Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - which, gps rpof antenna please!?
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

which, gps rpof antenna please!?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Beginners GPS Lounge
View previous topic :: View next topic  
leanon
Occasional Visitor

PostPosted: Thu Aug 02, 2007 2:26 pm    Post subject: which, gps rpof antenna please!? Reply with quote

HI,
I am quite new to GPS systems and even new to using them to the application I am about to describe.
I will like to monitor some GPS softwares and accuracy, and will like to install a receiver on the roof - yes roof and then connect to my laptop/computer.

can anyone help me out with suggestions on which type of antenna /receiver?
any other suggestions or comments (e.g. - should i use USB or bluetooth or?? any please)

thanks

L
mikealder
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator

PostPosted: Thu Aug 02, 2007 4:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You will need an external GPS receiver to connect straight to a laptop, I have three Garmin GPS HVS35 (I think that was the correct part number) they are powered from 12 volts available from the car and connect to the PC via a Quatec 4 port serial to USB port.

These receivers can be obtained on e-bay for as little as 12 quid, sometimes they go for much more, they are about the size of a computer mouse and each one requires five holes in the roof to secure.