Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
Read the current newsletter! Weekly
Newsletter
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - Satmap Active10 - Firmware version 1.400 Now available
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

Satmap Active10 - Firmware version 1.400 Now available
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Satmap Active 10
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
lucevans
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Mar 21, 2007
Posts: 261
Location: Cambridgeshire, UK

PostPosted: Thu Nov 26, 2009 10:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Not to muddy the waters, but I can confirm that the Platform Software Update SD Card does NOT work for older units with serial numbers in the range ACT10UK0700001 - ACT10UK0701975. I've just tried it (unit serial no. ACT10UK0700407) , and the Active 10 doesn't see the contents of the card at all. So it's back to Satmap for a new motherboard. Sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bluewomble
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jan 02, 2008
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Fri Nov 27, 2009 10:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yep, same problem here... my serial number is in that range and the platform card doesn't work for me either.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
manora
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Mar 11, 2005
Posts: 34
Location: North West Wales

PostPosted: Fri Nov 27, 2009 7:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just done the platform upgrade and as well getting the odd extra feature it also seems to cure the trip log setup freeze, at least it hasn't happened since I did the upgrade.
You do need to change the hibernation setting to off before you can turn the unit off completely, unless I've missed something.
I thought I'd turned the unit off, went for a coffee, turned it on about 30min later and it came on at once where I'd left it. Handy but easy to forget at the end of the day.
There is no warning that you are entering hibernation not powering down.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
yesnaby
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Nov 28, 2009
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sat Nov 28, 2009 2:40 pm    Post subject: 1.4 upgrade Reply with quote

Hello,

Just to confuse things, my serial number is outside the quoted range (it is 7692) but the SD card is not recognised, so I cannot upgrade to 1.4.

Michael
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RavingDave
Lifetime Member


Joined: Oct 14, 2006
Posts: 111

PostPosted: Mon Nov 30, 2009 1:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

RavingDave wrote:
RavingDave wrote:
smashing wrote:
I seem to have found a nasty bug in the new firmware. If I go into the 'Set trip data' menu then press back or done - the unit hangs with the only solution being to remove the battery. Has happened three times n a row now so not a momentary glitch.

Anyone else getting this problem (or is it just me)?

ETA - a nice fellow at satmap told me to clear all settings again...and it worked. So all's well and it's still a fantastic device.


Had the same problem here, just hung showing a "Loading Info" screen. Pressing "Reset All" at the top of the Trip Log Menu seems to have sorted it.


Same problem has re-appeared. Haven't yet come up with a repeatable sequence to make it happen, but looks like a definite bug in there somewhere. Fortunately it's not related to a function that needs regular changes so I can do the reset, set the values to what I want, and then keep away from it until V1.4x comes out to fix it!


Had a response from Satmap on this today. Whereas I have been selecting 'reset all' on the Trip Log menu screen to get rid of this problem, Satmap are suggesting going to the main Settings menu screen, press the 'Default' button and then choose 'Clear All' to reset all user defined settings, trail and GPS data to the factory defaults.

Can't try this on mine at the moment as it is currently in with Satmap getting its new motherboard.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mow
Regular Visitor


Joined: Mar 09, 2005
Posts: 112
Location: Essex

PostPosted: Tue Dec 01, 2009 9:10 am    Post subject: 09.02.21 Reply with quote

Received the SD Card and installed the new Platform.

Nice new opening screen but limited additional functionality in my opinion, but it is nice to have SatSync working fully.

However having installed the new versions I still had one occasion when the "bug" reappeared
"Settings"
Sub set "Set Trip Data"
Make any change and try to exit to get the message:-
"Loading information please wait"
And that's it, the only option is to remove the battery and re boot.
My advice is to set this option and leave it well alone before the battery wires break through removal time and time again.
Anyone else getting this bug with 09.02.21 ?
Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
smashing
Occasional Visitor


Joined: May 17, 2009
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Tue Dec 01, 2009 9:46 pm    Post subject: Re: 09.02.21 Reply with quote

I posted the 'set Trip data' bug initially - have now got the platform update card and have not had a repeat since. One other smalll bug I noticed was that before the platform update (was on 00.0.0) the new backlight setting didn't entirely work. The light went off from 0-8% and only came on at 10%. Now working as expected with the new platform update .


mow wrote:
Received the SD Card and installed the new Platform.

Nice new opening screen but limited additional functionality in my opinion, but it is nice to have SatSync working fully.

However having installed the new versions I still had one occasion when the "bug" reappeared
"Settings"
Sub set "Set Trip Data"
Make any change and try to exit to get the message:-
"Loading information please wait"
And that's it, the only option is to remove the battery and re boot.
My advice is to set this option and leave it well alone before the battery wires break through removal time and time again.
Anyone else getting this bug with 09.02.21 ?
Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lucevans
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Mar 21, 2007
Posts: 261
Location: Cambridgeshire, UK

PostPosted: Tue Dec 01, 2009 11:25 pm    Post subject: Re: 09.02.21 Reply with quote

smashing wrote:
I posted the 'set Trip data' bug initially - have now got the platform update card and have not had a repeat since. One other smalll bug I noticed was that before the platform update (was on 00.0.0) the new backlight setting didn't entirely work. The light went off from 0-8% and only came on at 10%. Now working as expected with the new platform update .


You were previously on platform 00.00.0? And the platform upgrade worked for you? What's you unit's serial number? I was under the impression that the 00.00.0 platform was the original hardware (serial numbers 0001 -1975) that wouldn't accept the update?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
davidor
Regular Visitor


Joined: Nov 14, 2008
Posts: 117

PostPosted: Wed Dec 02, 2009 8:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
You were previously on platform 00.00.0? And the platform upgrade worked for you? What's you unit's serial number? I was under the impression that the 00.00.0 platform was the original hardware (serial numbers 0001 -1975) that wouldn't accept the update?


My serial number is 4050 and I too have firmware 00.00.0 so I don't think it is just the early ones that have that firmware, but the low serial numbers can't update using the card.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lucevans
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Mar 21, 2007
Posts: 261
Location: Cambridgeshire, UK

PostPosted: Wed Dec 02, 2009 11:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

davidor wrote:
Quote:
You were previously on platform 00.00.0? And the platform upgrade worked for you? What's you unit's serial number? I was under the impression that the 00.00.0 platform was the original hardware (serial numbers 0001 -1975) that wouldn't accept the update?


My serial number is 4050 and I too have firmware 00.00.0 so I don't think it is just the early ones that have that firmware, but the low serial numbers can't update using the card.


thanks for the clarification- that makes me feel a bit better about sending mine in for a new motherboard Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
smashing
Occasional Visitor


Joined: May 17, 2009
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Wed Dec 02, 2009 9:40 pm    Post subject: Re: 09.02.21 Reply with quote

lucevans wrote:
smashing wrote:
I posted the 'set Trip data' bug initially - have now got the platform update card and have not had a repeat since. One other smalll bug I noticed was that before the platform update (was on 00.0.0) the new backlight setting didn't entirely work. The light went off from 0-8% and only came on at 10%. Now working as expected with the new platform update .


You were previously on platform 00.00.0? And the platform upgrade worked for you? What's you unit's serial number? I was under the impression that the 00.00.0 platform was the original hardware (serial numbers 0001 -1975) that wouldn't accept the update?


Haven't got the Satmap to hand but I do remember the serial no. was way above **1975. Definitely had 00.00.0 prior and the upgrade worked fine. A tenner did seem a bit rich initially but as others have posted, other companies would just release a new model.

That said, as a start-up company, Satmap really needed the early adopters. It's more than unfortunate they are having to shell out 35 quid.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mikealder
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jan 14, 2005
Posts: 19638
Location: Blackpool , Lancs

PostPosted: Wed Dec 02, 2009 11:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I will be giving them a ring in the morning as mines numbered 90 so its a very early device and I want a service, new board, maps consolidating on to a single card, GPS aerial tune up and the software update.

Be interesting to see what they charge but in my opinion this will be well worth paying for, it also prevents that "haven't I been stupid moment" when I get out of the car to go walking in the Dales with just the Cumbria map installed!! - Worse still I have done this twice so far Embarassed - Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
BigPerk
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Sep 06, 2006
Posts: 1618
Location: East Hertfordshire

PostPosted: Thu Dec 03, 2009 12:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mike - lucevans is paying 35 for the new motherboard (see 'Mapsat Pricing' thread
Quote:
(The motherboard replacement quote was 35, and my Active 10 is with them right now!)
.A pretty reasonable deal?
_________________
David
(Navigon 70 Live, Nuvi 360)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mikealder
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jan 14, 2005
Posts: 19638
Location: Blackpool , Lancs

PostPosted: Thu Dec 03, 2009 1:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have no issue with the 35 but as it will be going back under recorded delivery/ dhl etc I may as well send it off for a full fix and get the maps consolidated at the same time, I also think the Li-Pol pack is on its last legs so that will get swapped out as well, its going to cost me well over the 35 but I have always liked the device since the very first day I tried one out at the NEC some 6 months prior to its launch so I see this as an upgrade to improve an already capable performer - Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
philpugh
Lifetime Member


Joined: Dec 28, 2005
Posts: 2003
Location: Antrobus, Cheshire

PostPosted: Thu Dec 03, 2009 11:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

PloddinPedro wrote:
Darren wrote:
If you pull up the Settings | About page you will see something like version 1.400 (xx.xx.x). the xx.xx.x is the platform number. Consider it a base firmware onto which the software (1.4000) is loaded.
Aha! And there I was, thinking that was some kind of date! (Mine says: "Version 1.328 (08.11.03)") (OK I know v1.328 doesn't date back that far, but I wasn't really paying attention!)

So I guess the next question is: does anyone know what the most recent "platform number" is?


You may be correct about it being a date! Try yy.mm.dd as the format! Would fit your version above and the newer 09.02.21
_________________
Phil
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Satmap Active 10 All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
Page 4 of 6

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB 2.0.11 © 2001 phpBB Group
phpBB port v2.1 based on Tom Nitzschner's phpbb2.0.6 upgraded to phpBB 2.0.4 standalone was developed and tested by:
ArtificialIntel, ChatServ, mikem,
sixonetonoffun and Paul Laudanski (aka Zhen-Xjell).

Version 2.1 by Nuke Cops 2003 http://www.nukecops.com

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
20.082 (10 Aug 22)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping