Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
Read the current newsletter! Weekly
Newsletter
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - Go750 won't navigate again!
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

Go750 won't navigate again!

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Portable Navigation Devices
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Ginger
Lifetime Member


Joined: 02/07/2003 18:39:46
Posts: 38
Location: Warrington UK

PostPosted: Mon Sep 13, 2010 6:08 pm    Post subject: Go750 won't navigate again! Reply with quote

My Go750 won't navigate using town and street. Every time I try, the unit locks up and reboots. It will navigate using postcodes. Its also lately started locking up and re-booting occasionaly after planning a postcode route. It also loses voice instructions and has to be reset to get them back.
I thought maybe that the unit thinks it is in the back of beyond again( had a similar problem before and was corrected through home) so I connected to home to try to plan a route through home. However if I click "operate my go" I get an error message from home saying "TT home runtime has encountered an problem and needs to close"
I have re-installed TT home and reset the unit numerous times.
Anybody offer any suggestions?

The app is 9.054.531676.1
The map is 855.2885
Thanks Alan


Last edited by Ginger on Mon Sep 13, 2010 6:15 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dhn
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Oct 08, 2007
Posts: 2543
Location: Toronto CANADA

PostPosted: Mon Sep 13, 2010 6:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You do have UK selected as the country, right?

(Navigate to--address--(you do see UK selected?) )
_________________
David
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ginger
Lifetime Member


Joined: 02/07/2003 18:39:46
Posts: 38
Location: Warrington UK

PostPosted: Mon Sep 13, 2010 6:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes UK is selected in postcodes.
_________________
Alan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Andy_P
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jun 04, 2005
Posts: 19991
Location: West and Southwest London

PostPosted: Mon Sep 13, 2010 6:54 pm    Post subject: Re: Go750 won't navigate again! Reply with quote

Ginger wrote:

I have re-installed TT home and reset the unit numerous times.


Have you tried re-installing the software?

The quickest and easiest way is to connect the Go to your PC (shut down Home if it insists on starting up), run Windows Explorer and browse to the Go's internal memory (it will appear as a new drive).

If you haven't already done so, COPY everything you see there and PASTE it to a new folder somewhere safe on your PC, in order to create a full backup.

Next, DELETE all the files that are NOT in folders (yellow icon), do NOT delete any of the folders.

Now run Home, and it will offer to re-install the latest software.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ginger
Lifetime Member


Joined: 02/07/2003 18:39:46
Posts: 38
Location: Warrington UK

PostPosted: Mon Sep 13, 2010 7:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks Andy i'll try that shortly.
_________________
Alan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ginger
Lifetime Member


Joined: 02/07/2003 18:39:46
Posts: 38
Location: Warrington UK

PostPosted: Mon Sep 13, 2010 10:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well i'm getting really hacked off with this now.
Have done as Andy P suggested and everything is exactly as it was. I still can't navigated by address and I still can't operate my device through home. I've had more trouble with this device in 5 months than I did in 10 years using TT on a PDA.
When it works, it works very well but up to now has proven to be very unreliable.
I don't know what to try next so all assistance and suggestions welcome and thank you in advance.
_________________
Alan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ginger
Lifetime Member


Joined: 02/07/2003 18:39:46
Posts: 38
Location: Warrington UK

PostPosted: Tue Sep 14, 2010 9:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, got my 750 going again, seems that when I followed Andy's advice the files were corrupted on download by an unstable USB hub. I re-installed some files from backup and then followed Andy's advice and all is working as it should.
I don't need to use it now, but I still can't use home; it still errors.
Thanks again.
_________________
Alan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Portable Navigation Devices All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB 2.0.11 © 2001 phpBB Group
phpBB port v2.1 based on Tom Nitzschner's phpbb2.0.6 upgraded to phpBB 2.0.4 standalone was developed and tested by:
ArtificialIntel, ChatServ, mikem,
sixonetonoffun and Paul Laudanski (aka Zhen-Xjell).

Version 2.1 by Nuke Cops 2003 http://www.nukecops.com

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
20.101 (05 Oct 22)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping