Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - gatso for lorries
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

gatso for lorries
Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> PocketGPSWorld Speed Camera Database
View previous topic :: View next topic  
mevans08
Occasional Visitor

PostPosted: Sun Feb 28, 2010 9:08 pm    Post subject: gatso for lorries Reply with quote

Hello this is my first post - go easy on me ! I am an HGV driver and would like to know if anyone can confirm whether or not there are any single, stand alone Speed Cameras active in the UK that can differentiate between cars and lorries and automatically apply the different speed limits accordingly. For example on a dual carriageway the speed limit for cars is 70mph but 50mph for lorries - is there a Gatso or similar that can 'catch' cars over 70mph and lorries over 50mph ? Or is this just an urban myth Question
Lifetime Member

PostPosted: Sun Feb 28, 2010 9:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Personally - I have no idea.

But I have heard the same stories as well.

A quick Google came up with a few sites that say 'some' Gatso cameras can differentiate, but doesn't go on to say which ones.

ukspeedcameras.co.uk has some useful information. I cannot say how reliable it is or comment on the site itself.

Bob
mikealder
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator

PostPosted: Sun Feb 28, 2010 9:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Welcome to the forum, height finder cameras do exist and can differentiate between cars and HGV, perhaps Alix776 one of the other moderators can add some information regarding where these exist as he drives HGV for a living, I will send him a PM with a link back to this thread - Mike
falkirk81
Pocket GPS Verifier