Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
Read the current newsletter! Weekly
Newsletter
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
MacFixer, the iPhone, iPod, and iPad specialists
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - How on earth do you set the phone up???
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

How on earth do you set the phone up???
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Portable Navigation Devices
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
swanlady2000
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Aug 09, 2005
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Tue Aug 16, 2005 3:43 pm    Post subject: How on earth do you set the phone up??? Reply with quote

Now the proud owner of a TomTom 500 (see posts below) I excitedly ripped the packaging off got my mobile phone out a Samsung E720 Bluetooth enable and working.

Proceeded to try and match up - YES! great stuff device found and matched successfully.

Tried to connect to GPRS, symbol comes up but everything fails after getting "DUN connect with TomTom Go 500?" and pressing yes several times. I then get "audio connect with TomTom GO 500?" I press yes and then get "error occurred while checking phone features do you want to try again?.

I've rang orange (my network providers) and they say I've got access to everything via GPRS and I can use it on my phone.

What do I do now? I have just completed a three year BSc(Hons) degree in Midwifery and it was no where near as complicated as this!

Anyone got the number of TOMTOM customer service for a step by step talk through - can't find it on their website!


Babs
Who used to be a blonde, but now grey after purchasing a tomtom! Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
carmex
Regular Visitor


Joined: Jun 20, 2005
Posts: 129

PostPosted: Wed Aug 17, 2005 10:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

Your phone isn't listed by TomTom as having been tested to work with the Go 500 >> http://www.tomtom.com/products/section.php?ID=73&Section=108&Language=1&Tab=2

It could be something to do with the way that Samsung have implemented bluetooth on the phone - they've managed to bungle this a couple of time in the past! That said there are people in this forum using the D800 (which is essentially the same phone) without any problems.

Have you checked the 'Orange Internet' apn setting s with Orange?

Owen
Product Manager
www.globalpositioningsystems.co.uk

YooNoo LTD
_________________
[email protected]
www.globalpositioningsystems.co.uk - GPS System Specialists
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
swanlady2000
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Aug 09, 2005
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Wed Aug 17, 2005 8:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Owen

Thanks for replying. I have been in touch with orange and they have confirmed that I have everything possible to make a connection via bluetooth and my phone works fine on internet access and transferring files to another bluetooth phone.

On the TomTom when you have to input your phone, service provider and country the phone is listed on the tomtom - which made me think that it was compatable.

I Contacted Samsung via email and there reply was short and sweet - basically saying they make no guarantees about there phone being compatable with any other device.

A strange thing happens with the tomtom when I try and link the phone in initially for handsfree calling. I go through all the motions then as I get the error message in checking phone features, if I make a call on the phone at this point it transfers to the Tomtom and acts like a normal handsfree system! However the minute I check the box to try again or cancel it it disconects the phone and any further attempt to contact it is lost!

I guess I am just going to have to change my phone!

Babs x
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
carlosthejackal
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jul 30, 2005
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Thu Aug 18, 2005 3:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry to hijack this thread,but i have problems,but ONLY with the wireless internet conection part.

I have a sony ericsson t610,the bluetooth part works fine,i can make and receive calls,but i cannot set up the tom tom traffic part. I can connect to the internet o.k,but the tt is saying the gprs parameter are not met.

swanlady2000,are you saying your phone cannot even connect via bluetooth?

Does the tt show up in your phones devices? or am i getting confused?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Martin_D
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Aug 18, 2005
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Fri Aug 19, 2005 12:56 am    Post subject: Getting 500 to work with a Samsung Reply with quote

I had exactly the same problem with my Samsung D500 and TomTom 500.

You need to do the following:

1) Go into your phone's bluetooth settings ('connectivity, bluetooth') and delete the TomTom from the devices list.

2) With your phone turned off (and no other bluetooth phones in the vicinity) go through the connect to phone icon on the TomTom it obviously won't find anything and will say 'do you want to unpair from xxx(your phone) say Yes.

3) Go back through the phone setup procedure (with phone and TomTom) just as laid out in instructions, each time the phone asks for okay to connect (DUN, audio etc.) just answer yes.

It should go through and connect like this.

4) Once you have got the connection, go into your phone settings for bluetooth and look at the options on the bluetooth menu against the TomTom, one of them should say 'authorise device' select this as it means your TomTOm can automatically connect each time to the phone without you having to select Yes.

5) I imagine that you'll find all of the features don't work e.g. SMS through phone, but you can certainly answer calls etc.

Hope this helps.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
swanlady2000
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Aug 09, 2005
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Fri Aug 19, 2005 2:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi, Thanks for this,

But...... Still doesn't work!

I go through the motions of this. The Tomtom is listed in devices and I showing the 'headset' logo at the top as being connected. I have said yes to all the connect DUN/audio etc and I have authorised it as a device.

However I get a message on the tomtom saying "an error occurred while checking phone features. Do you want to try again?

If I say yes my phone flashes the message "Tomtom go 500 disconnected" and then "tomtom go 500 connected" (reconnects again but the message appears again on the Tomtom to select Yes or No)

If I say no I get "TomTom Go 500 disconnected" and I lose my headset logo on the phone with the message on my tomtom saying This phone may now be used and then messages appear to try and make a wireless internet connection.

If i then go to my phone and select connect to Tomtom 500 it just says "connecting fail - Try again?.

I am totally at a loss! - Definately think I need a new phone now!

Babs
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lasitha
Occasional Visitor


Joined: May 13, 2005
Posts: 37
Location: London

PostPosted: Fri Aug 19, 2005 2:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think this is to do with the phone's implementation of Bluetooth. I tried to pair a Motorola V600 and I couldn't. It works without any problems with Sony Ericsson T610, T630 and Motorola V3.

You could try with another phone.

Lasitha
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
swanlady2000
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Aug 09, 2005
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Fri Aug 19, 2005 3:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Lasitha,

I think you are right. I have tried it with a motorola V3 and it went through the motions like a dream, so I know its not a fault with the Tomtom.

Thanks for the reply

Babs
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JAWS1975
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jun 11, 2005
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Fri Aug 19, 2005 5:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

to get the gprs to work on my v3(black) is this

go to bluetooth on the phone and drop the connection between the phone and the go unit

and then the gprs works fine
cant get the phone to work with the go and have the gprs work at the same time
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Martin_D
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Aug 18, 2005
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Fri Aug 19, 2005 8:56 pm    Post subject: Samsung and TTG 500 Reply with quote

I definitely had the identical problem with my Samsung and got exactly the same prompts and responses. The key thing seemed to be deleting the phone id from the TT as I described and deleting the TT from the phones recognised devices.

As I said, you only get some of the functions, you can receive and make calls and have the GPRS working at the same time. I notice that elsewhere on the forum people have described how to create a phonebook of contacts on the TTG so I'm going to use that as a work-around to copying the phone contacts to the TTG.

Good luck!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tedkay
Regular Visitor


Joined: 23/10/2002 02:45:38
Posts: 223
Location: United Kingdom - Ringwood Hants

PostPosted: Sun Aug 21, 2005 12:50 pm    Post subject: Compatible Phone List - Incomplete Reply with quote

Carmex

Wink Your link to the Tom Tom compatible phone list was very helpful (I wonder why TT can't post the link themselves - all they say is it is at www.TomTom.com and there is nothing on the home page to indicate where it might be - but that's TT for you! Evil or Very Mad )

Question The list is far from complete, my Nokia 6310i for instance is not listed yet it does work - including the contacts. My Nokia 6680 isn't listed yet it will connect - but not with the contacts.

8O Looking at the list it is clear that the majority of phones won't allow the contacts to be accessed, which is a shame because without that feature the hands-free function is seriously limited - you're not going to key-in the number as you drive - well, not and live long!

Crying or Very sad Sadly you can't download the list using a phone that does allow it, and save it to the GO, it appears that the GO accesses them direct from the SIM card but doesn't store them anywhere, despie there being plenty of spare space on the hard drive on my 700. Maybe TT will look at this for a future feature?

:D The hands-free does work very well apart from that - in fact I'm well impressed with the unit overall, having converted from an Ipaq PDA TT user I am relieved at last to be spared the hassle of the lousy Ipaq power connectors. I have gone through loads over the years, and my 5550 has had the port replaced 3 times!

Regards
Ted
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
cullis
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Sep 20, 2003
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Thu Sep 29, 2005 11:09 am    Post subject: TomTom 700 & Nokia 6680 Reply with quote

I have the TomTom 700 unit and a nokia 6680..

I can connect to traffic and the weather service, but when I try to use the handsfree phone functionality it says that its not enabled, but sms read/write is.

So any ideas on how to get handsfree to work on the 700 and nokia 6680 would be much appreciated
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tedkay
Regular Visitor


Joined: 23/10/2002 02:45:38
Posts: 223
Location: United Kingdom - Ringwood Hants

PostPosted: Thu Sep 29, 2005 12:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi

I had a few probs with my 6680 - this is what I suggest:

Switch off your mobile, remove SIM, leave it for a couple of minutes then replace SIM and switch on. Enable Bluetooth (Menu>Connect>Bluetooth).

On the GO >Menu>MobilePhone>Connect to yor phone>Start Searching For Phones - the GO will now search and (hopefully!) find your phone, and find the features supported. This model phone doesn't accept the numbers download into the GO, but you can dial it on the phone and then use the GO handsfree. There is a workaround though:

If you can get hold of another Nokia bluetooth phone that will link to the GO you can put your 6680 numbers temporarily into this other phone (I have a 6310i which works for this) - you must copy them from the 6680 SIM into the Phone memory on the other phone (on the 6680 you may have to copy from the phone memory to the SIM first because they default to the Phone memory) , it doesn't work direct from the SIM. So copy the numbers and connect the other phone to your GO. You can now use the feature in the GO to download all the contacts, which will remain in its' memory. You can now disconnect the spare phone and connect the 6680 again and the numbers will be there.
If you had to borrow the spare phone don't forget to erase your numbers from it when you've finished.
Also remember to delete the existing phone memory contacts from the spare phone before you start (make sure you don't delete the SIM nubers or you won't be popular - they need to be kept in order to put them back into the phone memory when you have finished.

Your phone may ask for a code when you delete or copy numbers - the default code for Nokia phones is 12345

It worked for me! Wink

Cheers
Ted Kay
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
S4M
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jun 25, 2009
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Thu Jun 25, 2009 4:48 pm    Post subject: Identical problem Tomtom 520 Reply with quote

Identical problem and message this time with my Tomtom520 and Nokia XpressMusic.

The way I got around the issue was to first ensure both devices were unregistered from each other. If this involves deleting devices and rebooting I suggest you do that.

Next I added the Tomtom to the phone first. So go to your phone menu and find the Tomtom, add it, make it trust the Tomtom. Then add the phone to the the Tomtom. This time it will go through all the way and not fail at 60%.

Hope that helps?

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GerryC
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Mar 01, 2005
Posts: 1513
Location: West Mids

PostPosted: Thu Jun 25, 2009 4:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This thread is nearly 4 years old. Shocked
_________________
Gerry
TomTom730T
Cameralert for Android
Brodit ProClip mount
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Portable Navigation Devices All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB 2.0.11 © 2001 phpBB Group
phpBB port v2.1 based on Tom Nitzschner's phpbb2.0.6 upgraded to phpBB 2.0.4 standalone was developed and tested by:
ArtificialIntel, ChatServ, mikem,
sixonetonoffun and Paul Laudanski (aka Zhen-Xjell).

Version 2.1 by Nuke Cops 2003 http://www.nukecops.com

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
20.082 (10 Aug 22)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping