Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
Read the current newsletter! Weekly
Newsletter
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - TomTom Changes Car Mount for 1000 series?
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

TomTom Changes Car Mount for 1000 series?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Portable Navigation Devices
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
colin_thames
Regular Visitor


Joined: Mar 08, 2006
Posts: 67
Location: Surrey

PostPosted: Mon Jun 24, 2013 6:19 pm    Post subject: TomTom Changes Car Mount for 1000 series? Reply with quote

I bought a new TomTom Go Live 1005 Europe in Halfords over the weekend (an absolute bargain at 185 through a special offer online until 26/4/13, including 3 years Live services and Lifetime maps).

TomTom seemed to have changed the car mount so that there is no longer a gap in the base of the car mount for the magnetic connector. Instead they've put a micro usb socket on the back of the car mount.

TomTom have kindly provided the proprietary magnetic cable so you can connect to your PC but have omitted to include a USB to mini USB connector for the car, so you can't charge the TomTom while it sits on its mount! This must be an oversight as TomTom sent an extra cable to one purchaser according to a posting on the TomTom discussion group (http://bit.ly/11WgJBR)

In a way I'm quite pleased they've changed the mounting because I had intended to permanently install the mount and charger/cable in my car so I had resigned myself to having to buy another proprietary cable to connect to my PC. Those cables aren't cheap! Whereas the USB to mini USB cables are dirt cheap. So even more odd that TomTom haven't included one!

I assume this is a transitionary hiccup because my instructions still show the old mount with a hole in the base.

Here are two photos showing the new base

http://www.flickr.com/photos/colin_j-e/9128075892/

http://www.flickr.com/photos/colin_j-e/9128078658/

Cheers

Colin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
colin_thames
Regular Visitor


Joined: Mar 08, 2006
Posts: 67
Location: Surrey

PostPosted: Mon Jul 01, 2013 10:37 am    Post subject: New mount was TomTom error Reply with quote

Apparently TomTom have withdrawn all the 1005 units that were supplied with an active mount but no mini usb cable.

I prefer this to the mount that has the cable plugging in the base of the mount so I'm now really keen to get another active mount, for my son's unit, but TomTom don't list these on their website.

Does anyone have or know where to get this? On the back the model number is 4UCB3 and the description is "Active Car Mount 4KZ0.001.00

Any help or info appreciated
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
uk89camaro
Regular Visitor


Joined: Jul 04, 2005
Posts: 113

PostPosted: Mon Jul 01, 2013 5:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have you considered a Brodit mount. They do the same job, but mount specifically for your car.

Not cheap mind.
_________________
Tom Tom 1005 v2 World, Garmin Dakota 20, IPhone 4S
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
colin_thames
Regular Visitor


Joined: Mar 08, 2006
Posts: 67
Location: Surrey

PostPosted: Mon Jul 01, 2013 5:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have considered it, though as you say, not cheap. Plus, I'd rather it went on the windscreen. TomTom do an active mount that fits to the dashboard, presumably with a sticky pad though their website lacks detail.

The Brodit mounts are very good, though. I've used them previously.

If anyone knows where to get the active mount that fits on the windscreen I'd be most grateful.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
shires999
Lifetime Member


Joined: Nov 09, 2006
Posts: 95

PostPosted: Wed Jul 03, 2013 1:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just got a new 1005 from Halfords. As was said a bargain at 185 especially as they did a bundle deal with a TT carry case for an extra 5 !!
Anyway, they have now changed the mounts back to the ones where you plug it into the bottom.
Personally I woudl have preferred the active mount rather than the one supplied (I did ask in Halfords if they had a spare one). I already have a mini USB wire going around teh dashboard and I don't think the new cable will be long enough.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
colin_thames
Regular Visitor


Joined: Mar 08, 2006
Posts: 67
Location: Surrey

PostPosted: Wed Jul 03, 2013 1:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Bad luck. Frustrating that you have to rewire it. Wouldn't it be great if you could just plug your existing mini USB cable into the back of your new mount. That would be too easy. Why on earth can't TomTom just stick to the same mount, or at least keep the same style of cable connector.

There must be hundreds of those mounts somewhere, because TomTom withdrew the 1005 from sale with the active mount.

I've tried contacting TomTom to enquire about getting another active mount and I've had the stock response that they don't know when it will be in stock or on their website.

If you're keen to get one do drop them a line. Perhaps they'll realise that selling the active mount would be a good idea.

Otherwise the only option is the same mount with their proprietary cable plugging in at the bottom, or an active mount that sticks to your dashboard, though by all accounts it's a bit wobbly.

Or if you're feeling flush, the Brodit mount.

Hope you enjoy your Go Live 1005. I certainly am. Though within 1 week of buying it the TomTom itself told me there was a new map (cool feature) and it turned out to be a 3GB download! Took forever but went smoothly.
Cheers
Colin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
shires999
Lifetime Member


Joined: Nov 09, 2006
Posts: 95

PostPosted: Wed Jul 03, 2013 2:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks Colin
I may just go for the extra cable with a small USB extension lead. That'll be cheaper than a new mount.
I thought that there was soem industry agreemnt a few years back whereby all technology manufactuirers agreed on a standard socket (micro USB I think) but Apple didn't sign up to it so that there wasn't so many unwanted leads filling up landfill. Seems TT didn't either.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
matthewj
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Apr 03, 2006
Posts: 751

PostPosted: Wed Jul 03, 2013 3:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

shires999 wrote:
I thought that there was soem industry agreemnt a few years back whereby all technology manufactuirers agreed on a standard socket (micro USB I think) but Apple didn't sign up to it so that there wasn't so many unwanted leads filling up landfill. Seems TT didn't either.


It was for mobile phones, and Apple have fulfilled it with a small adapter. However, using both the new "lightning" connector and the various small USB connectors several times a day, I have to say Apple's is miles ahead in simple usability. It is a pity that it cannot be adopted by all.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Andy_P
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jun 04, 2005
Posts: 19991
Location: West and Southwest London

PostPosted: Thu Jul 04, 2013 3:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

TT *have* gone over to micro-usb for all their power sockets now.

Although the NAV4 models still have a multi-way connector to connect them to the windscreen mount, the mount itself has a micro USB and there is a second micro USB socket on the unit itself which you MUST use when connecting to the PC (either for data transfer or for charging.

An old multi-pin to USB cable from an earlier model will not work.
_________________
"Settling in nicely" ;-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
psyskiesman
Lifetime Member


Joined: Jun 22, 2004
Posts: 322
Location: Swindon, Wiltshire

PostPosted: Fri Jul 05, 2013 11:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Could this new mount be to enable the use of a TMC module when 2G services have worsened to the point where Live services are no longer available. Cynical? Me? Never................hmmmmmmm!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
colin_thames
Regular Visitor


Joined: Mar 08, 2006
Posts: 67
Location: Surrey

PostPosted: Fri Jul 05, 2013 12:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't think so. The new mount that came with the 1005 (briefly) didn't have a TMC aerial or a connection for one, just USB and sound out.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
psyskiesman
Lifetime Member


Joined: Jun 22, 2004
Posts: 322
Location: Swindon, Wiltshire

PostPosted: Fri Jul 05, 2013 12:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ah yes, but some of the older TMC modules had a mini usb socket on them so it was like a piggy-back arrangement; the power cable plugs into the TMC module and then the cable from the module plugs into the device. Seeing the way TomTom are going, i.e backwards, it could happen!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
colin_thames
Regular Visitor


Joined: Mar 08, 2006
Posts: 67
Location: Surrey

PostPosted: Tue Jul 09, 2013 4:09 pm    Post subject: Found the active mount! Reply with quote

At last I have discovered the active mount that fits the 1005 is actually from the TomTom 7100 Pro or Truck, and the 7150 and 9100. It looks identical to the live mount that was accidentally included with the Go 1005.

Although it's shown on their website ( http://business.tomtom.com/en_gb/products/pro-7150-truck/accessories/ ) it doesn't seem to be sold through TomTom but it is on Amazon starting at 35 here: http://www.amazon.co.uk/TomTom-Active-Dock-fixed-installation/dp/B0049O18QI/ref=sr_1_4?ie=UTF8&qid=1373376182&sr=8-4&keywords=Mount+for+tomtom+7100

I've just ordered one myself.

If you do go for one make sure it's the active mount, not the fixed cradle as that model is for a 4" unit and won't fit the 1005.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Andy_P
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jun 04, 2005
Posts: 19991
Location: West and Southwest London

PostPosted: Tue Jul 09, 2013 7:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Good work Colin. Page bookmarked!
_________________
"Settling in nicely" ;-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Portable Navigation Devices All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB 2.0.11 © 2001 phpBB Group
phpBB port v2.1 based on Tom Nitzschner's phpbb2.0.6 upgraded to phpBB 2.0.4 standalone was developed and tested by:
ArtificialIntel, ChatServ, mikem,
sixonetonoffun and Paul Laudanski (aka Zhen-Xjell).

Version 2.1 by Nuke Cops 2003 http://www.nukecops.com

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
19.114 (24 Nov 21)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping