Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - TT910 Time setting
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

TT910 Time setting

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Portable Navigation Devices
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
pepperm
Occasional Visitor


Joined: May 13, 2006
Posts: 48

PostPosted: Wed May 17, 2006 10:39 pm    Post subject: TT910 Time setting Reply with quote

Why is it that my TT910 asks me the time? Can't it set the time from the GPS signal?

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tumbleweed
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Aug 30, 2004
Posts: 315

PostPosted: Thu May 18, 2006 8:57 am    Post subject: Re: TT910 Time setting Reply with quote

pepperm wrote:
Why is it that my TT910 asks me the time? Can't it set the time from the GPS signal?

Mark


very good Q, and also, how come the displayed time can drift off? You'd think it would be able to synchronise, but seemingly (at least on the 300) there is an entirely seperate clock that never gets reset.

Tw
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pepperm
Occasional Visitor


Joined: May 13, 2006
Posts: 48

PostPosted: Thu May 18, 2006 12:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

My experiences are the same.

It's strange that we have all those atomic clocks up there sending time information and yet TomTom don't seem to use one of them to set the time. It can be done because I have a little utility on my Ipaq that reads the GPS time and sets the clock.

Why not on the TomTom Gos?

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pepperm
Occasional Visitor


Joined: May 13, 2006
Posts: 48

PostPosted: Thu May 18, 2006 2:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What is worse is that I have just noticed that if you go to the GPS signal monitoring screen the GPS UTC time is displayed in the top right corner. So the time is available to the program, it just isn't used for some reason.

I wonder why not?

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mikealder
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jan 14, 2005
Posts: 19638
Location: Blackpool , Lancs

PostPosted: Thu May 18, 2006 4:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Go to Preferences/ set clock then select the time format you want, on the next page is a "Sync" button (lower Left) hit this and it will align the clock to the GPS time, make sure you have a good reliable fix first though - Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
pepperm
Occasional Visitor


Joined: May 13, 2006
Posts: 48

PostPosted: Thu May 18, 2006 6:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I missed that one, maybe I didn't have a lock when I set the time.

It should do it automatically though.

Thanks for the info though

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eddie_vincent
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jun 06, 2004
Posts: 55
Location: Epsom, Surrey, UK

PostPosted: Sat May 20, 2006 9:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can't set the time just by using the GPS signal. It's OK for the minutes/seconds but you still have to set the hour depending upon where you live. As far as I can see, the sync button only sets the time (minutes and seconds only) once - it does not keep the time in sync.
_________________
Paul
-------------------------------
TT Go 940
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
mikealder
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jan 14, 2005
Posts: 19638
Location: Blackpool , Lancs

PostPosted: Sat May 20, 2006 9:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

That is correct, you set the hour manually so as to cater for time zones - the update is mins/ secs via the sync - Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
TuurG
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Nov 23, 2004
Posts: 454
Location: Haarlem, The Netherlands

PostPosted: Mon May 22, 2006 7:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

and v6 will do the syncing via GPS clock automatically based on the initial timezone setting
_________________
GO1005
MGC GT 1968
MGB Cabrio 1973
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fysmd
Regular Visitor


Joined: 29/04/2003 14:53:28
Posts: 65
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Wed May 24, 2006 3:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK so what am I missing. Once it has a fix it knows exactly where it is, and therefore which timezone it's in. Worst it could be would be an hour out due to daylight saving???
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
mikealder
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jan 14, 2005
Posts: 19638
Location: Blackpool , Lancs

PostPosted: Wed May 24, 2006 3:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Set the hour, make sure you have a good sat signal, then press the "Sync" key within the clock page, this will update the time clock on the unit to the very accurate GPS time - Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
PatC
Regular Visitor


Joined: Apr 29, 2006
Posts: 179
Location: Reading, UK

PostPosted: Thu May 25, 2006 1:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

fysmd wrote:
OK so what am I missing. Once it has a fix it knows exactly where it is, and therefore which timezone it's in. Worst it could be would be an hour out due to daylight saving???

It has enough data to determine which time zone it is in, but it appears not to have been designed to map geographical boundaries to time zones.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Portable Navigation Devices All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
21.061 (07 Jun 23)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping