Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
Read the current newsletter! Weekly
Newsletter
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - What happens with a pub stop ?
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

What happens with a pub stop ?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Satmap Active 10
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
FrequentFlyer
Lifetime Member


Joined: Jun 12, 2006
Posts: 960
Location: London

PostPosted: Wed Apr 02, 2008 8:42 am    Post subject: What happens with a pub stop ? Reply with quote

Would you guys comment on the following scenario...thanks.
I'm out for an all day walk on an unplanned walk...I've set everything back to 'zero'..(track log etc.,) The all day walk calls for a pub stop of say an hour or so....the weather probably means that I will have to take shelter by the bar.
How would you deal with the device in this situation, as at the end of the walk I want to convert it to a 'saved' walk for future use ?
My concerns are, loss of gps signal in the pub, and stopping for an hour or so. Will I 'lose' one of the logs...or will the pub hour create a total mess on the A10 ? How should I set it up to avoid any confusion ?
What I want is just the total walk. Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
philpugh
Lifetime Member


Joined: Dec 28, 2005
Posts: 2003
Location: Antrobus, Cheshire

PostPosted: Wed Apr 02, 2008 10:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Not using a satmap but I do use a logger (SG289BT). I leave this on in my rucsac top bag all the time, including the very much needed pub stop. When downloaded to MemoryMap you get a lot of wandering at the pub - to be expected because of the reduced signal levels. You can edit this out of the track logs my device genrates - for archive purposes. The logger also shows the wandering after the pub stop - but that's a different story Laughing

Using a device with more limited battery power (eg Satmap/mapping GPS) I would be tempted to switch them off and get two logs if that is what happens. My Colorado 300 records it as one tracklog in any event, with an obvious time difference in the log. Leaving the C300 on for an hour's break is not worth the aggro of possibly having to change batteries during the rest of the walk.
_________________
Phil
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Darren
Pocket GPS Staff
Pocket GPS Staff


Joined: 11/07/2002 14:36:40
Posts: 23848
Location: Hampshire, UK

PostPosted: Wed Apr 02, 2008 11:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'd leave it on and then edit the resulting track once saved as a route?
_________________
Darren Griffin - Editor
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
nonoftheabove
Regular Visitor


Joined: Oct 27, 2007
Posts: 82

PostPosted: Wed Apr 02, 2008 12:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

speaking of editing the track/route
how does one do that.

I downloaded a track into both Memory Map & Anquet
yesterday. The track on memory map showed i can walk on water
the same track in Anquet seemed to be more realistic.

The only problem was a SLUG trail covering several miles from some
quirky point to the start of my walk ; i want rid of this erronious section.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mikealder
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jan 14, 2005
Posts: 19638
Location: Blackpool , Lancs

PostPosted: Wed Apr 02, 2008 1:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

In Memory Map position the cursor at the point where you want to split the track, right click and select "Operations/ Split Track" you can then delete the part that is useless, another option is to use "Operations/ Remove Trackpoint" for the odd point that is way off route - Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
FrequentFlyer
Lifetime Member


Joined: Jun 12, 2006
Posts: 960
Location: London

PostPosted: Wed Apr 02, 2008 3:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

How would be the easiest way to 'delete' my pit stop on the A10 then ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
finkployd
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Oct 25, 2007
Posts: 13

PostPosted: Thu Apr 03, 2008 7:30 am    Post subject: not easy... Reply with quote

I had a stop on a route this weekend...


I didn't stop at the pub Sad but I ran ahead of my partner and waited for 30 minutes ahead of her. when I saw her approach I went back over old ground to meet her.

The track created on my SatMap was a little messy because of this and I cannot edit it as some of the yellow track path is laid on top of the valid path underneath.

I might try again after copying the route...


ta ta

Finkployd
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mikealder
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jan 14, 2005
Posts: 19638
Location: Blackpool , Lancs

PostPosted: Thu Apr 03, 2008 8:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Convert your Trail to a Route, next select the Route to make it active and select Edit, not you can use the cursor to go over the top of the Route that is poor, when it gets to a waypoint it will change to a green circle, use the delete button to remove the badly positioned waypoints, it doesn't take too long to tidy up a Route this way - Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
PloddinPedro
Regular Visitor


Joined: Mar 25, 2007
Posts: 229

PostPosted: Mon Apr 07, 2008 3:15 pm    Post subject: Re: What happens with a pub stop ? Reply with quote

FrequentFlyer wrote:
I'm out for an all day walk .... a pub stop of say an hour or so.... How would you deal with the device in this situation, as at the end of the walk I want to convert it to a 'saved' walk for future use? What I want is just the total walk.
I would have thought the simplest (and most economical of battery life) thing to do would be to switch off the A10 when stopping at the pub, then restarting it when resuming the walk (ensuring as you do, that the Trip Log is restarted.) When you later view the contents of the A10 via SatSYNC, you will get a "track.gpx" file that records the whole trip (I think - you would have to check this.)

The drawback with this however, is that the "track.gpx" file is pretty big. To reuse it, you would likely have to pass it through Memory Map or similar and filter it down. Or would SatSYNC do this anyway? I haven't yet tried reusing a previous A10 generated route in this way.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Satmap Active 10 All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB 2.0.11 © 2001 phpBB Group
phpBB port v2.1 based on Tom Nitzschner's phpbb2.0.6 upgraded to phpBB 2.0.4 standalone was developed and tested by:
ArtificialIntel, ChatServ, mikem,
sixonetonoffun and Paul Laudanski (aka Zhen-Xjell).

Version 2.1 by Nuke Cops İ 2003 http://www.nukecops.com

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
20.064 (22 Jun 22)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







İ Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping