Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - FM Transmitter
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

FM Transmitter
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Portable Navigation Devices
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
mikealder
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jan 14, 2005
Posts: 19638
Location: Blackpool , Lancs

PostPosted: Sat Nov 22, 2008 4:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

A few of you have been asking how to go about returning the device to Navcore 8,010, have a read through this, it isn't difficult.....

THIS WILL ONLY WORK WITH MAPS VERSION 810 OR EARLIER, IF YOU ONLY HAVE THE VERSION 815 MAPS DO NOT TRY THIS - IT WON'T WORK

The Navcore 8,010 software is still available from the servers at TomTom:

For Go x20 devices click Here

For Go x30 devices click Here

As always backup the unit BEFORE trying any update/ roll back just in case it goes wrong, to use this software your maps must be version 810 or earlier, if you try running Navcore 8,010 with a version 815 map installed when the device boots up you will get the "No Maps Found" message on the screen.

To install this to your device I use WinRar which you can download from Here Switch the TomTom on and connect it to your PC, if TomTom Home starts up exit the application as Home isn't needed for this.

Double click the file :

navcore_8.010.9369.gox20 for Gox20
navcore_8.010.9369.gox30 for Gox30

Depending upon which one you downloaded and winrar will fire up, use the mouse to select all files and folders then click "Extract To"



Locate the drive letter associated with your TomTom and click it, make sure the Overwrite mode is selected to "Ask before overwrite", then press "OK"



When the dialogue box pops up saying "Confirm File Replace" click the "Yes To All" button.



Sit back and watch the progress bar, with a good USB2 connection a Navcore 8,010 installation will take around 2 minutes.



When its finished the update use the "Safely Remove Hardware" icon from the Task Tray and remove the lead from the device.

Let the device boot up and tap the sat strength meter (lower left) followed by the version box, the resultant screen will confirm the version installed is Navcore 8,010 and when you go the Change Preferences/ Speaker Preferences you will have the FM Tx option back - Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
NAM-UK
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Nov 13, 2008
Posts: 59
Location: Atherton lancashire

PostPosted: Sat Nov 22, 2008 5:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

DinAlt wrote:
Before you buy (rebuy?) your maps check that home hasn't kept a copy

When i upgraded mine it kept a copy of them in its download directory

It's easy to check if it has - open tomTom home
go to Add maps,traffic voices etc
Scroll to items on my computer
in my case i've got the current map (815) and the last map I downloaded (810) saved - you can load those maps onto your device from Home or do it manually. I also have navcore 8.01 and 8.3 saved there too..

BTW if this works for you IMMIDIATELY do a Windows Explorer back up becuase i don't trust the Home Software at all.
Personalyl I have 3 Explorer backups from key stages so i can roll back both maps and navcore as required.

DinAlt


can i simply just drap the map directory off the tomtom i.e United_Kingdom_and_Republic_of_Ireland and install that after the rollbacked navcore?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NAM-UK
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Nov 13, 2008
Posts: 59
Location: Atherton lancashire

PostPosted: Sat Nov 22, 2008 5:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

so simple as that just drag the old navcore to the device and over write . Thumbs Up after expanding with winrar

so no harm will be done with my registration at other end then
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NAM-UK
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Nov 13, 2008
Posts: 59
Location: Atherton lancashire

PostPosted: Sat Nov 22, 2008 5:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

DinAlt wrote:
Before you buy (rebuy?) your maps check that home hasn't kept a copy

When i upgraded mine it kept a copy of them in its download directory

It's easy to check if it has - open tomTom home
go to Add maps,traffic voices etc
Scroll to items on my computer
in my case i've got the current map (815) and the last map I downloaded (810) saved - you can load those maps onto your device from Home or do it manually. I also have navcore 8.01 and 8.3 saved there too..

BTW if this works for you IMMIDIATELY do a Windows Explorer back up becuase i don't trust the Home Software at all.
Personalyl I have 3 Explorer backups from key stages so i can roll back both maps and navcore as required.

DinAlt


can i simply just drap the map directory off the tomtom i.e United_Kingdom_and_Republic_of_Ireland and install that after the rollbacked navcore?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DinAlt
Regular Visitor


Joined: Nov 25, 2003
Posts: 190
Location: Slough

PostPosted: Sat Nov 22, 2008 6:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes that should be fine - remember you can't run the new 815 map with the old 8.1 core though

DinAlt
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NAM-UK
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Nov 13, 2008
Posts: 59
Location: Atherton lancashire

PostPosted: Sat Nov 22, 2008 6:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

DinAlt wrote:
Yes that should be fine - remember you can't run the new 815 map with the old 8.1 core though

DinAlt


got it thanks Thumbs Up
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
1ka
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Sep 08, 2007
Posts: 34

PostPosted: Mon Nov 24, 2008 10:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Damnation. I used FM spoken output on my motorbike. Now I can't do that. So, it's rollback everytime I switch between bike and car. Makes we wonder why I bothered with the map update. I think I'll investigate a different brand next time.

.....

(rant)
Can't even use the line-out as the socket has dropped off the board. Can't use bluetooth as it's the stereo implementation that's not common with motorbike headsets. Why they didn't implement both stereo and mono I don't know. The Rider uses mono, so it should be easy to do.
(/rant)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Andy_P
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jun 04, 2005
Posts: 19991
Location: West and Southwest London

PostPosted: Mon Nov 24, 2008 1:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

A few work-rounds you might consider...

A cheap iPod-style FM transmitter (you'd need to get the line out socket fixed, but any competent electronics bod could do that)

You don't say which model you have, but if it is one with an SD card slot, then instead of having to roll-back software versions, just keep two different SD cards, one with the old software and one with the new. Alternatively, if you've got both internal memory and an SD slot, keep one setup on the internal memory and one on an SD.

Try the Bluetooth fix described HERE (techie explanation in the first post, download in the second). I don't pretend to understand what it does exactly, but basically I think it forces the TomTom to accept "mobile phone-flavour" Bluetooth as well as "HiFi device flavour". It certainly worked with my Sony BT car radio that wouldn't pair with the TT without it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
psyskiesman
Lifetime Member


Joined: Jun 22, 2004
Posts: 322
Location: Swindon, Wiltshire

PostPosted: Tue Nov 25, 2008 6:23 pm    Post subject: What frequency to use? Reply with quote

Does anyone know if there is any frequency that is not in use anywhere. the problem I am having is that listening to mp3 via FM transmitter to the car radio, I'm lucky if I can hear one song without interuption from a nearby radio transmission. So basically, is there a frequency available that will stay free as I travel around the country?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mikealder
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jan 14, 2005
Posts: 19638
Location: Blackpool , Lancs

PostPosted: Tue Nov 25, 2008 8:01 pm    Post subject: Re: What frequency to use? Reply with quote

psyskiesman wrote:
Does anyone know if there is any frequency that is not in use anywhere.

There is no such free frequency that covers the country, I use 106,3 for the North West and then 107,0 for Yorkshire and Lincolnshire.

Dont forget the x20/ x30 units can remember two or three previously used frequencies, having these stored on both the device and the car radio as presets makes any alterations so much easier whilst on the move - Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
TimsTomTom
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Dec 07, 2008
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sun Dec 07, 2008 7:10 pm    Post subject: Re: What frequency to use? Reply with quote

psyskiesman wrote:
Does anyone know if there is any frequency that is not in use anywhere.


In the South West [or deepest, darkest Dorset as we sometimes call it] I use 107.5.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TimsTomTom
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Dec 07, 2008
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sun Dec 07, 2008 7:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mikealder wrote:

THIS WILL ONLY WORK WITH MAPS VERSION 810 OR EARLIER, IF YOU ONLY HAVE THE VERSION 815 MAPS DO NOT TRY THIS - IT WON'T WORK

- Mike


How can I tell which version of MAPS is on my 730?

- Tim
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mikealder
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jan 14, 2005
Posts: 19638
Location: Blackpool , Lancs

PostPosted: Sun Dec 07, 2008 7:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tap the sat strength meter (lower right corner) followed by the version box and the page the unit will display contains the application and current map information - Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
RedTomato
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jan 05, 2008
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Wed Dec 10, 2008 2:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

LostMike wrote:
I have just asked TomTom why they have stopped my 920 transmitting to my radio and await a reply. In my case (I have hearing problems) it was the ability to transmit through my car radio that got me to buy it. If they have now gone and removed the function without warning do I warrant a refund?


Yes that's exactly why i bought my 720 boy oh boy TomTom sure
like to make life hard if its not one thing then its another Twisted Evil
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
batties
Lifetime Member


Joined: Jul 07, 2006
Posts: 111

PostPosted: Wed Dec 10, 2008 3:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Below is the reply I got from TomTom when asked the same question.

With reference to your device not being fit for purpose and the refund of your map, the FM Transmitter function being removed does not stop you using a map you have purchased, the following is the statement are giving to all our customers:

'We understand that you are concerned about the recent change to the TomTom application which has disabled FM Transmission of navigation instructions. We deeply regret that it has become necessary for us to implement this change, as our FM Transmission technology was a unique innovation at the time of its release.

Unfortunately, due to recent legislation, it is no longer allowed to occupy an unused FM frequency unless audio transmission is constant. Because the signal that carries your TomTom's voice instructions is not constant (voice instructions are only given occasionally, as needed) it has now become illegal to transmit this kind of audio via FM radio transmission.

We regret that this feature can no longer be offered under the current legal restriction.'

If you have any other queries, please do not hesitate to contact us.

With Best Regards

The TomTom Customer Support Team

_________________
TT Go 720 v8.204
Western Europe Map v8.45
8 GB SDHC card
TT Home version 2.7.5.2014
iPhone 4S with CameraAlert
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Portable Navigation Devices All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next
Page 5 of 7

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
22.072 (10 Jul 24)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping