Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
Read the current newsletter! Weekly
Newsletter
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - Satmap Active10 - Firmware version 1.400 Now available
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

Satmap Active10 - Firmware version 1.400 Now available
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Satmap Active 10
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Darren
Pocket GPS Staff
Pocket GPS Staff


Joined: 11/07/2002 14:36:40
Posts: 23848
Location: Hampshire, UK

PostPosted: Wed Nov 25, 2009 10:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

LostMike wrote:
I'm not sure this is necessarily correct. I understand that some of the differences in the "platform software" relate to the hardware on which they run. I believe that the older and newer A10s have different motherboards.

That is how I understand it. Perhaps not necessarily different motherboards but certainly different code burnt into non-writable memory at least.
_________________
Darren Griffin - Editor
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
daveweth
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Aug 08, 2008
Posts: 13
Location: Surrrey

PostPosted: Wed Nov 25, 2009 10:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've just noticed on the Satmap webite that the Platform Software Update is available free to Mac users , pending the release of Macsync in a few weeks. http://www.satmap.com/ukstore/index.php?cPath=111_152_153

Last edited by daveweth on Wed Nov 25, 2009 10:13 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BigPerk
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Sep 06, 2006
Posts: 1618
Location: East Hertfordshire

PostPosted: Wed Nov 25, 2009 10:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

According to their website, the 9.99 card, which IS described as the "Platform Software Upgrade" card, contains
Quote:
Software v1.4 contains some features that cannot be downloaded directly to the Active 10 via SatSYNC. As a result we are making these features available to customers on an SD card, for just 9.99. These features include:

1. Hibernate Mode Allows you to put the unit on standby when not used for prolonged periods, meaning that when switched on again, the unit will take just seconds to get a GPS lock. The advantages include extended battery life (up to x hours), as well as much shorter lock times. Please note that the unit will not track your trail whilst on standby.
2. POI and Route Folders Imported routes and POIs can be seen in their respective menus without the need to restart the Active 10.
3. Folder Manipulation Allows folders to be manipulated on the internal storage and SD card via SatSYNC.
Agree a little clarification might still be wise pefore purchsasing.
_________________
David
(Navigon 70 Live, Nuvi 360)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
4ndynorfolk
Regular Visitor


Joined: Jul 02, 2008
Posts: 237
Location: Norfolk

PostPosted: Wed Nov 25, 2009 2:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've ordered my SD card. I will let you know exactly what it does.

I previously had all sorts of issues caused I think by my copying a load of junk into the file system while trying to get some GPS software to work. Satmap lent me an SD which reflashed the device and fixed it. I figured an SD from which I could restore the device if I ever got in a jam again was worth a tenner. Not to mention the added features.

On a slightly different subject. Has anyone found an EGNOS signal yet?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bosun
Frequent Visitor


Joined: May 02, 2005
Posts: 473
Location: Wakefield,West Riding of Yorkshire

PostPosted: Wed Nov 25, 2009 3:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

4ndynorfolk wrote:

On a slightly different subject. Has anyone found an EGNOS signal yet?


No EGNOS here in sunny West Yorkshire,

Ian
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RavingDave
Lifetime Member


Joined: Oct 14, 2006
Posts: 111

PostPosted: Wed Nov 25, 2009 4:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

daveweth wrote:
I've just noticed on the Satmap webite that the Platform Software Update is available free to Mac users , pending the release of Macsync in a few weeks. http://www.satmap.com/ukstore/index.php?cPath=111_152_153

Not too sure why the platform upgrade is free for Mac users, but 9.99 for Windows users? Isn't the underlying platform software independent of what type of machine you choose to connect to, after all I guess you could have both a Mac running Macsync and a PC running Satsync and still be able to connect your A10 to both?

If the platform software update comes on an SD card which is plugged straight into the A10, then will there be any difference between the Mac and Windows version?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
4ndynorfolk
Regular Visitor


Joined: Jul 02, 2008
Posts: 237
Location: Norfolk

PostPosted: Wed Nov 25, 2009 4:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think the issue is that the updater does not work on a mac.

SD card is the only way to install the new version.

Still a bit miffed that I' payng 10 quid.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Gibbo10
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Sep 21, 2008
Posts: 262
Location: Swindon, Wilts

PostPosted: Wed Nov 25, 2009 4:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Bosun wrote:
4ndynorfolk wrote:

On a slightly different subject. Has anyone found an EGNOS signal yet?


No EGNOS here in sunny West Yorkshire,

Ian


you will probably find that the signal comes and goes but when you get it the gps signal in top right will go blue and your gps accuracy will improve but in wiltshire it doesn't stay around for long
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
smashing
Occasional Visitor


Joined: May 17, 2009
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Wed Nov 25, 2009 4:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I seem to have found a nasty bug in the new firmware. If I go into the 'Set trip data' menu then press back or done - the unit hangs with the only solution being to remove the battery. Has happened three times n a row now so not a momentary glitch.

Anyone else getting this problem (or is it just me)?

ETA - a nice fellow at satmap told me to clear all settings again...and it worked. So all's well and it's still a fantastic device.


Last edited by smashing on Wed Nov 25, 2009 4:39 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RavingDave
Lifetime Member


Joined: Oct 14, 2006
Posts: 111

PostPosted: Wed Nov 25, 2009 4:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

4ndynorfolk wrote:
I think the issue is that the updater does not work on a mac.

SD card is the only way to install the new version.

Still a bit miffed that I' payng 10 quid.


Yep understand that, but the updater on a PC only works for updating the 'main' software to V1.4 - it still doen't allow you to update the Platform software - so a PC user is in exactly the same position as a Mac user as far as platform updates are concerned?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Darren
Pocket GPS Staff
Pocket GPS Staff


Joined: 11/07/2002 14:36:40
Posts: 23848
Location: Hampshire, UK

PostPosted: Wed Nov 25, 2009 4:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm guessing the the platform update is required to enable SatSYNC for MAC. It is not required for PC users and brings no benefits to them so is not offered?

If you may have cause to sync on both PC & Mac then you would need it.
_________________
Darren Griffin - Editor
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
lucevans
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Mar 21, 2007
Posts: 261
Location: Cambridgeshire, UK

PostPosted: Wed Nov 25, 2009 4:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Bosun wrote:
4ndynorfolk wrote:

On a slightly different subject. Has anyone found an EGNOS signal yet?


No EGNOS here in sunny West Yorkshire,

Ian


getting EGNOS here in Cambridgeshire some of the time- mainly via PRN120 -
but I do live at sea level with a pretty unobstructed view of th sky.
I too have ordered the platform upgrade card, so I'll let you all know if it doesn't work for my very old Active 10 (serial number in the low hundreds, so if some older units have different innards, it's probably one of those!)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RavingDave
Lifetime Member


Joined: Oct 14, 2006
Posts: 111

PostPosted: Wed Nov 25, 2009 4:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Darren wrote:
I'm guessing the the platform update is required to enable SatSYNC for MAC. It is not required for PC users and brings no benefits to them so is not offered?

If you may have cause to sync on both PC & Mac then you would need it.


...but the $64000 question (or in fact the 9.99 question)....is the SD card for updating the A10 device identical for both Mac and Windows. ie if I get a Mac SD card for free, will it update the platform firmware in exactly the same way as if I had bought a Windows variant?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RavingDave
Lifetime Member


Joined: Oct 14, 2006
Posts: 111

PostPosted: Wed Nov 25, 2009 4:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

smashing wrote:
I seem to have found a nasty bug in the new firmware. If I go into the 'Set trip data' menu then press back or done - the unit hangs with the only solution being to remove the battery. Has happened three times n a row now so not a momentary glitch.

Anyone else getting this problem (or is it just me)?

ETA - a nice fellow at satmap told me to clear all settings again...and it worked. So all's well and it's still a fantastic device.


Had the same problem here, just hung showing a "Loading Info" screen. Pressing "Reset All" at the top of the Trip Log Menu seems to have sorted it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
4ndynorfolk
Regular Visitor


Joined: Jul 02, 2008
Posts: 237
Location: Norfolk

PostPosted: Wed Nov 25, 2009 4:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am now getting EGNOS on 102 here in Norfolk.

The signal looks strong but is lost much easier than the gps signals.

Acuracy increased from 3m without to 2m with. Not sure it's worthwile.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Satmap Active 10 All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
Page 2 of 6

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB 2.0.11 © 2001 phpBB Group
phpBB port v2.1 based on Tom Nitzschner's phpbb2.0.6 upgraded to phpBB 2.0.4 standalone was developed and tested by:
ArtificialIntel, ChatServ, mikem,
sixonetonoffun and Paul Laudanski (aka Zhen-Xjell).

Version 2.1 by Nuke Cops 2003 http://www.nukecops.com

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
20.013 (19 Jan 22)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping