Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
MacFixer, the iPhone, iPod, and iPad specialists
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - CamerAlert & Google Nav?
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

CamerAlert & Google Nav?
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> CamerAlert on Android
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
RedFive1
Lifetime Member


Joined: Nov 13, 2006
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Mon Feb 07, 2011 5:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Darren wrote:

Simply not possible, we cannot integrate with another app in that way. But as MaFt has said, you will get a red banner pop-up showing camera details together with the audio alert even if CamerAlert is running in the background.

I have tried several times to use CamerAlert in conjunction with Google Navigation, and it never seems to work properly. Any audio prompts that come through are usually disjointed & late, and I never get any pop ups at all.
On its own it is a fantastic app though. Well done guys.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Darren
Pocket GPS Staff
Pocket GPS Staff


Joined: 11/07/2002 14:36:40
Posts: 23848
Location: Hampshire, UK

PostPosted: Mon Feb 07, 2011 5:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This would have been better in a new thread as I've asked so I'll move it.

Others are using with Google Navigation successfully, perhaps your device isn't up to the job, which phone is it?
_________________
Darren Griffin - Editor
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
tonywheeler
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Feb 16, 2007
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Tue Feb 08, 2011 1:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

RedFive1 wrote:
I have tried several times to use CamerAlert in conjunction with Google Navigation, and it never seems to work properly. Any audio prompts that come through are usually disjointed & late, and I never get any pop ups at all.
On its own it is a fantastic app though. Well done guys.

For what it's worth the pop-ups work very well for me Smile . I have used it with many apps and that includes Google Nav and CoPilot too - no issues here at all.
_________________
Tony
HTC Sensation
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hellybob
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Feb 17, 2006
Posts: 56

PostPosted: Wed Feb 09, 2011 10:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mine tends to work Ok and it's a lowly Hero. However it is getting a few forced closes when I run CamerAlert and Navigator and I just about to get a HTC Desire if it stops that. Would people thing it would? I am assuming the higher spec will sort me out.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Darren
Pocket GPS Staff
Pocket GPS Staff


Joined: 11/07/2002 14:36:40
Posts: 23848
Location: Hampshire, UK

PostPosted: Wed Feb 09, 2011 10:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't know the detailed specs of Hero compared to Desire but almost certainly your issues are resource related and the Hero is getting long in the tooth and struggles with heavy tasks.

So yes, the Desire should be much better in this respect.
_________________
Darren Griffin - Editor
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
MaFt
Pocket GPS Staff
Pocket GPS Staff


Joined: Aug 31, 2005
Posts: 14843
Location: Bradford, West Yorkshire

PostPosted: Thu Feb 10, 2011 1:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hellybob wrote:
Mine tends to work Ok and it's a lowly Hero. However it is getting a few forced closes when I run CamerAlert and Navigator and I just about to get a HTC Desire if it stops that. Would people thing it would? I am assuming the higher spec will sort me out.


what ROM are you using? I'm using the latest FroydVillain (from http://villainrom.co.uk) and don't have any force close issues. admittedly it is not used as a real phone so there maybe other apps you have running etc that could be eating memory.

MaFt
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
hellybob
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Feb 17, 2006
Posts: 56

PostPosted: Thu Feb 10, 2011 9:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I was using FloydVillian 1.7.2 and my phone didn't like it at all. I have just put on Floyo and it flies except sat nav. Having said that I heard Latitude can upset it so I turned it off and all was good on my journey this morning.

Time will tell.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hellybob
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Feb 17, 2006
Posts: 56

PostPosted: Thu Feb 10, 2011 9:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Meant FroydVillian.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Allenmere
Lifetime Member


Joined: Jun 05, 2006
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Tue May 24, 2011 5:53 pm    Post subject: CAMERALERT CLOSING WHEN GOOGLE NAVIGATION IS USED Reply with quote

I am having problems when using Cameralert and Google Navigation on my Dell Streak. If Navigation is the front end and Cameralert running in the background, Cameralert frequently closes by itself and I have to restart it. I know it has closed because warnings stop altogether and the top left icon disappears. If I run Cameralert on its own - no problem!!!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lbendlin
Pocket GPS Staff
Pocket GPS Staff


Joined: 02/11/2002 22:41:59
Posts: 11878
Location: Massachusetts, USA

PostPosted: Tue May 24, 2011 6:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

would you mind enabling diagnostics mode and monitor the memory usage for a little while? Maybe the Streak is a bit short on RAM?
_________________
Lutz

Report Map Errors here:
TomTom/TeleAtlas NAVTEQ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
timbouk
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Dec 26, 2005
Posts: 39
Location: Bradford, UK

PostPosted: Wed May 25, 2011 5:11 pm    Post subject: Re: CAMERALERT CLOSING WHEN GOOGLE NAVIGATION IS USED Reply with quote

Allenmere wrote:
I am having problems when using Cameralert and Google Navigation on my Dell Streak. If Navigation is the front end and Cameralert running in the background, Cameralert frequently closes by itself and I have to restart it. I know it has closed because warnings stop altogether and the top left icon disappears. If I run Cameralert on its own - no problem!!!!


Lutz, I have had the same issues, BUT this is on a Nexus S with plently of CPU and RAM.

Allenmere, what Android version does the Streak run? eg 2.3.3 etc? (Menu, settings, about phone)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Allenmere
Lifetime Member


Joined: Jun 05, 2006
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Wed May 25, 2011 5:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have been monitoring my RAM - never drops below 140MB

Android ver 2.2.2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lbendlin
Pocket GPS Staff
Pocket GPS Staff


Joined: 02/11/2002 22:41:59
Posts: 11878
Location: Massachusetts, USA

PostPosted: Wed May 25, 2011 8:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

140 MB?!? Is that what is shown in CamerAlert? We should never consume more than 25 MB...

I'll do some test specific to Google Navigation. For now I am hesitant to force restart CamerAlert when it has been killed by the system - after all one should assume the system had a reason to do that in the first place.
_________________
Lutz

Report Map Errors here:
TomTom/TeleAtlas NAVTEQ
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Allenmere
Lifetime Member


Joined: Jun 05, 2006
Posts: 24

PostPosted: Thu May 26, 2011 5:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That refers to available RAM - not RAM used by Cameralert
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
timbouk
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Dec 26, 2005
Posts: 39
Location: Bradford, UK

PostPosted: Thu May 26, 2011 6:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

lbendlin wrote:
140 MB?!? Is that what is shown in CamerAlert? We should never consume more than 25 MB...

I'll do some test specific to Google Navigation. For now I am hesitant to force restart CamerAlert when it has been killed by the system - after all one should assume the system had a reason to do that in the first place.



As a pointer I'm pretty sure that it only happens after over 1/2hour of CamerAlert in background of Google Navigation. Never noticed it fail on short trips
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> CamerAlert on Android All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
Page 1 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB 2.0.11 © 2001 phpBB Group
phpBB port v2.1 based on Tom Nitzschner's phpbb2.0.6 upgraded to phpBB 2.0.4 standalone was developed and tested by:
ArtificialIntel, ChatServ, mikem,
sixonetonoffun and Paul Laudanski (aka Zhen-Xjell).

Version 2.1 by Nuke Cops 2003 http://www.nukecops.com

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
20.115 (30 Nov 22)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping