Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
Read the current newsletter! Weekly
Newsletter
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - Firmware upgrade fro Xtrac v2???
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

Firmware upgrade fro Xtrac v2???
Goto page 1, 2, 3 ... 10, 11, 12  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> GPS Receivers
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Mark_anderson_us
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Feb 03, 2004
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Mon May 31, 2004 1:40 pm    Post subject: Firmware upgrade fro Xtrac v2??? Reply with quote

Hi All

There was news about a month ago about Xtrac v2 for the Fiortuna that solves the delay problems. Anyone know if the original Fortuna's can be upgraded? if not, which models have the Xtrac v2 inside?

TIA

mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DavidW
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: 17/05/2003 02:26:21
Posts: 3747
Location: Bedfordshire, UK

PostPosted: Mon May 31, 2004 4:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The indications in the forums more recently is that the new Fortuna with the later version of the Xtrac firmware (supposedly called the Slimline) will not be available until October.

It's unlikely that a firmware upgrade will be made available for existing units - it's very unusual to find user upgrades made available for any SiRF based GPSes, though not unknown (Fortuna have done it for the GPSmart, but I don't know whether that upgrade changed the SiRF firmware or just the other device firmware).

To load firmware into a Clip On may well require you to open the device and use some kind of service cable, which is really not an end-user operation. I'd be a little surprised if an operation as critical as loading firmware was done over Bluetooth.


You can hang on for ever - towards the end of the year, I expect we'll begin to see SiRFstar III based GPSes emerging, though I'm unclear exactly when that chipset is due to ship from SiRF.



David
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Mark_anderson_us
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Feb 03, 2004
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Mon May 31, 2004 4:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Dave

Thanks for reply

I have no problems "trading-up", just thought I'd ask. Let's wait and see what occurs in Oct

Regards

mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mark_anderson_us
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Feb 03, 2004
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Tue Jun 01, 2004 6:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

FYi


Dear Mark:
Thank you for you purchase Clip on.
Soon, we will release Clip on with Xtrac V2 upgrade software. When this upgrade software is ready, we will post it on our website.
Then, our new product also will use Xtrac V2.

Best Regards,
Sylvia Wang
Fortuna Electronic Corp.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jlw
Frequent Visitor


Joined: May 10, 2004
Posts: 402
Location: South Sweden

PostPosted: Tue Jun 01, 2004 1:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mark_anderson_us wrote:
FYi


Dear Mark:
Thank you for you purchase Clip on.
Soon, we will release Clip on with Xtrac V2 upgrade software. When this upgrade software is ready, we will post it on our website.
Then, our new product also will use Xtrac V2.

Best Regards,
Sylvia Wang
Fortuna Electronic Corp.


You mean is possible to upgrade an old fortuna clip-on to the new that uses Xtract v2? If thats the case its a great news. And I will order one right away. Smile

Regards!
/ Johan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mark_anderson_us
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Feb 03, 2004
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Tue Jun 01, 2004 1:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That's what they seem to infer

maybe you could confirm directly with Sylvia: [email protected]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jlw
Frequent Visitor


Joined: May 10, 2004
Posts: 402
Location: South Sweden

PostPosted: Sat Jun 05, 2004 12:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mark_anderson_us wrote:
That's what they seem to infer

maybe you could confirm directly with Sylvia: [email protected]


I send them a mail. Its true Smile The update will be abailible via blutooth. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DavidW
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: 17/05/2003 02:26:21
Posts: 3747
Location: Bedfordshire, UK

PostPosted: Sun Jun 06, 2004 3:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If they're able to issue such an update and it works reliably (without trashing any units), I'm sure that'll be a huge bonus for people, and it's very good news for owners of what is, in my opinion, a deservedly popular GPS.



David
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
UHF
Regular Visitor


Joined: Mar 27, 2004
Posts: 78
Location: Vandenberg AFB, Ca, USA

PostPosted: Mon Jun 07, 2004 6:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This upgrade would be great if it happens. I knew there was a reason I paid more for the clipon, possibly better service. If they allow me to upgrade, they will have my future business also.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
nightfly85
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jun 27, 2004
Posts: 17
Location: Riverside, CA USA

PostPosted: Sun Jun 27, 2004 5:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

http://www.fortuna.com.tw/Support.htm

They now have the software to update the firmware (and backup) the Fortuna Clip-on.

Just waiting on the firmware.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jlw
Frequent Visitor


Joined: May 10, 2004
Posts: 402
Location: South Sweden

PostPosted: Sun Jun 27, 2004 5:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

nightfly85 wrote:
http://www.fortuna.com.tw/Support.htm

They now have the software to update the firmware (and backup) the Fortuna Clip-on.

Just waiting on the firmware.



you mean fortuna sync?
_________________
Ipaq 2210 (rom 1.10)
Fortuna Clip-On
CF: Kingston Elite Pro 512 MB
CF: Lexar 256 MB
Poporta Alu-Case
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nightfly85
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jun 27, 2004
Posts: 17
Location: Riverside, CA USA

PostPosted: Mon Jun 28, 2004 12:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

yes, fortunasync. I can get it to link to the my belkin/fortuna unit. Just need to firmware to update it with.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
francesco
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jun 28, 2004
Posts: 8
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Mon Jun 28, 2004 11:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Guys, I'am new entry of this forum and I'am writing from Italy :D

Well, I'am very interested about this argument, specialy about the possibility to upgrade at home fortuna clip-on with hold FW.

So, I have written to fortuna to have more information and this is the answer:
"Dear Francesco:
Nice to receive your mail.
Basically, we ship out Clip on with Xtrac 2.0 already.
If customer have old fireware already, we will provide upgrade software and instruction soon. It will be ready in next week for we are testing to make sure everything is no problem. When this software is ready, we will put this on our website."

That is my little contribution....
...Cya Thumbs Up
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Choc
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jun 18, 2004
Posts: 21

PostPosted: Mon Jun 28, 2004 3:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The firmware might be ready next week Smile

"Dear Rob:
Thank you for you purchase Clip on.
Yes, we will provide Xtrac 2.0 upgrade software soon probably in next week. We are testing right now to make sure everything is no problem.
When this is ready, we will put it on our website.

BR
Sylvia Wang"

Rob
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nightfly85
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jun 27, 2004
Posts: 17
Location: Riverside, CA USA

PostPosted: Mon Jun 28, 2004 4:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Hi All

There was news about a month ago about Xtrac v2 for the Fiortuna that solves the delay problems. Anyone know if the original Fortuna's can be upgraded? if not, which models have the Xtrac v2 inside?

TIA

mark


I got the same email, so things are looking good.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> GPS Receivers All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page 1, 2, 3 ... 10, 11, 12  Next
Page 1 of 12

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB 2.0.11 © 2001 phpBB Group
phpBB port v2.1 based on Tom Nitzschner's phpbb2.0.6 upgraded to phpBB 2.0.4 standalone was developed and tested by:
ArtificialIntel, ChatServ, mikem,
sixonetonoffun and Paul Laudanski (aka Zhen-Xjell).

Version 2.1 by Nuke Cops 2003 http://www.nukecops.com

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
20.053 (18 May 22)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping