Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
Read the current newsletter! Weekly
Newsletter
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - 2018.10 Released.
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

2018.10 Released.
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Garmin Portable Navigation Devices
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Metblackrat
Regular Visitor


Joined: Mar 18, 2006
Posts: 73

PostPosted: Wed Mar 29, 2017 7:33 pm    Post subject: 2018.10 Released. Reply with quote

New maps are now available to download via Express.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MichaelCahill
Regular Visitor


Joined: May 23, 2008
Posts: 118

PostPosted: Wed Mar 29, 2017 8:14 pm    Post subject: Re: 2018.10 Released. Reply with quote

Metblackrat wrote:
New maps are now available to download via Express.

Before I download, can you confirm that there are no nasty surprises, like DEM maps disappearing, as happened previously?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sussamb
Pocket GPS Verifier
Pocket GPS Verifier


Joined: Mar 18, 2011
Posts: 4389
Location: West Sussex

PostPosted: Wed Mar 29, 2017 8:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well unless the device has that map, mine doesn't, no one can. Just copy it to your PC first before you update just in case.
_________________
Where there's a will ... there's a way.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dabri
Lifetime Member


Joined: Aug 30, 2006
Posts: 126

PostPosted: Wed Mar 29, 2017 8:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

BEWARE. Just loaded new map onto my 3598 and it has frozen. It started up normally, but when I moved to the Navigation screen to switch on the GPS simulator it just stopped; will not respond to anything.

After holding the on/off button for a while (15 seconds or so) it started again. No maps appeared. Moved again to the GPS simulator and it has frozen again.

Another attempt. This time maps appeared. Disappointingly, a new ring road that opened in January is not on the map.

Never mind; all working again - probably.
_________________
Dabri.
Navman iCN530T; Garmin 760T v4.80; Garmin 765T v4.00; Garmin 2460LMT v3.60; Samsung S3;
Garmin 3598LMT-D v5.50; Samsung J6.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sussamb
Pocket GPS Verifier
Pocket GPS Verifier


Joined: Mar 18, 2011
Posts: 4389
Location: West Sussex

PostPosted: Wed Mar 29, 2017 8:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

All mine updated without issue Very Happy
_________________
Where there's a will ... there's a way.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BAVC10
Lifetime Member


Joined: Dec 20, 2005
Posts: 720

PostPosted: Thu Mar 30, 2017 11:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Same here - all units updated without issue.

DriveLuxe 51 notified me via the built-in Wi-Fi that there was a mapupdate when I asked it to check for updates - but then had to connected to GE for the update!
_________________
DriveLuxe 51 LMT D - Firmware 6.20
Previously owned: DriveLuxe 50 LMT-D, NuviCam LMT-D, Nuvi 3598 LMT-D, Nuvi 3490LMT, 3790T, 1690, 765, 760, 660, 610, 360, 310, 300 and Streetpilot i3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
walkerx
Lifetime Member


Joined: Oct 21, 2009
Posts: 484
Location: South Yorkshire

PostPosted: Thu Mar 30, 2017 4:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

BAVC10 wrote:
Same here - all units updated without issue.

DriveLuxe 51 notified me via the built-in Wi-Fi that there was a mapupdate when I asked it to check for updates - but then had to connected to GE for the update!


that's odd as you would expect it to update via wi-fi, otherwise what is the point of it
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BAVC10
Lifetime Member


Joined: Dec 20, 2005
Posts: 720

PostPosted: Thu Mar 30, 2017 5:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I guess given it is nearly 8GB it is too large to do over the air - not that I'd want to take the risk anyway.

Wi-Fi seems fine for firmware and smaller (language/text) file updates although I've now disabled it as I keep getting 'nags' to find my home Wi-Fi when driving around - so it's a gimmick.
_________________
DriveLuxe 51 LMT D - Firmware 6.20
Previously owned: DriveLuxe 50 LMT-D, NuviCam LMT-D, Nuvi 3598 LMT-D, Nuvi 3490LMT, 3790T, 1690, 765, 760, 660, 610, 360, 310, 300 and Streetpilot i3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
walkerx
Lifetime Member


Joined: Oct 21, 2009
Posts: 484
Location: South Yorkshire

PostPosted: Thu Mar 30, 2017 8:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

my first attempt at updating the maps and stuck at downloading 26minutes for over 1 hour

had to disconnect unit and re-connect for it to do anything else (now finally copying the files over after it reported 3 hours to do)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kremmen
Pocket GPS Verifier
Pocket GPS Verifier


Joined: Mar 03, 2006
Posts: 6543
Location: West London & Reading

PostPosted: Fri Mar 31, 2017 4:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

My map updates rarely go in first time. I nearly always have it freeze somewhere then have to stop and restart GE, then it works second go. Then my second unit works first time, maybe because the maps are already local.

That is on a 24Mbps fibre connection. But Garmin only seem to allow 3Mbps, even in the early hours before america wakes up, which is why it takes ages. I also don't allow the PC to sleep and all USB ports are not set to sleep either.
_________________
Satnav:
Garmin DS61 LMT-D (In the car)
Garmin 2599 LMT-D (Indoor test rig)
DashCam:
Viofo A119 V3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
toyracer69
Lifetime Member


Joined: Feb 28, 2006
Posts: 60
Location: harrow

PostPosted: Fri Mar 31, 2017 12:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did mine last night, took a good hour to complete but it went in first time and worked this morning... Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PhilHornby
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Dec 07, 2006
Posts: 560
Location: North Devon

PostPosted: Fri Mar 31, 2017 2:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Kremmen wrote:
That is on a 24Mbps fibre connection. But Garmin only seem to allow 3Mbps, even in the early hours before america wakes up, which is why it takes ages.

That's odd. I updated the 3598 and noted with interest, that (for once) something was actually making half-decent use of my V.M. Cable connection.



(Microsoft Edge seems to consider this graph to be a security threat and doesn't seem to want to display it Confused)
http://www.dropbox.com/s/frrrrqbzumov2wo/Garmin.png?dl=0
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sussamb
Pocket GPS Verifier
Pocket GPS Verifier


Joined: Mar 18, 2011
Posts: 4389
Location: West Sussex

PostPosted: Fri Mar 31, 2017 3:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm on Virgin too and downloads appear to whiz through, but then I'm on 70Mbps Very Happy
_________________
Where there's a will ... there's a way.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kremmen
Pocket GPS Verifier
Pocket GPS Verifier


Joined: Mar 03, 2006
Posts: 6543
Location: West London & Reading

PostPosted: Fri Mar 31, 2017 3:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

For once both mine went in without a hitch.

According to the GE progress bar my download speed was only 8Mbps though. Took under an hour for the Europe and about 20 mins for the UK&I.

Wonder why it can't use the full 24Mbps that Speedtest identifies ?
_________________
Satnav:
Garmin DS61 LMT-D (In the car)
Garmin 2599 LMT-D (Indoor test rig)
DashCam:
Viofo A119 V3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
b33jay
Lifetime Member


Joined: Apr 05, 2012
Posts: 250

PostPosted: Fri Mar 31, 2017 5:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Why are the last two posts dated April 1st?

Edit: as I now see this one of mine is.

My PC clock is correct so....................
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Garmin Portable Navigation Devices All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB 2.0.11 © 2001 phpBB Group
phpBB port v2.1 based on Tom Nitzschner's phpbb2.0.6 upgraded to phpBB 2.0.4 standalone was developed and tested by:
ArtificialIntel, ChatServ, mikem,
sixonetonoffun and Paul Laudanski (aka Zhen-Xjell).

Version 2.1 by Nuke Cops 2003 http://www.nukecops.com

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
20.013 (19 Jan 22)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping