideas?

Thanks in advance
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
swing
Pocket GPS Verifier
Pocket GPS Verifier


Joined: Nov 04, 2003
Posts: 2225
Location: Bedfordshire, UK

PostPosted: Sun Sep 10, 2006 4:32 pm    Post subject: Re: Nuvi 350 with GTM 10 TMV receiver Reply with quote

Have you ensured your Nuvi 350 is using the latest firmware, and you have subsequently downloaded the latest GTM firmware via WebUpdater?

It is possible your house is in a poor radio reception area, and you will need to try driving around to see if things improve.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
andyberesford
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jul 08, 2006
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sun Sep 10, 2006 7:57 pm    Post subject: Nuvi with GTM 10 Reply with quote

Yes my nuvi is using the latest SW, 3.9 and when I first connected the traffic receiver it did download updated SW to it.

I did drive out today and it did eventually manage a lock and the receiver's led went green after about half an hour of driving, but it did not stay green long. It did download some data. Given that I live in the south east and have no FM radio reception problems in my area when in the car I would expect better.

Anyone else experience similar?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
andyberesford
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jul 08, 2006
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sun Sep 10, 2006 8:47 pm    Post subject: GTM10 Reply with quote

Ok so I now have it fully working, but this is an interesting one.

The instructions say connect the antenna to the In connector on the GTM and the radio to the out connector. This is what I had initially.

I just tried swapping them around.

Therefore I have the following

Antenna feed goes to Out connector on GTM
Radio connects to In connector on the GTM

It synced up in about 20 seconds and has remained a solid green light since and has downloaded all information.

I wonder if Garmin have a batch of units that were incorrectly labelled?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Intrakota
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Dec 23, 2006
Posts: 31
Location: Here and there.

PostPosted: Wed May 30, 2007 2:01 am    Post subject: GTM10 Reply with quote

Very clever of you, having just read your post and as it is now 2am im going to give it a go first thing in the morning, having said that i have had mine working correctly for 3 months, when it suddenly stopped, Garmin were good enough to give me the lifetime subscription key today but it still sits in the loop you described exactly. I wonder if the last batch of software has caused this problem to occure, and with the next update our units may stop working when we load it. Did you inform Garmin of your problem and how you corrected it, it may be a good idea, oh my GTM10 has V4.10 software does yours.
_________________
Intrakota.
What you want, when you want it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger
Intrakota
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Dec 23, 2006
Posts: 31
Location: Here and there.

PostPosted: Wed May 30, 2007 2:52 pm    Post subject: GTM10 Reply with quote

Ok, so today i tried your solution without any sucess, it just sits in the loop and refuses to receive anything, Garmin are investigating and will call back later today.
_________________
Intrakota.
What you want, when you want it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Traffic Message Channel (TMC) All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
21.115 (29 Nov 23)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping