Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
Read the current newsletter! Weekly
Newsletter
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - TomTom v6.032 voice problem
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

TomTom v6.032 voice problem
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Software-Only Products
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Eugene7
Lifetime Member


Joined: Sep 24, 2007
Posts: 72

PostPosted: Tue Jan 22, 2008 7:00 pm    Post subject: TomTom v6.032 voice problem Reply with quote

I have a new Vodafone v1615 (HTC TyTnII), with supplied TomTom v6.032 software.

Having a real problem that the voice commands on TomTom often get cut-off part way through.

Didn't have this problem on a previous Qtek 9100.

For example, I get 'after', but no more, when the instruction should be 'after 800 yards turn right'.

Anyone else suffering this?

Have tried different map versions, different voices, hard re-set and reinstall - and no difference...

I hope someone has some idea what fixes this!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
xda
Lifetime Member


Joined: Mar 11, 2004
Posts: 1199
Location: Park Gate

PostPosted: Tue Jan 22, 2008 7:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What SD Card have you got in it? and what is it's speed. Usually the problem you describe is the result using a slow read write speed.
_________________
Graham.
TT Go720, App:9.510(1234792.1) OS:842337
GPS: V1.20, Boot: 5.5279, Home: V2.9.5.3093
Map: Europe V910.4892
Map: Europe_Truck V870.3421, Kingston 8GB SD
Nokia 925 Windows 8
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
mikealder
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jan 14, 2005
Posts: 19638
Location: Blackpool , Lancs

PostPosted: Tue Jan 22, 2008 7:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Card speed is a viable cause, but also how many POI files have you got enabled - use the Warn When Near POI feature instead as it places far less burden on the processor.
Also make sure you have stopped other applications from running, Start/ Settings/ Memory_Running Programs and select Stop all PRIOR to starting the navigation application - see if this can alter the performance - Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
Eugene7
Lifetime Member


Joined: Sep 24, 2007
Posts: 72

PostPosted: Wed Jan 23, 2008 10:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

SD card is a fast one!

And the voices are actually installed in RAM in the Navigator folder...

I also have no POI's enabled.

Any other thoughts?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Eugene7
Lifetime Member


Joined: Sep 24, 2007
Posts: 72

PostPosted: Wed Jan 23, 2008 5:30 pm    Post subject: FIXED - Voice CutOff issue! Reply with quote

The default installation for voices is in the Navigator folder in the main memory, while the maps are in the SD card root directory.

Moved the voices folder to the SD card root, and all works 100% now!

Guess it was something to do with the two memories being accessed at the same time.

Not sure TomTom know about this issue...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Eugene7
Lifetime Member


Joined: Sep 24, 2007
Posts: 72

PostPosted: Sun Jan 27, 2008 10:31 am    Post subject: Voice Cut-Off - NOT FIXED Reply with quote

Voice Cut-Off - NOT FIXED

Arrgh!

I was too quick with my belief in a fix...

While it did initially work ok after moving voices to the SD card, the issue is now back exactly the same.

Any one got any other ideas/solutions.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
stevengirdham
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Oct 20, 2004
Posts: 38

PostPosted: Mon Jan 28, 2008 12:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i have the same problem Voice Cut Off just after it said, after, than nothing, should off bean after 800 yards turn left. tyred all sorts no good does anyone have it working OK
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Eugene7
Lifetime Member


Joined: Sep 24, 2007
Posts: 72

PostPosted: Mon Jan 28, 2008 10:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've now tried a load of things to fix this voice instruction problem, where the voice 'cuts-off' before the end of the command.

So, with nothing else left, I re-flashed my device (which was a Vodafone v1615, with Vodafone ROM) to the standard HTC ROM, and re-installed TomTom.

Same problem!

So, my question now is, how many other Kaiser users with TomTom suffer the same problem?

I'm really beginning to think this is an issue with the version of TomTom with internal GPS...

Any others have comments on this?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Eugene7
Lifetime Member


Joined: Sep 24, 2007
Posts: 72

PostPosted: Mon Jan 28, 2008 11:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have re-flashed the ROM to HTC standard - no chang with problem!

Tried an older version of TomTom (6.030), and still have the same problem.

Also placed map and Navigator all in device memory, and still same problem...

What the %*!$ is going on???

Anyone got any ideas?

This really is driving me nuts!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Jimbo90
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Aug 04, 2005
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Tue Jan 29, 2008 1:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Same problem here, with TyTN II plus TomTom v6.032, except the problem is typically of the form "After 200 yards..." and then silence. 200 yards later, it'll give the correct instruction.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stevengirdham
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Oct 20, 2004
Posts: 38

PostPosted: Tue Jan 29, 2008 8:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

has any one asked tomtom for help
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Eugene7
Lifetime Member


Joined: Sep 24, 2007
Posts: 72

PostPosted: Wed Jan 30, 2008 3:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yep, I am having an on-going dialogue with TomTom and they are as good as useless!

First saying it was my device; then is must be a corrupt software install; then the voice files must be corrupted...

Each time I have explained the lengths I've gone to to try to see if the problem is a bad install/system/etc., they just come back with some new lame idea.

I am realising that the 'free' standard voices are better than the cost/external/3rd party ones - and find a couple for the free ones almost work correctly.

But I paid for the John Cleese ones (yds/mts) and they are just about the worse in operation.

Still looking for a fix...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
mikealder
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jan 14, 2005
Posts: 19638
Location: Blackpool , Lancs

PostPosted: Wed Jan 30, 2008 6:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have you tried the Liz Whitaker voice on the device yet, I consider this one of the best? although I am at a loss as to why your PDA is behaving this way, can you check how many other progras are running in the background (if any) try stopping them all before launching TomTom, does this make a difference - Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
stevengirdham
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Oct 20, 2004
Posts: 38

PostPosted: Wed Jan 30, 2008 9:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

a frend of mine just got the o2 xda stella ( htc tytn 11 } same as me and said all works ok
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Eugene7
Lifetime Member


Joined: Sep 24, 2007
Posts: 72

PostPosted: Thu Jan 31, 2008 9:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Will try the Liz Whitaker voice.

There are never any other programs running in the background (except SBP Plus I guess as I use that to kill on close all other programs) but then I've run TomTom with no other programs loaded, as still have the same issue.

Can you tru John Cleese for me (the free version you can find via a search does exactyl the same as the TomTom ones I purchased).

If it was just my particular device that had the problem I'd just get it changed; but many others are reporting the same problem, so I want to get to the bottom of it!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Software-Only Products All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Page 1 of 4

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB 2.0.11 © 2001 phpBB Group
phpBB port v2.1 based on Tom Nitzschner's phpbb2.0.6 upgraded to phpBB 2.0.4 standalone was developed and tested by:
ArtificialIntel, ChatServ, mikem,
sixonetonoffun and Paul Laudanski (aka Zhen-Xjell).

Version 2.1 by Nuke Cops 2003 http://www.nukecops.com

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
20.013 (19 Jan 22)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping