Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - Tomtom rider 1 new user
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

Tomtom rider 1 new user

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Motorcycle GPS Users
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
ugotit33
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jul 25, 2008
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Fri Jul 25, 2008 11:33 am    Post subject: Tomtom rider 1 new user Reply with quote

I just bought a rider 1 on ebay bare bones.
what do I need to get it to work.
I hold the button on the right side for 2-3 seconds no go.
My tomtom go 3rd goes on as soon as i old the button for 2-3 seconds.
Could the battery be dead in the rider and what do I need to charge it with.
I thought the usb from the go model would charge it off of my computer.
HELP any info appreciate
Thank you
Roberto
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tim Buxton
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: 14/09/2002 20:56:18
Posts: 5231
Location: Surrey, United Kingdom

PostPosted: Fri Jul 25, 2008 5:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The RIDER uses an original TomTom charger; the USB port is only used for data transfer. Look for a charger suitable for charging, for instance, the TomTom Bluetooth GPS Receiver. That one will charge your RIDER.
_________________
Tim
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
ugotit33
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jul 25, 2008
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Fri Jul 25, 2008 6:31 pm    Post subject: rider Charger Reply with quote

Can you tell me the voltage that the Rider charger puts out.
I have a few chargers here and might be one I can use till my
real charger arrives.
Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
exportman
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Mar 26, 2006
Posts: 261
Location: United Kingdom

PostPosted: Wed Jul 30, 2008 10:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi

The tomtom charges delivers 5V -2.0a with a positive centre post

You should be able to get something similar from Maplins or a good electrical components shop
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ugotit33
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jul 25, 2008
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Thu Jul 31, 2008 12:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I kinda thought that but I guess to get it running you need the intialized SD card with the maps.
I did try a charger but still no screen.
Is it true you need the SD CARD and maps to boot it up.
Robert
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
FazerUK
Lifetime Member


Joined: Nov 18, 2004
Posts: 242
Location: Wrexhaml, UK

PostPosted: Thu Jul 31, 2008 2:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ugotit33 wrote:
I kinda thought that but I guess to get it running you need the intialized SD card with the maps.
I did try a charger but still no screen.
Is it true you need the SD CARD and maps to boot it up.
Robert


Yes you need the SD card, as the software to work your tomtom should be installed as well as the maps
_________________
TomTom Go 700,
with External Antenna, External Mike
App v7.160, OS:2324, GPS v1.21, Boot 5.4201
Western_Europe-Map v650.1127
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
ugotit33
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Jul 25, 2008
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Thu Jul 31, 2008 5:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok Thanks I have a cadr coming from Hong Kong Very Happy with the charger.
Robert
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rbrtrophy
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Apr 29, 2006
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Thu Jul 31, 2008 9:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Be very careful with what charger you get! I have had to send my TT rider back twice now due to it blowing a fuse trying to charge it with chargers other than the OEM one, Better to use the correct charger for the TT than take this risk.
It does sound like this has already happened to yours though, You can go to the TT web site and there is a procedure to go through to boot it up when pressing the on/off button doesn't work if this fails then you may have to send it to TT to get it repaired! if this is the case then I wish you luck !
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Motorcycle GPS Users All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
21.093 (20 Sep 23)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping