Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - satellite navigation
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

satellite navigation

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Navigon Portable Navigation Devices
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Riverbraid
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jun 05, 2011
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sun Jun 05, 2011 10:07 pm    Post subject: satellite navigation Reply with quote

Hi everybody just want to ask an few questions about a satellite navigation system I bought.
I bought a Navigon 20 Easy UK sat nav for 64.90 but when I use it to input post code to find directions.
See here in Northern Ireland our post code is something like this BT41 8TP it has 7 characters but to input this into the sat nav it only takes the first 5 characters like BT41 8 is this the normal way it works or if I buy an more costly sat nav would it take the full post code like BT41 8TP
I'm new to this sorry just want to find out.
Thanks,
Harold
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dhn
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Oct 08, 2007
Posts: 2544
Location: Toronto CANADA

PostPosted: Sun Jun 05, 2011 10:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Harold, you've posted in the TomTom forum. Think you'll get better responses if you post in the Navigon section.
_________________
David
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
M8TJT
The Other Tired Old Man
The Other Tired Old Man


Joined: Apr 04, 2006
Posts: 10118
Location: Bexhill, South Sussex, UK

PostPosted: Sun Jun 05, 2011 10:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

@Riverbraid.
I'm sure a mod will be along in a bit and move it for you. Double posting is never a good idea Sad and against the forum rules
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Andy_P
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jun 04, 2005
Posts: 19991
Location: West and Southwest London

PostPosted: Sun Jun 05, 2011 10:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'll move it to the Navigon section for you......

I don't know much about Navigons at all, but I do know that on a TomTom the "full" postcodes are stored in a different way to the "half postcodes".

The "half" codes seem to be embedded in the main map software and the "full" ones have to be accessed from a downloadable data file.
If that file is missing for whatever reason, you get the symptoms you describe.

Could well be the same on Navigons.....
_________________
"Settling in nicely" ;-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BigPerk
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Sep 06, 2006
Posts: 1618
Location: East Hertfordshire

PostPosted: Sat Jun 11, 2011 5:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do you mean that it won't LET you put more than 5 characters in, or that you can put 7 in but it only shows 5 when you check afterwards? If you CAN input the whole postal code, check the destination on the map to see whether it indicates the street you want.

If you can't put in more than the first 5 though, I guess that is a limitation on your '20' - you would probably need a more up-market model if it's really vital to you.
_________________
David
(Navigon 70 Live, Nuvi 360)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Border_Collie
Pocket GPS Verifier
Pocket GPS Verifier


Joined: Feb 01, 2006
Posts: 2543
Location: Rainham, Kent. England.

PostPosted: Sun Jun 12, 2011 3:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Some need a space BT41 8TP some don't BT418TP, have you tried both ways?
_________________
Formerly known as Lost_Property
And NO that's NOT me in the Avatar.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Riverbraid
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jun 05, 2011
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sun Jun 12, 2011 3:29 pm    Post subject: satellite navigation Reply with quote

Border_Collie wrote:
Some need a space BT41 8TP some don't BT418TP, have you tried both ways?


When I input the BT41 it leaves a space then I input 8 and it not allow me to input anymore is why am wondering why it does not take rest thanks for thoughts
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Navigon Portable Navigation Devices All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
21.054 (24 May 23)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping