Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Brixly - Fast, Reliable, Secure UK Web Hosting
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - entering post codes
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

entering post codes

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Portable Navigation Devices
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
bazzza
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Nov 05, 2006
Posts: 260
Location: East Yorkshire

PostPosted: Fri May 11, 2012 6:27 pm    Post subject: entering post codes Reply with quote

I haven't been on the forum for a while and haven't used my Go520 for a while either. I have searched for info on this. Have I missed something or has there been a change that stops me from entering the second part of a post code (no space bar)?
I have a feeling that the answer is going to embarass me but I have to ask.
_________________
Bazzza
TTGO520 Version 9.430
Western & Central Europe Maps
Iphone 6
TT Via 135M
GO520 WiFi
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mikealder
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jan 14, 2005
Posts: 19638
Location: Blackpool , Lancs

PostPosted: Fri May 11, 2012 7:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Are there any files in the zip folder on the device? - If not simply copy the contents of the zip folder from your backup storred on the PC to the zip folder on the device - Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
Oldboy
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Dec 08, 2004
Posts: 10640
Location: Suffolk, UK

PostPosted: Fri May 11, 2012 7:31 pm    Post subject: Re: entering post codes Reply with quote

bazzza wrote:
... stops me from entering the second part of a post code (no space bar)?
You don't need the space bar. Just enter the digits without the space - AB118AZ
_________________
Richard

TT 910 V7.903: Europe Map v1045
TT Via 135 App 12.075: Western Europe Map v1110
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
bazzza
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Nov 05, 2006
Posts: 260
Location: East Yorkshire

PostPosted: Fri May 11, 2012 8:01 pm    Post subject: Entering Post Codes Reply with quote

mikealder wrote:
Are there any files in the zip folder on the device? - If not simply copy the contents of the zip folder from your backup storred on the PC to the zip folder on the device - Mike

Sorry Mike, that goes a little out of my comfort zone. There doesn't appear to be a zip folder on the device and the backup folder on the pc was empty. Backed up now, but of course, no zip folder.

Oldboy, I tried ignoring the space but the device just ignores the second part of the code.
_________________
Bazzza
TTGO520 Version 9.430
Western & Central Europe Maps
Iphone 6
TT Via 135M
GO520 WiFi
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mikealder
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jan 14, 2005
Posts: 19638
Location: Blackpool , Lancs

PostPosted: Fri May 11, 2012 8:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can download the postcode data by clicking Here once saved to your PC simply unzip the download straight to the drive letter associated with your TomTom (it needs to be plugged in to the PC and switched on) - This will put the required data on your device to resolve your issue - Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
bazzza
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Nov 05, 2006
Posts: 260
Location: East Yorkshire

PostPosted: Fri May 11, 2012 9:10 pm    Post subject: entering post codes Reply with quote

Sorry Mike, It didn't work. I did what you said and the files are now in the device, but they don't make any difference. It still only responds to the first part of the post code.
_________________
Bazzza
TTGO520 Version 9.430
Western & Central Europe Maps
Iphone 6
TT Via 135M
GO520 WiFi
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dhn
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Oct 08, 2007
Posts: 2544
Location: Toronto CANADA

PostPosted: Fri May 11, 2012 9:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did the files get put into a FOLDER called zip in the root of the unit? (NOT within the specific map folder)??
_________________
David
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Andy_P
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jun 04, 2005
Posts: 19991
Location: West and Southwest London

PostPosted: Fri May 11, 2012 9:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here's how the folder and file structure should look on the Go...


_________________
"Settling in nicely" ;-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bazzza
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Nov 05, 2006
Posts: 260
Location: East Yorkshire

PostPosted: Sat May 12, 2012 6:36 pm    Post subject: entering post codes Reply with quote

Sorry for the delay. Wife has different priorities.

In a folder called Zipcode there is another folder called Postal_code_file_for_UK_TeleAtlas _maps
In that folder are:
Great_britain.postal
Great_britain_postal_teleatlas_603.cab
Great_britain_postal_teleatlas_603.toc
Great_britainpostal.ver
Nederland.postal
Nederlandpostal.ver
Zipcode.png

Sorry, I could do a screen dump of my files but I don't know how to post a picture.
Thanks for your patience.
_________________
Bazzza
TTGO520 Version 9.430
Western & Central Europe Maps
Iphone 6
TT Via 135M
GO520 WiFi
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mikealder
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jan 14, 2005
Posts: 19638
Location: Blackpool , Lancs

PostPosted: Sat May 12, 2012 6:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Use Windows Explorer to rename the folder zipcode to just "zip" (without the "") then you full postcode look up should work - Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
bazzza
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Nov 05, 2006
Posts: 260
Location: East Yorkshire

PostPosted: Sat May 12, 2012 7:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mikealder wrote:
Use Windows Explorer to rename the folder zipcode to just "zip" (without the "") then you full postcode look up should work - Mike

Sorry Mike, it still doesn't work. e.g. if I put in my home postcode it just comes up with the name of the village. The response is the same whether I put in the second part of the postcode or not.
_________________
Bazzza
TTGO520 Version 9.430
Western & Central Europe Maps
Iphone 6
TT Via 135M
GO520 WiFi
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Daggers
Lifetime Member


Joined: Jun 20, 2005
Posts: 1096
Location: Solihull, UK

PostPosted: Sat May 12, 2012 7:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Are the files Great_britain.postal, etc. still in the folder called Postal_code_file_for_UK_TeleAtlas _maps, or are they directly in the folder called zip?

They should be in the zip folder.
_________________
Garmin DriveSmart 50 LMT-D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bazzza
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Nov 05, 2006
Posts: 260
Location: East Yorkshire

PostPosted: Sat May 12, 2012 7:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Daggers wrote:
Are the files Great_britain.postal, etc. still in the folder called Postal_code_file_for_UK_TeleAtlas _maps, or are they directly in the folder called zip?

They should be in the zip folder.

They were still in the folder called Postal_code_file_for_UK_TeleAtlas _maps.
I moved them into "zip"and it's ok now. Thanks for your patience.

In the zip folder now are:
Postal_code_file_for_UK_TeleAtlas _maps
Great_britain.postal
Great_britain_postal_teleatlas_603.cab
Great_britain_postal_teleatlas_603.toc
Great_britainpostal.ver
Nederland.postal
Nederlandpostal.ver
Zipcode.png
_________________
Bazzza
TTGO520 Version 9.430
Western & Central Europe Maps
Iphone 6
TT Via 135M
GO520 WiFi
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Andy_P
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jun 04, 2005
Posts: 19991
Location: West and Southwest London

PostPosted: Sun May 13, 2012 5:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You've still got the original downloaded archive files (.cab and .toc) so you could delete those if you want.
The .ver file is handy because it's a text file that says what version of the postcode file you have.

But all you actually need is the "zip" folder and the four files shown in my picture in post #8. Any other files will just be ignored by the TomTom.
_________________
"Settling in nicely" ;-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bazzza
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Nov 05, 2006
Posts: 260
Location: East Yorkshire

PostPosted: Sun May 13, 2012 11:09 pm    Post subject: entering post codes Reply with quote

Thanks Andy, I'll tidy it up.
_________________
Bazzza
TTGO520 Version 9.430
Western & Central Europe Maps
Iphone 6
TT Via 135M
GO520 WiFi
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Portable Navigation Devices All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
21.094 (27 Sep 23)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping