Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
Read the current newsletter! Weekly
Newsletter
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
MacFixer, the iPhone, iPod, and iPad specialists
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - [v8-WinMob] ALK Release CoPilot v8
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

[v8-WinMob] ALK Release CoPilot v8
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> CoPilot Live
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
sailorman
Lifetime Member


Joined: Nov 07, 2006
Posts: 18
Location: Cambs

PostPosted: Fri Aug 14, 2009 9:38 am    Post subject: CoPilot 8 Mapping Reply with quote

Can any of the new purchasers tell the rest of us how up to date the maps data supplied are? In my CP7, the Navteq maps never changed from Q1 2007. Rolling Eyes
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fabbers
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jul 29, 2004
Posts: 11
Location: Yorkshire

PostPosted: Fri Aug 14, 2009 9:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well my only benchmark so far is that the new layout at the A1 J45 (which is my local) is now up to date in C8 when it was not in the C7 trial.

If you've got any specific examples you want me to check let me know and i'll get a screen shot or 2.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Fellwalker
Lifetime Member


Joined: Apr 18, 2006
Posts: 204
Location: Up North

PostPosted: Fri Aug 14, 2009 12:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

homecamp wrote:

To import POIs, image files need to be in PNG format (ok in itself except all the POIs I have are BMPs so a little bit of work required).


Irfanview is a simple graphics viewer and it can easily bartch convert files to png. http://www.irfanview.net/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Drift
Occasional Visitor


Joined: May 17, 2007
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Fri Aug 14, 2009 1:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

wetsleet wrote:
GeoBiker wrote:
Drift wrote:
OK maybe a simple question but how do you get CPv8 to show a QWERTY keyboard?


Confirmed: It is no longer available..! I HATE not having that option! What the *#&@! were they thinking!


you are kidding, right? Surely they can't have lost the qwerty layout? It's there in 7, where is the problem in keeping it in 8? This isn't a minor detail this is every time you use the app.
Please, tell me it isn't so!

(is this what they mean by:
"IMPROVED! Redesigned user interface...")


Ive been in touch with CP support and I can confirm that the QWERTY function is not available on CP v8 Evil or Very Mad

And I want my Traffic function back, but no joy there they ignored that request Evil or Very Mad
_________________
Ste



Gone for simples and now have TomTom One V3 1gig
Memory Map V5 on laptop and GPS.
I couldnt get on with Copilot V8
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
101sean
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Feb 28, 2006
Posts: 12
Location: Middle of nowhere, Co Tipperary

PostPosted: Fri Aug 14, 2009 4:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just checked mapping local to me in Ireland. The Cashel-Cullahill and Cashel- Mitchelstown sections of the M8 opened in the last 9-12 months are on there but the Mitchelstown to Fermoy section opened 3 months ago isn't. I assume that puts the mapping at around Q1 2009? No indication of it on the website. As all the local lanes are on with townland names it looks like it's still Navteq mapping here.

The loss of the QWERTY keyboard is a pain and a stupid omission.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MaFt
Pocket GPS Staff
Pocket GPS Staff


Joined: Aug 31, 2005
Posts: 14167
Location: Bradford, West Yorkshire

PostPosted: Fri Aug 14, 2009 5:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

QWERTY is being added ot the iphone version so i would assume that this will also spread onto android and winmo too?

MaFt
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
mikealder
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jan 14, 2005
Posts: 19638
Location: Blackpool , Lancs

PostPosted: Fri Aug 14, 2009 6:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I hope they release an update soon for this keyboard as I only like to use "Qwerty" sat in traffic earlier today I found it difficult just to enter a basic postcode - This applies to iPhone and the WM devices I am currently running the software on - Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
wetsleet
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Oct 13, 2005
Posts: 23
Location: Stourbridge, UK

PostPosted: Fri Aug 14, 2009 7:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It seems like there is a lot to like in CP8, and the price is certainly attractive. But until they "un-improve" the UI by reinstating a qwerty keyboard instead of the default abc version I will stick with CP7.
I have also asked support about when Central 2.0 for pocket PC will be available, and when it is available will it be Vista 64-bit compatible, since the download link is for Android only.
I think they misunderstood the question since the answer was "it's not 64-bit compatible" (true for the current PPC CP7 Central software, not true for Android CP8 Central 2.0 software, and who knows for the yet-to-be announced PPC CP8 Central 2.0 software???)

PS - when is the full no-holds-barred review coming?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
homecamp
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Oct 21, 2006
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Fri Aug 14, 2009 11:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

wetsleet wrote:
It seems like there is a lot to like in CP8, and the price is certainly attractive. But until they "un-improve" the UI by reinstating a qwerty keyboard instead of the default abc version I will stick with CP7.
I have also asked support about when Central 2.0 for pocket PC will be available, and when it is available will it be Vista 64-bit compatible, since the download link is for Android only.
I think they misunderstood the question since the answer was "it's not 64-bit compatible" (true for the current PPC CP7 Central software, not true for Android CP8 Central 2.0 software, and who knows for the yet-to-be announced PPC CP8 Central 2.0 software???)

PS - when is the full no-holds-barred review coming?


The qwerty keyboard is a must fix issue in my view. Entering a post code on a keyboard where you need to press a virtual "button" to switch from letters to digits is a nightmare.

Central 2.0 "for Android" seems to pick up my Touch Diamond fine.
I have Central 2.0 running on both Windows Server 2008 R2 RC (x64) and Win 7 RC (x64). Had to play around with the compatibility for a few minutes but it works. I need to reload my PCs with Win7 RTM this weekend so will check that too and report but I don't expect any problem. That's a major improvement to the previous version...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
homecamp
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Oct 21, 2006
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Fri Aug 14, 2009 11:13 pm    Post subject: Re: CoPilot 8 Mapping Reply with quote

sailorman wrote:
Can any of the new purchasers tell the rest of us how up to date the maps data supplied are? In my CP7, the Navteq maps never changed from Q1 2007. Rolling Eyes


Not sure how helpful this will be but they've updated the local roads (and I mean those roads that nobody drives on apart from the people leaving along them) around our village in France. The layouts are now correct and the names are correct too. The roads haven't changed for years though.

Some updates to roads around Wiltshire too but these are correcting previous errors rather than keeping up with new roads / new layouts.

I found the distance to exits off motorways misleading. You need to remove 200-300 yards (meters) to the distances CPL8 gives you. Not much but with some complex junctions it can cause trouble.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
homecamp
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Oct 21, 2006
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Fri Aug 14, 2009 11:20 pm    Post subject: Traffic info Reply with quote

Response from ALK tech support to my query about enabling traffic subs:
"In regards to your query, i would like to inform you that copilot v8 is not currently does not support the traffic also when you have the traffic on the v7 and upgrade to the v8 you will loose your traffic option - the v7 traffic is not compatible with the v8 application."

The CPL7 traffic service was so buggy and useless it hurt but this is outright theft in my books. The traffic subs were not sold as a version specific service and there is nothing in the marketing material / website that points this out.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Drift
Occasional Visitor


Joined: May 17, 2007
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Fri Aug 14, 2009 11:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

After the email confirming QWERTY was not included Ive sent my list of bug bears off to CP support regarding the lack of Traffic Live and QWERTY, and also the option of a user mannual (pedanctive I know).
Im thinking the more that ask they may just listen, deep breath Rolling Eyes
_________________
Ste



Gone for simples and now have TomTom One V3 1gig
Memory Map V5 on laptop and GPS.
I couldnt get on with Copilot V8
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
SpikeyMikey
Lifetime Member


Joined: Mar 21, 2006
Posts: 849
Location: Hertfordshire. Forever blowing bubbles

PostPosted: Sat Aug 15, 2009 10:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

In answer to the user guide request, it can be found at http://guide.copilotlive.net/doku.php

I know it says CoPilot Desktop for Android but I think thats an error, when downloaded and run it certainly works OK with an XDA Orbit.

Luckily my wifes traffic sub had just run out so I guess the timing was right for us, but I would have been miffed too. Presumably it is a different service and was not compatible / transferrable.
_________________
Mike
TT GO6000 (Europe & UK and IE buildings v10.35); iPhone X and iPad Pro (both iOS12.4.1); Apple Watch 2 (OS5.3.1) + TT GO 2.0.1 + CamerAlert 2.0.7
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sailorman
Lifetime Member


Joined: Nov 07, 2006
Posts: 18
Location: Cambs

PostPosted: Sat Aug 15, 2009 11:59 am    Post subject: Re: CoPilot 8 Mapping Reply with quote

homecamp wrote:
sailorman wrote:
Can any of the new purchasers tell the rest of us how up to date the maps data supplied are? In my CP7, the Navteq maps never changed from Q1 2007. Rolling Eyes


Not sure how helpful this will be but they've updated the local roads (and I mean those roads that nobody drives on apart from the people leaving along them) around our village in France. The layouts are now correct and the names are correct too. The roads haven't changed for years though.

Some updates to roads around Wiltshire too but these are correcting previous errors rather than keeping up with new roads / new layouts.

I found the distance to exits off motorways misleading. You need to remove 200-300 yards (meters) to the distances CPL8 gives you. Not much but with some complex junctions it can cause trouble.



I find that the distance to run in CPL7 is to the end of the exit marking rather than the start that you normally would expect. So I allow about 200yds less for the turn and it seems to work.

Thanks to everyone who has provided info on the maps - it looks like they are updated although when the next map update will be would appear to be "lap of the gods" stuff.

Until ALK resolve the 20 months of credit for my trafiic subscription, I'll not upgrade to version 8 though.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Drift
Occasional Visitor


Joined: May 17, 2007
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Sat Aug 15, 2009 12:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Cheers Spikey.
_________________
Ste



Gone for simples and now have TomTom One V3 1gig
Memory Map V5 on laptop and GPS.
I couldnt get on with Copilot V8
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> CoPilot Live All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Page 2 of 4

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB 2.0.11 © 2001 phpBB Group
phpBB port v2.1 based on Tom Nitzschner's phpbb2.0.6 upgraded to phpBB 2.0.4 standalone was developed and tested by:
ArtificialIntel, ChatServ, mikem,
sixonetonoffun and Paul Laudanski (aka Zhen-Xjell).

Version 2.1 by Nuke Cops 2003 http://www.nukecops.com

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
17.092 (11 Sep 19)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping