Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - Unusual speed camera icon problem
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

Unusual speed camera icon problem
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Garmin Portable Navigation Devices
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
NigeF-51
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Mar 02, 2006
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sun Jul 29, 2012 6:57 am    Post subject: Unusual speed camera icon problem Reply with quote

Hi all,

I've not found any reference to this anywhere, but I have a problem with the speed camera icons on my 2595LM.

I'm using the Pocket GPS World cameras with ASH10's Camera Manager, my own custom icons (which are 24x24,8-bit, etc) and the PGPSW wavs; which generally works fine.

However, random cameras will have their icon replaced with the Garmin 'little black square' icon. It's not always the same camera and it also seems to be independent of zoom level. None of my other icons/POI types exhibit this trait.

Any ideas?

Regards,

Nige
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PaulB2005
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jan 04, 2006
Posts: 9323
Location: Durham, UK

PostPosted: Sun Jul 29, 2012 7:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This used to happen in the past if you loaded over 255 categories of POI. Check how many individual CSV files you are loading.

It could also happen if you have a BMP missing or corrupt.

It might narrow things down if you can identify which cameras have icons missing.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NigeF-51
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Mar 02, 2006
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sun Jul 29, 2012 8:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

I'm only loading 33 POI categories, including all the various speed camera ones.

The only one not to have an icon is the Camera Manager generated 'Overspeed' file. All the others appear to be OK and present and as the occurrence of this is random, I don't think it is a problem with the icons (i.e. a camera will show up fine on one journey, but may not on the next etc. and which camera it affects is random).

Regards,

Nige
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MaFt
Pocket GPS Staff
Pocket GPS Staff


Joined: Aug 31, 2005
Posts: 15150
Location: Bradford, West Yorkshire

PostPosted: Sun Jul 29, 2012 9:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think Camera Manager duplicates all the locations. Perhaps the Garmin software can't make up it's mind on which icon to show at each identical location and so it shows one at random - either the actual speed or the 'missing' one that shows as a black square?

Maybe trying it without the overspeed option and see if that helps? Or make sure that you have all the Camera Manager icons installed correctly?

MaFt
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
dales
Frequent Visitor


Joined: May 04, 2008
Posts: 752
Location: Knaresborough, North Yorkshire.

PostPosted: Sun Jul 29, 2012 11:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Myself, I DO have an overspeed icon. I'm pretty sure it came from Ash10. It's just a dot 1 x 1 pixels. If it's not present, then in overspeed conditions I expect Garmin will use its default icon.

Dales.
_________________
nuvi 2599LMT-D, oregon 700, basecamp, memory-map.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NigeF-51
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Mar 02, 2006
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sun Jul 29, 2012 7:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the suggestions, I'll try it with out the overspeed files and also with an overpeed icon which is either tiny or effectively transparent. Although I don't think it will make a difference in this case as I was below the overspeed triggering speed.

Regards,

Nige
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NigeF-51
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Mar 02, 2006
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sun Aug 05, 2012 6:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Not had a chance to do any testing on the road this week, but by using the simulator, I think I've cracked it.

Initially I tried creating a'blank' icon for the Overspeed files, that got rid of the Garmin little square but as before, several cameras didn't appear. So next I tried MaFt's suggestion of not having the overspeed option (which doesn't worry me as a former TT user I didn't have it there) and lo and behold, so far it appears to be showing all the cameras on my test route.

Thanks all, I'll update this once I do a real world drive,

Regards,

Nige
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MaFt
Pocket GPS Staff
Pocket GPS Staff


Joined: Aug 31, 2005
Posts: 15150
Location: Bradford, West Yorkshire

PostPosted: Sun Aug 05, 2012 2:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So, it appears to be when there are 2 icons in very very close proximity (in your case on top of each other) then that causes the black dot of death?

MaFt
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
walkerx
Lifetime Member


Joined: Oct 21, 2009
Posts: 493
Location: South Yorkshire

PostPosted: Sun Aug 05, 2012 3:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i tried different sized icons on my nulink 2390 and they never displayed correctly even though I was told by Garmin you could use any size - After mailing them back regarding this was told that best to use 22x22 icons.

I've also noticed though that a lot of camera images don't show up, even though the PGPSW alerts are sounding

There are a lot of the spec ones missing from the current construction work on the M62
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NigeF-51
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Mar 02, 2006
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sun Aug 05, 2012 5:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi MaFt,

If it was that, I would've thought it would happen to all the camera icons as the camera and its associated overspeed icon would be co-located, however it was random and sometimes a camera would be affected on one journey but not the next.

I deliberately took a detour on my way out today to pass a site where there are two sets of two cameras in very close proximity and with the overspeed files removed all displayed correctly.

I'll be doing a longer journey next Friday, so I'll keep an eye on it but my feeling at the moment is that it's working and I'll not worry about not having the overspeed option.

Regards & thanks,

Nige
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NigeF-51
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Mar 02, 2006
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sat Aug 11, 2012 6:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

Did a longish journey yesterday and all appears to be working as per my last test i.e. without the ;Overspeed' POIs. Everytime a camera audio warning came up I checked the display and the corresponding icons were showing, at one point there were three overlapping icons all showing.

Regards,

Nige
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kremmen
Pocket GPS Verifier
Pocket GPS Verifier


Joined: Mar 03, 2006
Posts: 7052
Location: Reading

PostPosted: Sat Aug 11, 2012 6:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't have any 'overspeed icons'. The overspeed facility is just another proximity setting using the main camera icon/location.

It's starting to look like the newer Garmins don't like overlapping icons.

If this is starting to look like a problem I'm sure I can port my application 'adjacent cameras' code into a smaller app to remove these, subject to the usual site approval.

I just take the Lat and Long coordinates and if another camera is within 0.001 of both figures then the second one gets removed.
_________________
Satnav:
Garmin 2599 LMT-D (Indoor test rig)
DashCam:
Viofo A119 V3
Car Average MPG :
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
walkerx
Lifetime Member


Joined: Oct 21, 2009
Posts: 493
Location: South Yorkshire

PostPosted: Sat Aug 11, 2012 10:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

That may still not work - I think it's an issue with the display refresh on the newer devices

On one road the icons don't show up if I'm going one way, but do the other.

On another I've noticed a fuel icon for a petrol station no longer there, but on other days it's not there.

But if I exit to the menu and the go back to the map the icons are there

This is the same for speed warnings they may linger on the device but if do the above when return to the ma view the alerts have gone

so this is not an issue with the PGPSW database. GPX Convertor or Ash's Camera Manager but an actual issue with the newer devices themselves and I the only way to fix the issues has to come from Garmin themselves
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kremmen
Pocket GPS Verifier
Pocket GPS Verifier


Joined: Mar 03, 2006
Posts: 7052
Location: Reading

PostPosted: Sun Aug 12, 2012 6:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do these newer devices have a specific icon resolution requirement ?

Also, is there a location you can find where when you zoom in icons that overlapped no longer do so and does that help ?
_________________
Satnav:
Garmin 2599 LMT-D (Indoor test rig)
DashCam:
Viofo A119 V3
Car Average MPG :
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NigeF-51
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Mar 02, 2006
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sun Aug 12, 2012 7:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I believe they use up to 24x24 and that is the size I'm currently using. I tried at 22x22 and 24x24 when I was having the display problem with no apparent difference in performance.

There is a spot on the A303 where two camera icons overlap close to me that I was using to see if the overlap and varying the zoom level had an effect and before removing the overspeed files it again appeared to make no difference.

Nige
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Garmin Portable Navigation Devices All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
22.055 (29 May 24)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







© Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping