Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
Read the current newsletter! Weekly
Newsletter
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - operate my device no longer works with tomtom home 950 live
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

operate my device no longer works with tomtom home 950 live

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Portable Navigation Devices
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
DERRICK
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Sep 10, 2004
Posts: 49

PostPosted: Wed Jan 23, 2019 6:18 pm    Post subject: operate my device no longer works with tomtom home 950 live Reply with quote

Just recently I do what I always do and connect my 950 live to tomtom home and click "operate my device" but now it says "This function is not yet supported for your combination of navigation device, your device's application version and your computer's operating system."
I contacted tomtom and they say my device is too old! WHAT?
It is not on their list of obsolete devices as I pointed out to them but they wouldn't listen. This happened after tomtom home decided to do an update. It worked perfectly well before this so I asked them can I have the previous version so I can install it but no!
also I now cannot connect to my live services even though I have 3 more months to run. After speaking to them and giving them the 950's ime number they say I have to do a reset and wanted me to do it there and then! Not likely! as it will lose many of my poi's etc. Also they couldn't guarantee that it would work anyway.
Any ideas anyone?
Derrick
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Privateer
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: 30/12/2002 17:36:20
Posts: 4891
Location: Oxfordshire, England, UK

PostPosted: Wed Jan 23, 2019 9:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Derrick,

Long time since I used my 950 but I hope the following helps.

Are your POIs saved .ov2 files or as favourites?

If .ov2 files, try just connecting your 950 to your computer so that the 950 is an external drive and you should find your .ov2 POIs In the appropriate map folder(s). Copy the.ov2 and .bmp files to your computer.

If your POIs are favourites then I think there is a file in the map folder called mapsettings.cfg which should contain the POIs, although I canít remember how to extract the POIs from the mapsettings.cfg file.

If nothing else, a backup of your mapsettings.cfg is useful especially if you reset your 950 unit.

Regards,
_________________
Robert.
iPhone 6s Plus, iOS 14.0.1: iOS CamerAlert v2.0.7
TomTom GO Mobile iOS 2.3.1; TomTom (UK & ROI and Europe) iOS apps v1.29
Garmin Camper 770 LMT-D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
arfurdent
Regular Visitor


Joined: Mar 05, 2006
Posts: 107

PostPosted: Thu Jan 24, 2019 7:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

similar thing happened to my 750 live a few months ago. The live traffic just stopped working and the operate device function stopped. TT were not interested even though I had nine months of live traffic left.

Just another Nav2 device off their books.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DERRICK
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Sep 10, 2004
Posts: 49

PostPosted: Thu Jan 24, 2019 11:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the info regarding copying those files privateer. I was going to copy the file system so I get everything. I wonder if i do that and do a reset can i copy everything back in one go or would it lose the reset that i did and putting it all back to what it was before the reset? Hmm.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Privateer
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: 30/12/2002 17:36:20
Posts: 4891
Location: Oxfordshire, England, UK

PostPosted: Thu Jan 24, 2019 1:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Derrick,

It's probably a good idea to copy everything from your 950 to your computer (or external hard drive) and if you're using a micro SD card (for maps) then copy that as well. Once you've got full backups of your system including the .ov2, .bmp, and mapsettings.cfg files then you should be in a more comfortable situation.

Try a reset and see what happens. If everything is OK then you're laughing otherwise you may need to restore (i.e. copy back) the mapsettings.cfg file.

In a worst-case scenario, you may need to use your full backup to restore your 950.

Unfortunately, the 950 is a very old PND. You might want to look through some of PGPSWs old threads about rebooting and resetting and trying the drumroll rest along with other tricks and tips.

Regards,
_________________
Robert.
iPhone 6s Plus, iOS 14.0.1: iOS CamerAlert v2.0.7
TomTom GO Mobile iOS 2.3.1; TomTom (UK & ROI and Europe) iOS apps v1.29
Garmin Camper 770 LMT-D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
hoolahoops
Lifetime Member


Joined: Aug 07, 2007
Posts: 49
Location: Milton Keynes

PostPosted: Fri Jan 25, 2019 8:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Interestingly (or not!) the live services on my 950 also stopped working around 3 months ago (with 3 months traffic subscription left). I've not bothered to try and sort it out but I did have it connected to my computer a month or so ago and had no problems using the "operate my device" functionality.

I don't have any intentions of renewing my traffic subscription. I'm using google maps on my phone which has been good enough recently even if the text on the screen is a little too small compared to the 950.
_________________
Kev

TT Go 950 Live. Fixed Brodit mount
Motorola Moto 4G
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
DennisN
Tired Old Man
Tired Old Man


Joined: Feb 27, 2006
Posts: 14861
Location: Keynsham

PostPosted: Fri Jan 25, 2019 11:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Isn't now the time to look into changing stuff in order to prevent these obligatory updates for Nav 2 devices? I vaguely remember reading something about how to alter some settings to stop updates - changing some numbers on the files identifying which version of software you're using and the same with the version of Home?

I never took much note of it because my Nav 2 GO520 is so ailing that I'm not sure it will survive to my final map update in May. But with something so good as the 950, I'd want to keep it going at current status and avoid any more "upgrades" from TomTom. There was certainly a tip on how to alter a definition in Home and reset the version back to one which worked properly and to alter the version number to stop updates.
hoolahoops wrote:
the live services on my 950 also stopped working around 3 months ago
Wasn't September the month bandied about by TT for ending support of Nav 2 devices? Would have been a good opportunity to quietly stop Live working for you and then when you ring up tell you they already announced dropping support so they can't handle your "issue".
_________________
Dennis

If it tastes good - it's fattening.

Two of them are obesiting!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Oldboy
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Dec 08, 2004
Posts: 10623
Location: Suffolk, UK

PostPosted: Fri Jan 25, 2019 6:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dennis, I think you might be referring to This Post.
_________________
Richard

TT 910 V7.903 (9183/081205) OS:2344
Europe version 1045.10005
TT Via 135 App 12.075
Western Europe v1075
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
DennisN
Tired Old Man
Tired Old Man


Joined: Feb 27, 2006
Posts: 14861
Location: Keynsham

PostPosted: Fri Jan 25, 2019 8:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thatís it perfectly. I decided to go for it. But I have a problem - Iím on Mac, so I have no idea what to look for with the xul thingy. Another possible problem might be that the only old Home I can find is apparently v1.1 and during one fiddle with it, I got a window saying this wonít run because you no longer have Classic (or something). Has anybody got any ideas please?

I could perhaps dig out my ancient Windows laptop for this GO520, but it runs so slowly I usually give up, losing patience before I get anything done!
_________________
Dennis

If it tastes good - it's fattening.

Two of them are obesiting!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hoolahoops
Lifetime Member


Joined: Aug 07, 2007
Posts: 49
Location: Milton Keynes

PostPosted: Fri Jan 25, 2019 8:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ive just tried to buy another live subscription and after checking the first two digits of the serial number, TT does say the subscription is compatible with my device. I didnít proceed with the purchase though. Iím sure TT wouldnít sell me a subscription that wouldnít work...
_________________
Kev

TT Go 950 Live. Fixed Brodit mount
Motorola Moto 4G
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Oldboy
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Dec 08, 2004
Posts: 10623
Location: Suffolk, UK

PostPosted: Fri Jan 25, 2019 9:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

DennisN wrote:
Another possible problem might be that the only old Home I can find is apparently v1.1

The last copy of HOME2 I have is v2.9.91.

If anyone needs a copy, let me know and I'll upload it to the Web and post a Link. It's a 28Mb EXE file.
_________________
Richard

TT 910 V7.903 (9183/081205) OS:2344
Europe version 1045.10005
TT Via 135 App 12.075
Western Europe v1075
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
DennisN
Tired Old Man
Tired Old Man


Joined: Feb 27, 2006
Posts: 14861
Location: Keynsham

PostPosted: Fri Jan 25, 2019 11:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ĎFraid I still need a Mac version and details of how to edit the version number with Mac installation.
_________________
Dennis

If it tastes good - it's fattening.

Two of them are obesiting!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Oldboy
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Dec 08, 2004
Posts: 10623
Location: Suffolk, UK

PostPosted: Sat Jan 26, 2019 9:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The last Mac version I have is v9_5_1974.

I don't know the files and locations used by a Mac. Sad
_________________
Richard

TT 910 V7.903 (9183/081205) OS:2344
Europe version 1045.10005
TT Via 135 App 12.075
Western Europe v1075
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
johnnym100
Regular Visitor


Joined: Apr 17, 2006
Posts: 85
Location: Hampshire/Surrey Border

PostPosted: Thu Feb 07, 2019 7:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I also use a Mac and despite searching I haven't found equivalent instructions to fudge the auto update process. Just prior to a total system rebuild I did have plays with the plists myself but couldn't get it to work.

I don't think Operate my Go has ever worked on as Mac using HOME........
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wildcard
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Nov 13, 2004
Posts: 44

PostPosted: Sun Mar 03, 2019 12:27 pm    Post subject: Re: operate my device no longer works with tomtom home 950 l Reply with quote

DERRICK wrote:
Just recently I do what I always do and connect my 950 live to tomtom home and click "operate my device" but now it says "This function is not yet supported for your combination of navigation device, your device's application version and your computer's operating system."
Any ideas anyone?
Derrick


Did you ever get a fix for this ? The same thing happened with my 940 . I have tried the old trick of installing an old TT Home version 2.9.91.411 but it still doesn't work . I am wondering if its actually related to the OS version on the 940 itself rather than Home . I recently had a forced upgrade to 9.5.41 - which I understood was a required fix for a GPS change in April.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Portable Navigation Devices All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB 2.0.11 © 2001 phpBB Group
phpBB port v2.1 based on Tom Nitzschner's phpbb2.0.6 upgraded to phpBB 2.0.4 standalone was developed and tested by:
ArtificialIntel, ChatServ, mikem,
sixonetonoffun and Paul Laudanski (aka Zhen-Xjell).

Version 2.1 by Nuke Cops © 2003 http://www.nukecops.com

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
19.121 (01 Dec 21)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







© Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping