Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - 765T - Anyone here got one?
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

765T - Anyone here got one?
Goto page 1, 2, 3 ... 13, 14, 15  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Garmin Portable Navigation Devices
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Darren
Pocket GPS Staff
Pocket GPS Staff


Joined: 11/07/2002 14:36:40
Posts: 23848
Location: Hampshire, UK

PostPosted: Mon Nov 03, 2008 11:59 am    Post subject: 765T - Anyone here got one? Reply with quote

I'm testing a 765T at the moment, I'm having a few issues and wanted to see if other owners have the same problems?

Is there any other UK owner of a 765 here?
_________________
Darren Griffin - Editor
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
PaulB2005
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jan 04, 2006
Posts: 9323
Location: Durham, UK

PostPosted: Mon Nov 03, 2008 5:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Haven't got one but can we non-765 owners know what the problems are....?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Darren
Pocket GPS Staff
Pocket GPS Staff


Joined: 11/07/2002 14:36:40
Posts: 23848
Location: Hampshire, UK

PostPosted: Mon Nov 03, 2008 6:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm not saying they are problems per se but they are observations Smile

The major issue for me is the screen re-draw. I haven't managed to capture a screen-shot but what happens regularly is you will be travelling along a road which continues ahead but it is shown on screen as a cul-de-sac.

Only when you approach the end of the road as drawn does it complete and draw the road ahead. I've Photoshopped a screen-shot to give an idea of what I'm trying to describe:



The other issue is TMC. I have not yet managed to get any signal at all. The TMC Settings page just shows it as tuning. AIUI I will only see a Licence for TMC once it has successfully tuned in the UK? Currently I see a Licence for US Traffic?
_________________
Darren Griffin - Editor
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
PaulB2005
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jan 04, 2006
Posts: 9323
Location: Durham, UK

PostPosted: Mon Nov 03, 2008 7:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Re: Display. Never seen heard anyone report that before.

Quote:
AIUI I will only see a Licence for TMC once it has successfully tuned in the UK?


Think so. I remember it took a while to get it to work first time on the 760.

Quote:
Currently I see a Licence for US Traffic?


What model TMC reciever do you have?

Are there any lights on the reciever and what colour do they go when plugged in?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Darren
Pocket GPS Staff
Pocket GPS Staff


Joined: 11/07/2002 14:36:40
Posts: 23848
Location: Hampshire, UK

PostPosted: Mon Nov 03, 2008 8:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's labelled GTM 21, there are two LED's on the cigarette lighter plug but so far I have only seen the Green Power one lit.
_________________
Darren Griffin - Editor
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
BAVC10
Lifetime Member


Joined: Dec 20, 2005
Posts: 735

PostPosted: Mon Nov 03, 2008 8:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have had a Nuvi 765 for 2 weeks now and haven't had any of the problems you refer to.

The traffic works as well as on the Nuvi 760 - ie not full UK but variable coverage.

The screen redraw is fine but the only bug I have experienced so far is that the system sometimes shuts down without any warning at all.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Darren
Pocket GPS Staff
Pocket GPS Staff


Joined: 11/07/2002 14:36:40
Posts: 23848
Location: Hampshire, UK

PostPosted: Mon Nov 03, 2008 8:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

BAVC10 wrote:
I have had a Nuvi 765 for 2 weeks now and haven't had any of the problems you refer to.

What software version out of interest?
Quote:
The traffic works as well as on the Nuvi 760 - ie not full UK but variable coverage.

The screen redraw is fine but the only bug I have experienced so far is that the system sometimes shuts down without any warning at all.

Indeed, I've experienced that a few times.

Thanks for replying, I'll see if I can grab a screen-shot when it occurs next.
_________________
Darren Griffin - Editor
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
PaulB2005
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jan 04, 2006
Posts: 9323
Location: Durham, UK

PostPosted: Mon Nov 03, 2008 10:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
It's labelled GTM 21, there are two LED's on the cigarette lighter plug but so far I have only seen the Green Power one lit.


The other one should turn red until it figures out which country it is in. Then yellow to show it's searching and the green when it has the signal.

Possilbe duff unit? Have you checked with WebUpdater for any GTMxx Firmware updates?

Quote:
The screen redraw is fine but the only bug I have experienced so far is that the system sometimes shuts down without any warning at all.


Is this always in the same locations or if you do certian things with the unit (i.e. button presses or selet certain functions with a route planned)?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Darren
Pocket GPS Staff
Pocket GPS Staff


Joined: 11/07/2002 14:36:40
Posts: 23848
Location: Hampshire, UK

PostPosted: Mon Nov 03, 2008 10:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'll check the LED status tomorrow, TBH I don't recall if the Red LED was lit or not Embarassed

Webupdater did provide a firmware update for the unit when I first received it.

The screen re-draw has happened at a number of locations but I'm paying closer attention now so will document it and the locations that it occurs in and see if there is a pattern.
_________________
Darren Griffin - Editor
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
PaulB2005
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jan 04, 2006
Posts: 9323
Location: Durham, UK

PostPosted: Mon Nov 03, 2008 10:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
The screen re-draw has happened at a number of locations but I'm paying closer attention now so will document it and the locations that it occurs in and see if there is a pattern.


There was an issue with the 7xx series where certain locations or certain actions would cause the unit to switch off. Fixed in the latest release. I know the 7xx and 7x5 series are different but i suspect the 7x5 firmware originated as a 7xx firmware, so some bugs could be in both.

Correction to the above re the GTM21

From the GTM21 manual

Quote:
The GTM21 may take up to 5 minutes to get the signal.


and

Quote:
Status LED
Yellow Dot-Dash Flashes: Determining which country you are in
Yellow Solid Light: Searching for signal
Red Light: Momentary Signal Loss
Green Light: Normal Traffic Data


This is different from my GTM-21. Which uses Red for checking country, yellow for search and green for traffic data. If it loose signal it changes back to yellow. However in day light i can be difficult to tell the difference between the yellow and green status.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Darren
Pocket GPS Staff
Pocket GPS Staff


Joined: 11/07/2002 14:36:40
Posts: 23848
Location: Hampshire, UK

PostPosted: Tue Nov 04, 2008 9:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

PaulB2005 wrote:

Quote:
Status LED
Yellow Dot-Dash Flashes: Determining which country you are in

On a quick test this morning on the school run that's all I'm seeing so far. It's not helped by my living in an area that rarely gets TMC of any sort but I would have expected it to get some signal on a 500 mile round trip.

I'll keep testing, I can normally get a signal once I venture a little further afield although I'm not about to drive 20 miles just to test this I'll wait until I need to make the trip![/quote]
_________________
Darren Griffin - Editor
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
BAVC10
Lifetime Member


Joined: Dec 20, 2005
Posts: 735

PostPosted: Tue Nov 04, 2008 12:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

traffic info still working fine for me.

Copy of system settings about screen


Screenshots of map display and traffic interface


Screenshots of the new ALG - this works very well on M25, M1,M6 and M42



Traffic map displays a grey shaded background


Normal navigational map at similar location


Last edited by BAVC10 on Tue Nov 04, 2008 12:50 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Darren
Pocket GPS Staff
Pocket GPS Staff


Joined: 11/07/2002 14:36:40
Posts: 23848
Location: Hampshire, UK

PostPosted: Tue Nov 04, 2008 12:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmm I'm showing Beta Software 2.31.
_________________
Darren Griffin - Editor
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
BAVC10
Lifetime Member


Joined: Dec 20, 2005
Posts: 735

PostPosted: Tue Nov 04, 2008 12:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Darren

ran webupdater this morning and apart from offering me a Blue Sports car and a Danish voice there was no firmware upgrade.

Presumably 2.31 beta is a test version supplied direct from Garmin rather than via public release - mine was purchased from Halfords.


Last edited by BAVC10 on Tue Nov 04, 2008 1:10 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Darren
Pocket GPS Staff
Pocket GPS Staff


Joined: 11/07/2002 14:36:40
Posts: 23848
Location: Hampshire, UK

PostPosted: Tue Nov 04, 2008 12:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Indeed, I don't even see the 765 in the list of available updates over at Garmin so no option for me to revert to the non-Beta release.

I posted some screen-shots in another thread to show TomTom users how much better Garmin's Lane-Assist was:



_________________
Darren Griffin - Editor
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Garmin Portable Navigation Devices All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page 1, 2, 3 ... 13, 14, 15  Next
Page 1 of 15

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
21.035 (29 Mar 23)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping