Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
Read the current newsletter! Weekly
Newsletter
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - LIVE Services Error Code 148
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

LIVE Services Error Code 148
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Portable Navigation Devices
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
MarkMarkB
Regular Visitor


Joined: Dec 07, 2008
Posts: 80

PostPosted: Sat Mar 16, 2013 6:47 pm    Post subject: LIVE Services Error Code 148 Reply with quote

Greetings,

My 750 LIVE has been pretty good since I got it. Only a very occasional problem connecting to LIVE Services.

Last night, however, it refused to even try to connect. It still won't. I have an error code 148. A quick search suggests a problem with the SIM card. Can anyone please suggest a solution?

Thanks,

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
psyskiesman
Lifetime Member


Joined: Jun 22, 2004
Posts: 322
Location: Swindon, Wiltshire

PostPosted: Sat Mar 16, 2013 7:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

My 750 live was working perfectly yesterday (Friday) morning from Huntingdon to Dynas Powys. However, when I switched it on again in Cardiff, I noticed Live services were not connected, Error Code 148! Up until now, Saturday evening, I still have no Live services. I've tried everything TomTom would likely suggest including Reset to Factory Settings, and a full back up from Explorer. nothing has worked. In my work, HD traffic is the most important feature to me and not having it is a pain in the a**e. Luckily I still have an old TMC thingy which will give me some idea of traffic delays. Last time I had the error code 148 was nearly 2 years ago, and my unit was still under guarantee, and TomTom exchanged it for this new one, but to have this go wrong as well makes one wonder about the long term life of TomTom products.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Andy_P
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jun 04, 2005
Posts: 19991
Location: West and Southwest London

PostPosted: Sat Mar 16, 2013 7:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Error 148 is not a specific error and not usually a hardware problem at all. It just means the unit cannot connect to the Live servers for whatever reason.
The forums are full of people with LIVE connection problems at the moment.

95% of the time it's an issue at TomTom's end.

There have been various error screens generated for error 148, the most recent ones are a bit more honest about it being their fault...



The only time I've known it to be a local hardware fault is when they messed up a bunch of SIM cards for the UK and a software update killed them all. But that was a long time ago now.
_________________
"Settling in nicely" ;-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AlanH
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Sep 06, 2004
Posts: 42

PostPosted: Sat Mar 16, 2013 8:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Lost my Live Services this morning around 11.00am on a trip up the A1. They haven't returned yet.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gazza70
Regular Visitor


Joined: Feb 28, 2006
Posts: 129

PostPosted: Sun Mar 17, 2013 10:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

my go 950 lost live services on Friday , I think it may be a problem on the older tomtom's ,
I checked my daughter's tomtom 820 live top gear edition and her live services are working fine .
have been checking the 820 all week end and every time it connects straight away to live services .
reading tomtom's forum it seems to be the older units that are suffering ,
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
arfurdent
Regular Visitor


Joined: Mar 05, 2006
Posts: 107

PostPosted: Sun Mar 17, 2013 12:54 pm    Post subject: Re: LIVE Services Error Code 148 Reply with quote

MarkMarkB wrote:
Greetings,

My 750 LIVE has been pretty good since I got it. Only a very occasional problem connecting to LIVE Services.

Last night, however, it refused to even try to connect. It still won't. I have an error code 148. A quick search suggests a problem with the SIM card. Can anyone please suggest a solution?

Thanks,

Mark


Does the 750 Live have a SIM card, mine does not?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
psyskiesman
Lifetime Member


Joined: Jun 22, 2004
Posts: 322
Location: Swindon, Wiltshire

PostPosted: Sun Mar 17, 2013 1:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

All TomToms with Live Services have a SIM card, but they are not accessible to the average user. It's hidden under the label on the base of the unit.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MarkMarkB
Regular Visitor


Joined: Dec 07, 2008
Posts: 80

PostPosted: Sun Mar 17, 2013 2:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the replies. I'll continue to wait patiently then......
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
justbrowsing
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Nov 10, 2011
Posts: 641

PostPosted: Sun Mar 17, 2013 3:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

550 Live in SM6 area just switched on & Live's fine
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
shires999
Lifetime Member


Joined: Nov 09, 2006
Posts: 95

PostPosted: Sun Mar 17, 2013 5:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

My XL Live has had no Live services since Friday.
It looks like it's having trouble connecting to the mobile network
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Wendolene
Regular Visitor


Joined: Sep 17, 2005
Posts: 86
Location: South Manchester, UK.

PostPosted: Sun Mar 17, 2013 5:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Phew. I though my 750 was packing up. I haven't been able to connect to Live Services since Friday. My subscription doesn't expire until May 2014.

I get the same error: 148.
_________________
Cracking Toast Gromit!

TomTom Go Live 750

App: v9.510.1234792.103
Map: Europe v1005.8763
All installed on a 4GB Class 6 microSD Card.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
shires999
Lifetime Member


Joined: Nov 09, 2006
Posts: 95

PostPosted: Sun Mar 17, 2013 5:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Lots of comments on the Tomtom forums. No reply by anyone from TT though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
psyskiesman
Lifetime Member


Joined: Jun 22, 2004
Posts: 322
Location: Swindon, Wiltshire

PostPosted: Sun Mar 17, 2013 6:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just don't tell my wife it's only a temporary glitch. She's just bought me a new 1005!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gazza70
Regular Visitor


Joined: Feb 28, 2006
Posts: 129

PostPosted: Sun Mar 17, 2013 11:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

just lost 4hrs of my life stuck in traffic thanks to tomtom , no way would I be buying another tomtom , there is always something wrong ,
people pay for live services but get nothing but grief and ripped off ,
at the moment since the map update there is no fuel price's ,no speed camera's ,they have also taken google search away at xmas and the to top it all this week end there is no live services full stop,
can't wait until tomorrow to see what crap tomtom tell me to do ,
should be the usual we have had no other complaints about this issue so do a factory reset and see if this works .
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Wendolene
Regular Visitor


Joined: Sep 17, 2005
Posts: 86
Location: South Manchester, UK.

PostPosted: Sun Mar 17, 2013 11:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Most strange.

As I commented upon earlier, I too get the error code 148 when trying to use Live services, however, I have discovered something rather strange.

Whilst I had my TomTom connected to my PC and TomTom Home running, I chose the 'Operate My Go' option in Home. Well, Live Services started to work! When checking the network status on my device (via TomTom Home) it said connected and traffic information was present.

Thinking the ongoing Live services problem was resolved, I disconnected my device from my PC and tried to use it again. This time when I check the network it said is wasn't connected and unsurprisingly, Live services were not working.

So Live services work via TomTom Home but not standalone. I guess that the device used my internet connection when connected to my PC, but a mobile carrier when not.
_________________
Cracking Toast Gromit!

TomTom Go Live 750

App: v9.510.1234792.103
Map: Europe v1005.8763
All installed on a 4GB Class 6 microSD Card.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Portable Navigation Devices All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
Page 1 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB 2.0.11 © 2001 phpBB Group
phpBB port v2.1 based on Tom Nitzschner's phpbb2.0.6 upgraded to phpBB 2.0.4 standalone was developed and tested by:
ArtificialIntel, ChatServ, mikem,
sixonetonoffun and Paul Laudanski (aka Zhen-Xjell).

Version 2.1 by Nuke Cops 2003 http://www.nukecops.com

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
19.114 (24 Nov 21)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping