Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
Read the current newsletter! Weekly
Newsletter
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - TT XXL IQ Routes
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

TT XXL IQ Routes

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Portable Navigation Devices
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Alskitoo
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Aug 07, 2006
Posts: 4
Location: Surrey

PostPosted: Mon Mar 15, 2010 5:31 pm    Post subject: TT XXL IQ Routes Reply with quote

I have recently upgraded from my MIO running tomtom to the XXL, which generally I am very pleased with.

Had the usual problems updating maps etc with not enough memory, but by removing every last bit of unwanted voices, zip codes etc I have finally been able to do the updates. Why don't they install enough memory to cope with the updating without all this fiddling about!!

Finally my question - whenever I connect the XXL to the computer home starts up as expected but then a startup screen to install home also starts which I click to cancel. I assume this is to install it if you haven't already got it.

Is there any way I can stop this happening?

Thanks

Alan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mikealder
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jan 14, 2005
Posts: 19638
Location: Blackpool , Lancs

PostPosted: Mon Mar 15, 2010 6:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Alan, Welcome to the forum, connect you your device to the PC and use Windows Explorer to view the files and folders on the device, when you first open the drive letter associated with the TomTom you are at where we often refer to as the "Root" of the device, locate the file "InstallTomTomHome.exe" and delete it from the device, you won't get the annoying message again - Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
Alskitoo
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Aug 07, 2006
Posts: 4
Location: Surrey

PostPosted: Tue Mar 16, 2010 3:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Mike

Thanks for your reply. I have done this and now get F:\ application not found when connecting.

Have I done something wrong?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PaulB2005
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jan 04, 2006
Posts: 9323
Location: Durham, UK

PostPosted: Tue Mar 16, 2010 4:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

When you first connected the TT did Windows ask you what you wanted to do when the TT was connected to the PC?

Did you say to install TT Home? If so, it'll try to do it everytime now..

What version of Windows do you have?

Also do you have the latest version of TT Home installed? Check in TT Home under Help, Check for Home Update.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GerryC
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Mar 01, 2005
Posts: 1513
Location: West Mids

PostPosted: Tue Mar 16, 2010 4:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

In the same 'root' folder of your TomTom there is a file called autorun.inf. Open this with Notepad and add a # character in front of the 'action' and 'open' lines. When saving, make sure that the file type is shows as "all files" to stop it putting a .txt extension on it.

This will stop it looking for the install file that you deleted but, if you have installed Home, it should not be asking. Confused
_________________
Gerry
TomTom730T
Cameralert for Android
Brodit ProClip mount
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Alskitoo
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Aug 07, 2006
Posts: 4
Location: Surrey

PostPosted: Tue Mar 16, 2010 4:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Paul

I already had Home installed so I cancelled the prompted installation when I first connected.

I am running Vista Home Premium and latest home version.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PaulB2005
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jan 04, 2006
Posts: 9323
Location: Durham, UK

PostPosted: Tue Mar 16, 2010 5:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
In the same 'root' folder of your TomTom there is a file called autorun.inf. Open this with Notepad and add a # character in front of the 'action' and 'open' lines.


I was going to suggest this but my Autorun.inf doesn't have these lines.

Alskitoo - You can force the Autorun to stop by holding the SHIFT Key down when attaching the device to the PC however you have to do this each time.

Do you have the TT Dock connected to the PC all the time? If so, try a new USB port and plug in. Hopefully Windows will see it as a new device and ask what you want to do. If you can select No Action and tick the box to say do this each time...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Alskitoo
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Aug 07, 2006
Posts: 4
Location: Surrey

PostPosted: Tue Mar 16, 2010 5:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks Gerry that seems to have done it.

Alan
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dhn
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Oct 08, 2007
Posts: 2542
Location: Toronto CANADA

PostPosted: Tue Mar 16, 2010 5:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Another suggestion....in Home's Preferences.

There are checkboxes to: 1) Start Home when the computer starts and 2) Start Home when the unit is connected.

UNCHECK both. Then when you do connect to the computer, start Home via a desktop shortcut

(This suggestion is somewhat similar to a previous one, not quite the same).

Also, every update to Home stupidly reverts by default to Home starting when the computer starts! Mad
_________________
David
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PaulB2005
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jan 04, 2006
Posts: 9323
Location: Durham, UK

PostPosted: Tue Mar 16, 2010 5:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The problem wasn't Home starting but Home attempting to install on every connection with the PC.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Portable Navigation Devices All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB 2.0.11 © 2001 phpBB Group
phpBB port v2.1 based on Tom Nitzschner's phpbb2.0.6 upgraded to phpBB 2.0.4 standalone was developed and tested by:
ArtificialIntel, ChatServ, mikem,
sixonetonoffun and Paul Laudanski (aka Zhen-Xjell).

Version 2.1 by Nuke Cops 2003 http://www.nukecops.com

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
19.103 (20 Oct 21)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping