Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
Read the current newsletter! Weekly
Newsletter
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
MacFixer, the iPhone, iPod, and iPad specialists
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - Suspect bug in reporting camera as still active (TT Cameras)
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

Suspect bug in reporting camera as still active (TT Cameras)
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Portable Navigation Devices
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
gluey
Regular Visitor


Joined: Mar 27, 2005
Posts: 208
Location: North East UK

PostPosted: Thu Feb 14, 2013 11:15 pm    Post subject: Suspect bug in reporting camera as still active (TT Cameras) Reply with quote

I seem to have found a bug with camera safety services on my 540,

APP 9.465.10742741, OS 842337
GPS V1.20 BOOT 5.5120
MAP UK AND IRELAND V885.4009

With a hard reset and defaults loaded i have setup and have the warnings for the safety cameras ok.
If i plan a route past the location below the camera shows on the route(route summary,live tab)as a fixed camera.
Now if i drive past a FIXED camera location at N55 05.365,W1 29.124 i get the FIXED warning as it should.
If I DONT report it as still active i will get the warning each time i pass.
If I DO report it as still active it then changes this fixed camera to a MOBILE camera.

From then on i will get the mobile warning for this camera and not the fixed warning.
The route summary now removes the fixed camera and puts it as a mobile camera.

Worse is that after a couple of hours the camera is removed all together!


Can others try to confirm this finding?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Oldboy
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Dec 08, 2004
Posts: 10632
Location: Suffolk, UK

PostPosted: Fri Feb 15, 2013 7:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't use the TT supplied cameras (for the usual reasons that a lot of us don't), but my understanding is that the reporting mechanism is used for reporting Mobile Cameras only.

In your case, TT is assuming that there is a Mobile operating at that location and it replaces the Fixed with that.

When reported in this manner, they only stay Active for 2 hours and then 'disappear'. The Fixed camera warning was somehow removed from the data altogether when you reported it as a Mobile. Rolling Eyes
_________________
Richard

TT 910 V7.903 (9183/081205) OS:2344
Europe version 1045.10005
TT Via 135 App 12.075
Western Europe v1082
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
gluey
Regular Visitor


Joined: Mar 27, 2005
Posts: 208
Location: North East UK

PostPosted: Fri Feb 15, 2013 8:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think your correct, but TT give you the option to report ALL cameras as active.
If your right then it means everytime someone reports a fixed as still there it will be removed.
No wonder the data is rubbish
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
M8TJT
The Other Tired Old Man
The Other Tired Old Man


Joined: Apr 04, 2006
Posts: 10118
Location: Bexhill, South Sussex, UK

PostPosted: Fri Feb 15, 2013 9:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Does the original fixed cam in your first post 'come back' or does it seem that it's permanently removed? If we had that system, we could make MaFt redundant and get a cam database as good as TT's Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GerryC
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Mar 01, 2005
Posts: 1513
Location: West Mids

PostPosted: Fri Feb 15, 2013 10:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's possible that this is being affected the same way that fuel prices stopped all other warnings and you get no warnings of any kind in French "danger areas". Seems weird that TT would stop their own warnings but I wouldn't put it past them - a "current" mobile stops all other warnings.

I'm not sure why they would want you to report a fixed camera as still there. It's only if it's removed or changed that it's interesting data (like PGPSW).

Gerry
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
DennisN
Tired Old Man
Tired Old Man


Joined: Feb 27, 2006
Posts: 14869
Location: Keynsham

PostPosted: Fri Feb 15, 2013 11:40 am    Post subject: Re: Suspect bug in reporting camera as still active (TT Came Reply with quote

gluey wrote:
If i plan a route past the location below the camera shows on the route(route summary,live tab)as a fixed camera.
Now if i drive past a FIXED camera location at N55 05.365,W1 29.124 i get the FIXED warning as it should.
If I DONT report it as still active i will get the warning each time i pass.
If I DO report it as still active it then changes this fixed camera to a MOBILE camera.

From then on i will get the mobile warning for this camera and not the fixed warning.
The route summary now removes the fixed camera and puts it as a mobile camera.

Worse is that after a couple of hours the camera is removed all together1

Oh boy, I'd love to be a fly on the wall when you try to report this to the Dutch help line! Twisted Evil
_________________
Dennis

If it tastes good - it's fattening.

Two of them are obesiting!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Andy_P
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jun 04, 2005
Posts: 19991
Location: West and Southwest London

PostPosted: Fri Feb 15, 2013 11:56 am    Post subject: Re: Suspect bug in reporting camera as still active (TT Came Reply with quote

gluey wrote:

If I DO report it as still active it then changes this fixed camera to a MOBILE camera.

From then on i will get the mobile warning for this camera and not the fixed warning.


Can others try to confirm this finding?



-1 in general....

1. When ever I drive past a camera with TT's own warnings turned on, I get an audible warning and the icon bottom left of the screen.

2. If I tap the icon I get a "Does this camera still exist" question on screen (and by voice).

3. If I tap (or say) "yes" then it flashes up "Camera confirmed" and I get the same warnings next time.

Can you confirm that's the sequence of events you are following too?


I'm wondering if you are leaving it too late and it's taking it as a report of a NEW mobile cam by mistake.
It then SHOULDN'T act like GerryC suggests, but that might be the bug here.
_________________
"Settling in nicely" ;-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gluey
Regular Visitor


Joined: Mar 27, 2005
Posts: 208
Location: North East UK

PostPosted: Fri Feb 15, 2013 8:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi All,
When i Drive upto the fixed camera i get the fixed camera warning.
The icon displays the fixed camera.
i press the icon and then confirm its still there.
the icon says "thanks".
If i drive past again then i get the mobile warning with the mobile icon.

The route summary on the live tab changes the fixed camera to a mobile camera.
After an couple of hours ALL warnings and existing camera are removed.

If i don't confirm any of the cameras then i get the warning each time.

Someone else try that on the location as above in route demo.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Andy_P
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jun 04, 2005
Posts: 19991
Location: West and Southwest London

PostPosted: Fri Feb 15, 2013 10:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

@Gluey... Bug CONFIRMED. I'll pass it on to TomTom.


If anyone else wants to try it, Glueys camera at N55 05.365,W1 29.124 is at N55.08942, W1.48540 for those used to decimal degrees.
_________________
"Settling in nicely" ;-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gluey
Regular Visitor


Joined: Mar 27, 2005
Posts: 208
Location: North East UK

PostPosted: Fri Feb 15, 2013 11:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks Andy,
This has had my head done in for about a month trying to get this across to TT that there is a problem.

Wish they could get PGPS ones on their units and be done with it.

No wonder many people say the data is getting worse.
If everyone is reporting them as still there then before long you will get nothing.

Cheers
Kev
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Andy_P
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jun 04, 2005
Posts: 19991
Location: West and Southwest London

PostPosted: Fri Feb 15, 2013 11:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's not doing it on NAV3 models like the Go1000/1005 though.
_________________
"Settling in nicely" ;-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gluey
Regular Visitor


Joined: Mar 27, 2005
Posts: 208
Location: North East UK

PostPosted: Fri Feb 15, 2013 11:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What model unit did you have it happen on?
May just be older models.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Andy_P
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jun 04, 2005
Posts: 19991
Location: West and Southwest London

PostPosted: Fri Feb 15, 2013 11:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Go940 on v9.465
_________________
"Settling in nicely" ;-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gluey
Regular Visitor


Joined: Mar 27, 2005
Posts: 208
Location: North East UK

PostPosted: Fri Feb 15, 2013 11:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Same navcore as mine.
Might help narrow it down if others try it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Andy_P
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jun 04, 2005
Posts: 19991
Location: West and Southwest London

PostPosted: Fri Feb 15, 2013 11:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do you know exactly how long they take to "disappear". I'm waiting to take the last screen-grab of a series, showing the whole process.










_________________
"Settling in nicely" ;-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Portable Navigation Devices All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
Page 1 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB 2.0.11 © 2001 phpBB Group
phpBB port v2.1 based on Tom Nitzschner's phpbb2.0.6 upgraded to phpBB 2.0.4 standalone was developed and tested by:
ArtificialIntel, ChatServ, mikem,
sixonetonoffun and Paul Laudanski (aka Zhen-Xjell).

Version 2.1 by Nuke Cops 2003 http://www.nukecops.com

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
20.054 (25 May 22)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping