Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
Read the current newsletter! Weekly
Newsletter
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - ST2 - Number of Licences?
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

ST2 - Number of Licences?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Navman Handhelds
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
gilbo
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Oct 20, 2003
Posts: 16
Location: Milton Keynes, England

PostPosted: Wed Mar 17, 2004 3:30 pm    Post subject: ST2 - Number of Licences? Reply with quote

Hi,

Does any one know who many Ipaq's can be registered to ST2 at the same time?

I've currently got TT2, and I'm able to use both my wife's and my own Ipaq with the one software package.

I think with TT2, you can replace a PDA with another one every 6 months.

I'm looking to buy this by Fri at the latest as I'm going to Italy next week.

Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
icsys
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Feb 20, 2004
Posts: 1154
Location: South Lancashire, UK

PostPosted: Wed Mar 17, 2004 3:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I should imagine that you could install the software to as many PDA devices as you like... however the EULA does state the following:

The licensor grants the customer a non exclusive license to use one copy of the software on one of the customers hand held devices and the accompanying materials.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gilbo
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Oct 20, 2003
Posts: 16
Location: Milton Keynes, England

PostPosted: Wed Mar 17, 2004 6:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the quick response!

I'd imagine that since ST2 uses online registration that the second attempt would probably fail.

I just don't want to pay TomTom a similar amount of money for less data!

Thanks for your help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
icsys
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Feb 20, 2004
Posts: 1154
Location: South Lancashire, UK

PostPosted: Thu Mar 18, 2004 12:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

As far as I am aware the ipaq isn't registered to the software. The Smart ST software is required to be registered when installed on your PC but then I would assume you can download to a PDA as many times as you like. I installed it on my ipaq several times when I first got it but I only registered the software once.

I dont have two PPCs to try it but although the EULA does not permit it, it should work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dave
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Sep 10, 2003
Posts: 6460
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu Mar 18, 2004 7:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The software is registered to the Pocket PC, when you go through the activation cycle you need to have the Pocket PC in the cradle.

Legally one as per the T's and C's. Navman do allow two more grace activations for upgrading Pocket PC's etc, after which you have to contact them regarding activations.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
icsys
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Feb 20, 2004
Posts: 1154
Location: South Lancashire, UK

PostPosted: Thu Mar 18, 2004 10:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Navman do allow two more grace activations for upgrading Pocket PC's etc, after which you have to contact them regarding activations.

Well... there you go... looks like I may have used up my 'grace activations' as I installed it twice on the PPC when I first got it as I had trouble getting it to work. (new toy etc...) I only recall registering once though???
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dave
Frequent Visitor


Joined: Sep 10, 2003
Posts: 6460
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu Mar 18, 2004 11:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Installing/activating twice on the same device is okay, it's activating it twice on two or three different devices will max it out. Last I saw it was 3 but I still don't have a copy of SmartST Pro V2 Embarassed Grrrr
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Navman Handhelds All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB 2.0.11 © 2001 phpBB Group
phpBB port v2.1 based on Tom Nitzschner's phpbb2.0.6 upgraded to phpBB 2.0.4 standalone was developed and tested by:
ArtificialIntel, ChatServ, mikem,
sixonetonoffun and Paul Laudanski (aka Zhen-Xjell).

Version 2.1 by Nuke Cops 2003 http://www.nukecops.com

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
19.121 (01 Dec 21)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping