Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - ProBackup on an iPAQ 3970
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

ProBackup on an iPAQ 3970

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> PDA/Smartphone Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Oldie
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator

PostPosted: Thu Apr 22, 2004 5:36 pm    Post subject: ProBackup on an iPAQ 3970 Reply with quote

Does anyone have the Proporta ProBackup system working on an iPAQ 3970 (Pocket PC 2002, ROM 2.00.00 ENG). I have just tried it and the iPAQ does not see the MMC card at all. My SD card works fine, but I have never tried a MMC card of any type before.

Proporta are sending me a new card, but I wondered if the problem is with my iPAQ 3970. Are there any tests that I can do?

Richard
DavidW
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator

PostPosted: Thu Apr 22, 2004 6:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've got an old 16MB Sandisk MMC, which worked fine in my 3970 with the 2.00 ROM (not that it was really large enough to be much use). It might be that the contacts in your SD card slot are not making proper contact with the thinner MMC card.

By the way - even if you want to stick with Pocket PC 2002 and not pay for an upgrade, it is worth upgrading to the 2.10 ROM and installing the SD driver fix. You will have to hard reset and reinstall after the upgrade, though.

Like many here, I use Sprite Backup Premium Edition on my iPAQ 3970 (now on ROM 4.00.08, which is the Pocket PC 2003 ROM). As a result, I've got no experience with the Proporta product.