Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - Best Value TomTom vs Garmin
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

Best Value TomTom vs Garmin
Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Beginners GPS Lounge
View previous topic :: View next topic  
mrnemo
Occasional Visitor

PostPosted: Tue May 31, 2011 5:33 pm    Post subject: Best Value TomTom vs Garmin Reply with quote

It is time for a new Sat Nav and am wondering what would be best for me. I am not a professional driver and only make a few long journeys a year when I found my old Sat Nav invaluable although its lack of many features. For local trips where I know the roads and where I am going I don’t bother. I did rent a car in Jersey last year and may drive in Europe sometime in the future.

Things such as full postcode entry, lane guidance and traffic alerts would be very useful. Been able to check the route the Sat Nav chooses and alter it would also be useful. Choosing the most economical route for petrol could be a massive cost saver as petrol prices over time can only go in one direction. Not so worried about speed cameras but been given a warning would be nice.

I am looking at the Garmin vs TomTom systems.

More Garmin models seem to offer European maps as standard. Some models such as the Garmin Nuvi 1490 comes with a premium lifetime traffic subscription for the UK and other European countries plus traffic receiver. But is it any good? You can also get life time maps from Amazon for around £60 which if you were keeping it 4-5 years could be seen as reasonable.

The TomTom IQ system seems powerful but how much does it cost a year? Maps at around £20 a year mean that it is equivalent to keeping the Garmin system for just three years.