Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
Read the current newsletter! Weekly
Newsletter
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
MacFixer, the iPhone, iPod, and iPad specialists
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - New Map Release Date After V815 Confirmed By TomTom
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

New Map Release Date After V815 Confirmed By TomTom
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... , 10, 11, 12  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Portable Navigation Devices
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Andy_P
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jun 04, 2005
Posts: 19991
Location: West and Southwest London

PostPosted: Wed Mar 04, 2009 11:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

technik wrote:
I was unable to update my NA Map under LMG until I called TTS, and within 24HRS I had the new 825 NA Map, and I am in the UK, so are things changing with TT Support for the better?


No... because meanwhile other TT support staff are being adamant that people cannot have v825 under the LMG.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
liamchadwick
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Sep 18, 2006
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Wed Mar 04, 2009 11:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

unfortunately for me i downloaded tomtom 8.15 maps an hour before the home recognised 8.25 maps so as soon as my download was complete and reconnected to home it said a newer map was available. I rang tomtom up and they said unfortunately i had the latest maps at the time of connection under the LMG and i could purchase 8.25 if i wished to do so.

How annoying is that though, soon as your new map update finishes you get a message saying there is a newer map available Sad

Not impressed but i suppose just the way the cookie crumbles...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PaulB2005
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jan 04, 2006
Posts: 9323
Location: Durham, UK

PostPosted: Thu Mar 05, 2009 1:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well i'm sitting here with 810 maps loaded and TT have not only confirmed i am entitled to the 825 maps, but they've also now told me they were loaded to the LMG server on Monday 2nd March 2009 and

Quote:
...and can be downloaded and installed at any time.


But home still only offers me the 815 maps..... Crying or Very sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
silversurfer
Regular Visitor


Joined: May 28, 2004
Posts: 120
Location: sutton on sea .lincolnshire

PostPosted: Thu Mar 05, 2009 7:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

well after all my efforts with trying to get the latest maps with the LMG and tomtom adamant i would not get them i have had to download the 815 that tomtom home was still showing , not very happy
_________________
_________________________
chris
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
tomcat76
Lifetime Member


Joined: Aug 18, 2004
Posts: 100
Location: West London

PostPosted: Fri Mar 06, 2009 1:58 pm    Post subject: New map - File Error - pna.log Reply with quote

LIke some others I bought the years subs for maps... but a problem, I received the email to say there is a new map to download... but it will not install, throws up an error about a file is in the archive that should not be there!!!

ERROR: DesktopLib/InstallToDevice/GetInstallable/InvalidFile: The archive file contains this file: pna.log
The file should not be part of this archive:

I've contacted TT and just waited on a reply, I also auto reported it but of course its done anon so I won't get a reply via that means...
_________________
Regards Steve :-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dhn
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Oct 08, 2007
Posts: 2543
Location: Toronto CANADA

PostPosted: Fri Mar 06, 2009 2:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So what happens if you open up the compressed file, see if one of the files in the .cab (or .zip) is pna.log and, if it is, remove from the .cab and then try to install?
_________________
David
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tomcat76
Lifetime Member


Joined: Aug 18, 2004
Posts: 100
Location: West London

PostPosted: Fri Mar 06, 2009 2:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi dhn,
Tried that, its a cab file and there is no option to allow you to delete it, that was the first thing I tried as done it before with other files...
_________________
Regards Steve :-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dhn
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Oct 08, 2007
Posts: 2543
Location: Toronto CANADA

PostPosted: Fri Mar 06, 2009 3:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What if you expand the cab file so that you have all the individual files. Then compress all the files again **except** for that file. Wouldn't that accomplish the same thing?
_________________
David
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tomcat76
Lifetime Member


Joined: Aug 18, 2004
Posts: 100
Location: West London

PostPosted: Sat Mar 07, 2009 7:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi, I've no idea as I don't have anything to compress it again as a cab file.

I really want to know why that file is there and where it come from, I used TT home to download it and I assume that has come from TT like that.
_________________
Regards Steve :-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mullet
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Dec 12, 2005
Posts: 1050

PostPosted: Sun Mar 08, 2009 12:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Download the trial version of WinRAR if its worth pursuing.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tomcat76
Lifetime Member


Joined: Aug 18, 2004
Posts: 100
Location: West London

PostPosted: Sun Mar 08, 2009 6:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mullet wrote:
Download the trial version of WinRAR if its worth pursuing.


Does it do Cab files, I have winrar but it's a fairly old version?
_________________
Regards Steve :-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mikealder
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jan 14, 2005
Posts: 19638
Location: Blackpool , Lancs

PostPosted: Sun Mar 08, 2009 6:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

WinRar will extract files from CAB downloads, it is my prefered choice of software for any unzipping of files on the PC as it offers the best options - Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
Mullet
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Dec 12, 2005
Posts: 1050

PostPosted: Sun Mar 08, 2009 6:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

tomcat76 wrote:
Mullet wrote:
Download the trial version of WinRAR if its worth pursuing.


Does it do Cab files, I have winrar but it's a fairly old version?


I may have made a mistake, the default compression is .rar and I cannot see how to change that other than change the file extension which will probably work.

Try Cab File Maker 2.0 instead. Its free.

Sorry if I have wasted your time Embarassed
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mikealder
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jan 14, 2005
Posts: 19638
Location: Blackpool , Lancs

PostPosted: Sun Mar 08, 2009 7:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Once you have de-compressed the download using WinRar why do you need to re-compile it? Extract the files to a known loaction on the PC then copy them straight to the device using Windows Explorer, or extract the files directly to the TomTom device - Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
tomcat76
Lifetime Member


Joined: Aug 18, 2004
Posts: 100
Location: West London

PostPosted: Sun Mar 08, 2009 8:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mikealder wrote:
Once you have de-compressed the download using WinRar why do you need to re-compile it? Extract the files to a known loaction on the PC then copy them straight to the device using Windows Explorer, or extract the files directly to the TomTom device - Mike


Give me a step by step account and I'll try that, ie do they all go in the same location?
I had a nasty experience once before with an older TT and I certainly don't want to mess this one up.....
Already made a full backup of the TT before you ask using TT Home.

I really want to know what this file is, as I said previous I have filled in a report with TT just waiting on a reply.
_________________
Regards Steve :-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Portable Navigation Devices All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... , 10, 11, 12  Next
Page 11 of 12

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB 2.0.11 © 2001 phpBB Group
phpBB port v2.1 based on Tom Nitzschner's phpbb2.0.6 upgraded to phpBB 2.0.4 standalone was developed and tested by:
ArtificialIntel, ChatServ, mikem,
sixonetonoffun and Paul Laudanski (aka Zhen-Xjell).

Version 2.1 by Nuke Cops 2003 http://www.nukecops.com

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
20.053 (18 May 22)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping