Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
SurfShark VPN for Streaming TV
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - My experience of TomTom GO
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

My experience of TomTom GO
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Portable Navigation Devices
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Spawn
Occasional Visitor

PostPosted: Mon Oct 25, 2004 9:08 am    Post subject: My experience of TomTom GO Reply with quote

Hi all, I am new to SatNavs and this website.

I bought a TomTom Go last Friday and was very excited after reading all the reviews about it (Most were excellent). I had the TomTom delivered to my place of work so when I received it I quickly charged it up and tested it on the way home.

The unit did take about 10 minutes to warm up and get a signal, but I expected this as I had only just took it out of the box.

The first problem I experienced was that TomTom tried to take me about 10 mins out of the way to get home. I couldn't understand why it was doing this. I even put in a via point but what it did was take me home first and then to the via point and then home again. It took me a while to figure out why it was doing this.

I had a look on the "Browse Map", and it was completely missing out a road that was quite clearly there (the road was showing on the map but for some reason the road had little pink dots on it ????) and it kept diverting me around it, and it still does. Leading me to my first query/question. What does it mean when a road has these pink lines on it? Is there a way to tell TomTom that it's ok to go down this road?

On Saturday I decided to upload the most recent update (4.2 is it?) and a few POI's including the camera database.