Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - Help!!!
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

Help!!!

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Portable Navigation Devices
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
mrgrimsby
Regular Visitor


Joined: Mar 05, 2007
Posts: 147

PostPosted: Sat Jan 05, 2008 8:55 pm    Post subject: Help!!! Reply with quote

My wife bought a new camera today and a new sd card and somehow managed to put my original tomtom one card in her camera and formatted it!! I had a 1GB card in my tomtom which is fine and I have copied that back to my original card so it works but tomtom home tells me the card is not the original so it wont do a restore or backup. Will tomtom help me or am i doomed and forced to slap the missus???
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mikealder
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jan 14, 2005
Posts: 19638
Location: Blackpool , Lancs

PostPosted: Sat Jan 05, 2008 9:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have a read of the FAQ page #1 should help you out, if you follow that to copy the card details back to the PC then the original Home won't be any the wiser, more importantly it will work, click Here Just make sure you copy the working card to the PC, and don't let the other half near the PC again! - Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
Andy_P
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jun 04, 2005
Posts: 19991
Location: West and Southwest London

PostPosted: Sat Jan 05, 2008 9:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Don't use Home for backups.
This is the (endlessly repeated) advice from this forum.
If the card is workingcorrectly in the TT then do a proper Windows Explorer backup NOW. See the FAQs in this forum #1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mrgrimsby
Regular Visitor


Joined: Mar 05, 2007
Posts: 147

PostPosted: Sat Jan 05, 2008 10:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks chaps but it didnt work, its my fault I have seen many posts on this forum about backing up with windows but I always used tomtom home and it will not let restore, I have sent a request for help from tomtom and will see if they are willing to help me otherwise its a divorce from tomtom .............and the wife Evil or Very Mad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mikealder
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jan 14, 2005
Posts: 19638
Location: Blackpool , Lancs

PostPosted: Sat Jan 05, 2008 10:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

But you have a working card? simply copy that to the PC using Windows Explorer as described in the guide, then copy the back up from the PC back to the original card, pop it in the TomTom and it will work, you do not need to use Home for this at all - Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
mrgrimsby
Regular Visitor


Joined: Mar 05, 2007
Posts: 147

PostPosted: Sat Jan 05, 2008 10:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yes mike it does work , so now both cards work ok but I wanted to keep the original card original if you see what i mean so what i wanted to do was use one of my tomtom home backups to restore my original card back to a few months ago but I cant do that because tomtom home keeps telling me the card is not the original and asks me to submit details to them anon.
I have only got myself to blame, I can still use my tomtom and as far as i can see the quick fix updates work but as for anything else I dont know.....I bought my missus two 1GB memory cards from morrisons today for a fiver each and she had to put MY TOMTOM CARD IN HER CAMERA!!! I do not believe it....I really do not believe it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mikealder
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jan 14, 2005
Posts: 19638
Location: Blackpool , Lancs

PostPosted: Sat Jan 05, 2008 10:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just ignore what TomTom Home is saying, if the card works that is all that matters, the PC based software can be a little "stupid" at times (less often it sometimes even works).
Put the card safe and don't worry about it. - Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
Toneloc427
Regular Visitor


Joined: Feb 01, 2007
Posts: 143
Location: New England, USA

PostPosted: Sun Jan 06, 2008 4:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I assume this is all using HOME v2.x?

Might want to try installing 1.5 or 1.6; the older versions will allow you to "change device" and asks if it's a recently formatted card if you want to restore.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Philgo
Regular Visitor


Joined: Jan 02, 2008
Posts: 80

PostPosted: Sun Jan 06, 2008 7:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've found that if you delete the contents of the card first (after backup) that Home will restore a backup without any problems. In other words the Home software will restore a backup to a blank card.

Last edited by Philgo on Sun Jan 06, 2008 1:17 pm; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mrgrimsby
Regular Visitor


Joined: Mar 05, 2007
Posts: 147

PostPosted: Sun Jan 06, 2008 11:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

which version of home philgo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Philgo
Regular Visitor


Joined: Jan 02, 2008
Posts: 80

PostPosted: Sun Jan 06, 2008 1:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mrgrimsby wrote:
which version of home philgo


The latest 2.1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Philgo
Regular Visitor


Joined: Jan 02, 2008
Posts: 80

PostPosted: Sun Jan 06, 2008 1:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can also explore your backup from your PC. On mine its in Documents\TomTom\Home\Backup\ Go\Backup01\InternalMemory\ just copy all the files in this folder to your SDcard.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mrgrimsby
Regular Visitor


Joined: Mar 05, 2007
Posts: 147

PostPosted: Sun Jan 06, 2008 2:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It did not want to know on the new version it just kept telling me I needed to update to new version then it reverted me to the old version so i got rid and reinstalled the old tomtom home which I think is the better of the 2 (both bad), I know I only have myself to blame for this mess but I cant understand why tomtom have to make things so complicated.
Anyway my tomtom seems to be working ok now but what a bloomin nightmare its been. Thanks all for advice and kind words, Its a shame tomtom could not adopt such a regime.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mrgrimsby
Regular Visitor


Joined: Mar 05, 2007
Posts: 147

PostPosted: Wed Jan 09, 2008 8:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Got a reply from tomtom about this problem .....
Dear Mr Bruce,

Thank you for contacting TomTom Customer Support


You need to put the orgional card back into the tomtom and reformat it. The add the restore as the camera format might have been diffrent than what the tomtom can see.

With Best Regards

The TomTom Customer Support Team

I wonder where these technical wizzards are recruited???
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> TomTom Portable Navigation Devices All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
21.055 (31 May 23)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping