Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
Read the current newsletter! Weekly
Newsletter
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - Any way to switch TMC providers?
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

Any way to switch TMC providers?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Traffic Message Channel (TMC)
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Horatio
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Aug 10, 2006
Posts: 35

PostPosted: Sat Sep 04, 2010 1:39 pm    Post subject: Any way to switch TMC providers? Reply with quote

I think I already know the answer to this one, but I'm asking on the offchance.

I've just had a letter from TrafficMaster, telling me that my trusty YQ2 will be obsolete as of March next year. I have become so reliant on the thing that I even end up jerry-rigging the 240v base (though an inverter) onto the dashboard whenever I have a hire car. On the few occasions that I've forgotten to renew the key in time, I really haven't enjoyed the few days without it.

TomTom's TMC is all well and good, but where the two disagree (and they often do) the YQ is the one that I trust. What I'd really like to do is have the TrafficMaster data integrated into my Carminat TomTom system, but I understand that TomTom use the iTMC service instead.

First of all, is this correct, or am I just better at interpreting the TrafficMaster data than TomTom is? Secondly, is there any way I can pay for a TrafficMaster TMC subscription and tell TomTom to connect to that instead? I'm used to paying 110 per year for the YQ2 key, so I wouldn't baulk at paying a similar amount to have TrafficMaster data integrated into my sat-nav.

Or do I just have to go out, buy a Garmin, and use that in spite of having a built-in TomTom?

I do believe that they now have a YQ style smartphone app, but I read that it wasn't particularly easy to use while driving.
_________________
TomTom GO700
Renault Carminat TomTom
TrafficMaster YQ2 (now forcibly retired, and sadly missed.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mikealder
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jan 14, 2005
Posts: 19638
Location: Blackpool , Lancs

PostPosted: Sat Sep 04, 2010 1:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Its not possible to swap the traffic over to a different data supplier, it simply won't work - Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
Horatio
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Aug 10, 2006
Posts: 35

PostPosted: Mon Sep 06, 2010 7:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

mikealder wrote:
Its not possible to swap the traffic over to a different data supplier, it simply won't work - Mike

Thanks, Mike. That was pretty much the answer I was expecting to be honest. I was just hoping that somebody knew something that I didn't.

Perhaps I'll ask TomTom about it. You never know, they might just offer it as an option if they think there's a market for it.
_________________
TomTom GO700
Renault Carminat TomTom
TrafficMaster YQ2 (now forcibly retired, and sadly missed.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
philce
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Mar 02, 2005
Posts: 29

PostPosted: Fri Nov 19, 2010 3:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Horatio wrote:
mikealder wrote:
Its not possible to swap the traffic over to a different data supplier, it simply won't work - Mike

Thanks, Mike. That was pretty much the answer I was expecting to be honest. I was just hoping that somebody knew something that I didn't.

Perhaps I'll ask TomTom about it. You never know, they might just offer it as an option if they think there's a market for it.


I have a YQ (yes the original!) and a Garmin C550. I didnt know about the phase out of the YQ units, but using the Vodafone packnet network is I suppose now old hat! I still cant believe my unit is working still after all this time!

I always used the YQ data as the final say on any holdups, it is so much more reliabe than the TMC offerings and I will miss it. Shame.

My Garmin has both Trafficmaster and ITTS enabled as TMC providers. To be brutally honest they are both as bad as each other out of date info and poor reception.

I haven't tried any of the connected offerings because I always used the YQ, I suppose I will have to look! I suppose the 120 PA can go towards that now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Traffic Message Channel (TMC) All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB 2.0.11 © 2001 phpBB Group
phpBB port v2.1 based on Tom Nitzschner's phpbb2.0.6 upgraded to phpBB 2.0.4 standalone was developed and tested by:
ArtificialIntel, ChatServ, mikem,
sixonetonoffun and Paul Laudanski (aka Zhen-Xjell).

Version 2.1 by Nuke Cops 2003 http://www.nukecops.com

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
19.121 (01 Dec 21)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping