Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
Read the current newsletter! Weekly
Newsletter
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - Avoid Medion - customer service non existent
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

Avoid Medion - customer service non existent

 
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Retailers to buy from or avoid
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
graham153
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Nov 10, 2011
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Thu Nov 10, 2011 2:09 pm    Post subject: Avoid Medion - customer service non existent Reply with quote

I have a Medion MDPNA 175 Sat Nav and although it's quite old, it generally suites needs.

As the maps I had installed on it were quite old, and I was going to be spending a few days travelling round in Europe this autumn I thought I'd purchase the map upgrade from Medion:

MEDION GoPal Full Version AE 3.0 EU
Full Version for navigation devices and Pocket PCs
including maps for Europe (as of Q4/2010)

After following the incredibly badly written documentation, I eventually managed to install the updated software and maps on my PNA 175 okay.

I then tried to install the GoPal Assistant software on my PC at home. It looked like it went through the installation process okay, but when I tried to look at the maps in the library, there was no data available and the software was saying 'no map data found'

To cut a long story short, I then tried installing the software on two seperate laptops, I tried a later version of the software downloaded from the internet, none of which worked. I think I must have spend 8 - 10 hours trying to install different version of the GoPal Assistant software on three different computers. In the end I gave up and contacted their Hotline support at £0.07 pm.

The first person I spoke to informed me that they knew nothing about SATNAV systems and would arrange for someone to call me back. They didn’t. I then phoned again and spoke to someone else, they again knew nothing about SATNAV systems and assured me that someone would call me back. Guess what, they didn’t.

A day later, I was call by one of Medion’s support personnel who had a reasonable understanding of their SATNAV products. I explained to him what I was trying to do and how I was attempting to do it. He was of the opinion that the software should perform as I was expecting it to, but he didn’t understand why it wasn’t doing so. He asked if it was possible for them to arrange to pick up the software in a couple of days so that they could do some tests. I informed him that I was leaving for Europe the next day so that wasn’t possible. I was asked if I could send the software back to them so that they could look at it whilst I was away and would update me as to their progress via email. As I live close to my local post office I agreed to send it back to them.
After I returned from my trip, I noticed that I didn’t have any emails from Medion about my issue so I contacted their support department again. The person I spoke to didn’t really know anything about my issue, SATNAVs or how the software did or didn’t perform. He passed me to their SATNAV ‘expert’ who informed me that they had tested the software I had sent them, it had installed perfectly correctly and that I must be installing it wrong (it’s an automated process so I don’t quite understand that one) and that it wouldn’t do what I was expecting it to do anyway. I was told that if I wanted to import the map data into GoPal Assistant then I would need to purchase another set of maps. I very quickly came to the conclusion that their ‘expert’ clearly didn’t have a clue as to what he was talking about and asked for his manager to call me back later that day, to which he didn’t.

The next day I was called by a Service Manager, I explained to him what I was trying to do with the software and he agreed with me that it should do what I was expecting it to do. So much for their SATNAV ‘expert’. The Service Manager explained that they were looking into my issue and would call me back the next day with a resolution.

Well, he didn’t call back the next day, but the day after. He informed me that had had been able to replicate the issues I was having, but didn’t know how to resolve them. They would have to take the matter up with their head office in Germany and get back to me with a resolution.

A week later I get a phone call from their Service Manager saying that they still don’t have a resolution, and he doesn’t have a time scale as to when he may have one. There may be one in a couple of days there may not be one, he doesn’t know. I tell him that I think it is totally unacceptable that they sell me a product that doesn’t work. I am then offered a refund for the software and the shipping cost. I then mention what about the cost of sending the software to their Swindon offices. He tells me that if I have the receipt for postage they will reimburse me that. I ask about the cost of the jiffy bag that I sent the software back in, he replied that they will NOT reimburse me that. I ask if they will reimburse me the cost of my telephone calls to their premium £0.07 pm phone calls because if their software hadn’t been faulty, I wouldn’t have had to call their support line. He said they wouldn’t reimburse me that either.

So to clarify, Medion have admitted that their software is faulty. They have admitted they do not have a resolution and they do not know when they may have a resolution. They refuse to reimburse the p&p costs that I incurred in sending the software back to them at their request. And they are refusing to reimburse me for their premium rate telephone charges for call I had to make because of their faulty Software.

I explained to their service Manager that I thought it was unreasonable for me to be financially out of pocket because of (they admit to it being) faulty software. I was told it was company policy NOT to reimburse customers any packaging costs (THEY asked me to send it back to them) or costs incurred by dialling their £0.07 pm phone lines, even if their product is at fault.

I told the Service Manager (who refused to give me his surname) that the only way I can see for me to get my out of pocket expenses back was to take Medion to the small claims court. To which his reply was, fine take us to court!

I do not understand as to why through NO fault of my own I should be out of pocket financially, especially as Medion has admitted their software is faulty. As such I have no alternative but on Monday 14/11/2011 I will be sending my ‘Letter before claim’ to Medion’s head office in the UK stating that I will be taking court action against them.

I have worked in customer services departments myself over the years, and have never heard or experienced anything like this before, especially when the company admits their goods are at fault.


Last edited by graham153 on Fri Nov 11, 2011 12:16 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
graham153
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Nov 10, 2011
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Fri Nov 11, 2011 11:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

UPDATE

Today I’ve received the faulty software back from Medion, with no correspondence at all just a complements slip.

By this action I can only assume that they are refusing to give me a refund for their software that they admit is faulty, and to pay my out of pocket expenses.

All I’m asking them for is £63.78, which is made up as follows:
£55.95 Cost incurred purchasing the faulty software.
£4.20 The approximate cost of me phoning their premium rate support line.
£3.63 Postage and packaging to send the faulty software back to them at their request.

I have never experienced anything like this before. Their customer service is nonexistent and now leaves me with only one course of action. As such I will be sending out the ‘Letter before claim’ today.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
graham153
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Nov 10, 2011
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Fri Nov 11, 2011 8:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

UPDATE

I emailed Medion through their web site asking if the address I had in Swindon (I quoted their full address) was their registered office as my ‘Letter before claim’ has to be sent to a company’s registered office.

The reply I got back was as follows:

Dear Customer

Thankyou for contacting us, concerning problems with your Medion product.

In order to proceed further with resolving this fault, we will need further details from you.

Can you please provide information requested using our web form.

We have changed our customer relationship management software, so cannot answer initial query’s via email.
Once we have the required information we can then assist you further in an efficient manner.

Thank you for your cooperation.

Kind Regards
Medion UK Serviceteam


I then replied to the email address that sent the above email stating that the email I’d already sent to them was through their web form(!!!!) and as they already had full documentation of my issues on their ‘customer relationship management software’, I was not prepared to go all through it all again.

I again asked them to confirm their registered office for my ‘Letter before claim’.

I haven’t had a reply from Medion via email or telephone ( I included my phone number at the bottom of my email in case they couldn’t find it in my customer information).

Medion’s level of customer support really does beggar belief....

I didn’t have time to write my ‘Letter before claim today as I had to shopping for my wife, but I’ll be able to write it over the weekend and send it off on Monday as I originally intended.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
graham153
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Nov 10, 2011
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Mon Nov 14, 2011 2:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

UPDATE

I've just sent off my 'Letter before claim' to Medion's office in Swindon giving them 28 days to respond.

If they fail to acknowledge and pay me my claim against them, then I will be taking court action against them.

I'll update here when I have an update.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Andy_P
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jun 04, 2005
Posts: 19991
Location: West and Southwest London

PostPosted: Mon Nov 14, 2011 9:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm slightly confused....

Surely the £55.95 charge is for the maps themselves, which you admit you have installed successfully?

The "GoPal Assistant software" sounds similar to TomTom's "Home" PC software, which is a free utility. Home works about as well as any free software, i.e. badly but you just work round it.
_________________
"Settling in nicely" ;-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
graham153
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Nov 10, 2011
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Tue Nov 15, 2011 1:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi

Yes, I’ve managed to install the GoPal navigation software onto my PNA 175 okay, and ‘some’ of the map data.

There are different versions of the GoPal Assistant and GoPal navigation software and map data depending on which PNA or PPC you have. My PNA 175 is only compatible with version 3.0. There are also versions 5.5 and 6.0 which I believe installs correctly and as far as I’m aware, there are no issues with either the navigation or Assistant software.

But there is a bug in version 3.0 of the software that does not allow the map data or other utilities to be installed onto a PC correctly. Medion have agreed that there is a bug but do not have a time scale for a resolution.

There is no easy way for either of us to export GPS tracks via GoPal Assistant to convert them into Google Earth KML files so we can track our journeys across Europe: As we drive and travel extensively across Europe, this feature was one of the reasons, all be it a very minor one, for updating the software and map data in the first place.

I don’t agree with GoPal Assistant being “free” software, even so I wouldn’t mind if it worked badly, version 3.0 doesn’t work at all!!! And Medion admit it doesn’t work.

What use is a TV when the remote control doesn’t work and the TV needs to be manually re-tuned every time you'd want to watch a different channel!!!!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
graham153
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Nov 10, 2011
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Tue Nov 15, 2011 2:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

One other thing I’ve just noticed, without GoPal Assistant I don’t think I have a way of backing up my PNA 175’s user data. So unless I keep the unit charged, I’m going to lose all my favourites etc.

I’ve had a look around the Flash Disk and SD Card and can’t see any files that are storing any user data.

So, does anyone have any ideas on how I can backup my data?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
graham153
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Nov 10, 2011
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Wed Nov 23, 2011 6:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I’ve had a letter from Medion today.

Dear Mr xxxxxxxxx

Thank you for taking the time to contact us in regards your navigation device and newly purchased map upgrade.

I can see from your account that you have spoken at length with our support team and a solution to the problem reported is still pending.

Although, it is not company policy to refund costs incurred, I will in your case make an exception and will provide you with a full refund of £63.78 as per your request in your correspondence dated 14th November.

Please find enclosed a pre paid returns envelope in order for you to send the upgrade disk back to us at no extra cost to yourself. Once we have received the upgrade disk and de-activation of the upgrade has been confirmed by GoPal, Medion will send out a cheque for value of £63.78.

If you require any further assistance then please do not hesitate to contact us.

Yours Sincerely

Medion Customer Service Supervisor


So, it looks like I’m going to get my refund after all.

I’m not sure about the “ ....de-activation of the upgrade has been confirmed by GoPal” as I’ve never been able to activate the software!!!!

I’m in two minds as to whether to advise Medion of the ‘Consequential Loss’ section of the Sale of Goods Act as this appears to conflict with their ‘company policy’:

Consequential Loss
When a buyer suffers loss as a direct consequence of a faulty product, the buyer may be able to claim damages. In extreme cases, buyers might suffer injury or damage to other property which is directly attributable to the faulty product, and these losses might be recoverable as consequential losses. In less serious situations, the buyer might find that he incurs extra expense as a direct result of buying faulty goods. Claims for consequential loss do not normally cover distress, inconvenience or disappointment.

In claiming any consequential costs the buyer would be expected to have acted reasonably with regard to how they were accrued e.g. approaching the retailer for a solution immediately rather than first incurring expenditure hiring alternative equipment from elsewhere.

Example:
A specialist outdoor tank might be purchased to recycle spent water to help the environment and reduce metered water charges. If it began leaking or stopped working in some other way (because of a fault present at the time of sale), the higher water
charges levied thereafter until repair could be claimed. Also, any phone costs involved in trying to fix the problem, e.g. via technical lines provided, could be claimed
.


I managed to find out the email address of Medion’s Managing Director Nick Shenton, [email protected] who I was going to email prior to commencing court action.

Any other news and I’ll post it here.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
graham153
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Nov 10, 2011
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Mon Dec 12, 2011 12:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

As it’s 28 days since I sent my Pre-Action Conduct letter to Medion and haven’t received the check that they said they were going to send me, I emailed their MD ([email protected]) this morning saying that I was commencing Court Action to recover my Consequential Losses.

An hour later I received this from their Call Center Manager:

Dear Mr xxxxxxx,

I have been forwarded your email from our MD, I can see from your account that the cheque for the refund was dispatched on Tuesday 6 December. I can only assume as you have not received the cheque and that it has been lost during transit.

I have arranged for this cheque to be cancelled and a replacement cheque for your refund will be leaving us today via Royal Mail recorded delivery this time.

I apologise for any inconvenience this may have occurred.

Kind Regards,

xxxxxxxxxxxxxx


Pity Mr Shenton couldn’t find it within himself to reply to my email himself, but at least it looks like I might receive my cheque soon.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
graham153
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Nov 10, 2011
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Thu Dec 22, 2011 4:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, I’ve finally received my cheque from Medion. It’s a pity that it took over six weeks, several phone calls and letters, the threat of court action, and an email to their MD, just to get back what I am LEGALLY entitled to.

Needless to say I will never be buying anything from Medion ever again. Their Customer Service is by far the worst I have ever experienced over the last 30+ years. I can only assume that in this current economic climate they are experiencing record sales figures that allows them to stick two finger up to the consumer, even when they know and admit that their product is faulty.

Graham
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DennisN
Tired Old Man
Tired Old Man


Joined: Feb 27, 2006
Posts: 14869
Location: Keynsham

PostPosted: Thu Dec 22, 2011 6:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmm, in conclusion now that it seems your monologue is ended, I have to say I can only imagine you have not noticed this Forum rule....
Quote:
10. Retailers to buy from or avoid forum

In response to the rising number of posts from new users in praise of or complaining about retailers we have decided to implement a new rule. Users with less than 10 posts are now forbidden from posting in the Retailers to buy from or avoid forum. This requirement is intended to improve the confidence in such posts. Any posters ignoring this requirement will have their posts deleted.


The thread is now locked.
_________________
Dennis

If it tastes good - it's fattening.

Two of them are obesiting!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Retailers to buy from or avoid All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB 2.0.11 © 2001 phpBB Group
phpBB port v2.1 based on Tom Nitzschner's phpbb2.0.6 upgraded to phpBB 2.0.4 standalone was developed and tested by:
ArtificialIntel, ChatServ, mikem,
sixonetonoffun and Paul Laudanski (aka Zhen-Xjell).

Version 2.1 by Nuke Cops © 2003 http://www.nukecops.com

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
20.053 (18 May 22)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







© Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping