Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
Read the current newsletter! Weekly
Newsletter
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Luxury 4 bedroom villa for rent in the Disney Orlando Florida area.
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - Computer shuts down but doesn't power off completely
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

Computer shuts down but doesn't power off completely
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Lost Satellite Fix - Off Topic Area
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Mullet
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Dec 12, 2005
Posts: 1050

PostPosted: Fri Aug 29, 2008 10:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This solved the same problem for me with an Archos AV400. See how it goes for you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Calomax
Lifetime Member


Joined: Sep 30, 2005
Posts: 988
Location: St Martin's, Guernsey

PostPosted: Fri Aug 29, 2008 10:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Cheer, I'll let you know
_________________
TT Go Essential
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Calomax
Lifetime Member


Joined: Sep 30, 2005
Posts: 988
Location: St Martin's, Guernsey

PostPosted: Fri Aug 29, 2008 1:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Mullet, I've unticked all those Power Management boxes but it hasn't made any difference at all.

Thanks anyway
_________________
TT Go Essential
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mullet
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Dec 12, 2005
Posts: 1050

PostPosted: Fri Aug 29, 2008 10:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

One last suggestion from a colleague. Some motherboards have jumper plugs similar to those in the rear of a hard disc. The position of these can enable or not the power after shutdown feature. Dig out your motherboard manual and see if this feature exists, then open the case and visually check the setting. While you are at it perhaps change the motherboard battery as Darren suggests.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Calomax
Lifetime Member


Joined: Sep 30, 2005
Posts: 988
Location: St Martin's, Guernsey

PostPosted: Fri Aug 29, 2008 10:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for that Mullet, I'll have a look for the manual and check on that. The only thing is that I don't think it always did this. I'm sure when I first had my TomTom that the green light went out when I shut down the computer.

I must have a look at what battery it needs and change that as well.
_________________
TT Go Essential
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mullet
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Dec 12, 2005
Posts: 1050

PostPosted: Fri Aug 29, 2008 11:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
I must have a look at what battery it needs and change that as well.

Cant miss it, it looks like one from a remote car key. About the size of a 10p coin.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mikealder
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jan 14, 2005
Posts: 19638
Location: Blackpool , Lancs

PostPosted: Sat Aug 30, 2008 12:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

And engraved in the top of it will most probably be "CR2032" these can be purchased from most jewellers shops for around 50P to 1 so get it swapped out, while you are in the PC take the opportunity to use the vacuum cleaner to remove dust/ fluff - it builds up at a heck of a rate and the odd clean out is well worth it to avoid blowing the chips - Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
Calomax
Lifetime Member


Joined: Sep 30, 2005
Posts: 988
Location: St Martin's, Guernsey

PostPosted: Sat Aug 30, 2008 7:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks Mike, I will do
_________________
TT Go Essential
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mostdom
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jul 10, 2006
Posts: 1964
Location: Surrey, UK.

PostPosted: Sat Aug 30, 2008 10:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

One odd question... When you shut down the pc, if you were to allow it to start turning on again instantly turn the power supply off at the wall, wait a second or two and turn it back on. After doing this check if the usb devices still turn on your pc?

If this test appears to work then I think you may have a similar problem a few of our pc's at work have, where they will turn back on after shutdown for no reason. I suspect that the command is coming from windows just prior to shut down, as if you pull the power before allowing it to start up again it will still turn on of it's own accord. Why it does this god only knows, as all my attempts to fix so far have failed. It could easily be a software/driver conflict. in most cases a re install of the drivers and windows may not fix it. Sad
_________________
Dom

HERE LIES PND May it rest in peace.
Navigon 7310/iPhone Navigon&Copilot
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Calomax
Lifetime Member


Joined: Sep 30, 2005
Posts: 988
Location: St Martin's, Guernsey

PostPosted: Sat Aug 30, 2008 10:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks mostdom, I had tried that just shutting it off once but when I next turned it on, I got the black screen saying defaults loaded that I mentioned in my first post.

Darren suggested that I may need to change the motherboard battery but I don't know if that was only because of losing the time & date settings or if it would boot up ok with the new battery. When I've changed it, I'll try again. Really I'd like to be able to turn off the power once I've shut it down so that would bypass the problem even though it wouldn't fix it.
_________________
TT Go Essential
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aj2052
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Jul 03, 2005
Posts: 1431
Location: Leics,UK

PostPosted: Sun Aug 31, 2008 1:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I can throw another option in the melting pot, Do ypu have a external charger conrnected to a usb device, i bought a pda cradle which had a mains charger, but when i plugged this in the indicator light and the computer usb sockets stayed on when the computer powered down, although nothing started up it may be a similiar problem.
_________________
Moto G5s Plus, Sygic 17.4.8
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aj2052
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Jul 03, 2005
Posts: 1431
Location: Leics,UK

PostPosted: Sun Aug 31, 2008 1:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

the reason was that the external charger is putting a backfeed thru the Cradle USB lead back into the computer, I did not leave it long enough to see if it did cause any problems but obviously it could.
_________________
Moto G5s Plus, Sygic 17.4.8
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Calomax
Lifetime Member


Joined: Sep 30, 2005
Posts: 988
Location: St Martin's, Guernsey

PostPosted: Sun Aug 31, 2008 7:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

No external charger but I do have a powered usb hub (the TT cradle isn't connectd to it). But I unplugged the power lead and it made no difference.
_________________
TT Go Essential
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Darren
Pocket GPS Staff
Pocket GPS Staff


Joined: 11/07/2002 14:36:40
Posts: 23848
Location: Hampshire, UK

PostPosted: Sun Aug 31, 2008 8:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You need to replace the BIOS battery first. This will allow us to set the BIOS and have those settings retained. This could well be the single solution to all your problems but it needs to be done first before looking for other causes if it doesn't resolve matters.
_________________
Darren Griffin - Editor
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Calomax
Lifetime Member


Joined: Sep 30, 2005
Posts: 988
Location: St Martin's, Guernsey

PostPosted: Sun Aug 31, 2008 8:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Cheers Darren, I replaced the battery yesterday and turned off the power when I shut down last night. I still got the black screen this morning but chose to enter setup & load setup defaults. Now it boots up normally. I was surprised that the battery only lasted just over a year, otherwise I may have suspected it earlier. I would expect them to use rechargeables by now anyway.

Anyway, TomTom is still powered when the computer is off unless I turn the power off at the wall, and when turning the power back on, it's green light comes on again, and I can still boot up the computer by turning TomTom on.

But as I caan now turn off the power without losing settings, it really doesn't matter now.

Thanks everyone for your help.

Keith
_________________
TT Go Essential
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Lost Satellite Fix - Off Topic Area All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Page 2 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB 2.0.11 © 2001 phpBB Group
phpBB port v2.1 based on Tom Nitzschner's phpbb2.0.6 upgraded to phpBB 2.0.4 standalone was developed and tested by:
ArtificialIntel, ChatServ, mikem,
sixonetonoffun and Paul Laudanski (aka Zhen-Xjell).

Version 2.1 by Nuke Cops 2003 http://www.nukecops.com

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
19.063 (16 Jun 21)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping