Home PageFacebookRSS News Feed
PocketGPS
Web
Read the current newsletter! Weekly
Newsletter
SatNav,GPS,Navigation
Pocket GPS World - SatNavs | GPS | Speed Cameras: Forums

Pocket GPS World :: View topic - TomTom RDS-TMC only showing 1 minute delay?
 Forum FAQForum FAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   ProfileProfile   Log in for private messagesLog in for private messages   Log inLog in 

TomTom RDS-TMC only showing 1 minute delay?
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Traffic Message Channel (TMC)
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
AndyVaughan
Lifetime Member


Joined: Apr 13, 2006
Posts: 1500
Location: Rossendale

PostPosted: Tue Dec 11, 2007 6:46 pm    Post subject: TomTom RDS-TMC only showing 1 minute delay? Reply with quote

Has anyone come across this, and more importantly any idea what the fix is?

I have a GO720 running 7.221 and the RDS-TMC is picking up traffic info, but the delay shown on the traffic sidebar is either nothing or 1 minute. When I go into the traffic info most of the time it doesn't show any delay information, just details of congestion between Jx and Jy etc, but with no delay info. Occasionally it will show delay info in the details, but this is not displayed on the sidebar. On other occasions I have no incidents on the sidebar, but if I go into the details there are 3 incidents on route?

I have logged this with TT who have sent me the files to downgrade to 7.020 to see if it is the same with that version, but I haven't had chance to test yet.


I have seen a couple of others post that they are only seeing 1 minute delays - how many people are affected?

Any one had this and worked out a fix for it?

Thanks
Andy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mikealder
Pocket GPS Moderator
Pocket GPS Moderator


Joined: Jan 14, 2005
Posts: 19638
Location: Blackpool , Lancs

PostPosted: Tue Dec 11, 2007 7:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, that is all I ever see on my 720 with that software installed using the RDS-TMC either 1 minute or nothing in terms of a delay duration - Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail MSN Messenger
AndyVaughan
Lifetime Member


Joined: Apr 13, 2006
Posts: 1500
Location: Rossendale

PostPosted: Tue Dec 11, 2007 8:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So it looks like a bug then in 7.221?

Andy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
falkirk81
Pocket GPS Verifier
Pocket GPS Verifier


Joined: Jul 07, 2006
Posts: 1646
Location: Newcastle, England, UK

PostPosted: Tue Dec 11, 2007 9:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No ive had that since i got my tt one with the first navcore 7 software. still get no delay or 1 min even running the latest firmware for my tt which is 7.162 now!
_________________
Tomtom GO 1005 LIVE

iPhone 12
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AndyVaughan
Lifetime Member


Joined: Apr 13, 2006
Posts: 1500
Location: Rossendale

PostPosted: Tue Dec 11, 2007 9:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So it looks like a v7 bug then.

On v6 sware on my 510 you got info on how long the delay was on the sidebar (when it could get a signal!)

Andy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
falkirk81
Pocket GPS Verifier
Pocket GPS Verifier


Joined: Jul 07, 2006
Posts: 1646
Location: Newcastle, England, UK

PostPosted: Tue Dec 11, 2007 10:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

dont know if its a v7 bug as i didnt have my tmc cable with my old v6 tomtom :S maybe someone out there with an older non-upgraded firmware could comment on the delay info given?
_________________
Tomtom GO 1005 LIVE

iPhone 12
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
COLINRG
Regular Visitor


Joined: Mar 02, 2005
Posts: 91

PostPosted: Fri Dec 14, 2007 6:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

TomTom sent me a file today to install on my 910. Needless to say this has done nothing to improve the 1 minute traffic delay situation.

Has anyone else had a reply from TomTom regarding this matter.

If anyone wishes to try the file sent by TomTom, send me a PM and I'll post to my website. The file is called 'system' and seems to do something but I'm not sure what as it takes a while to boot after installing the file.

The file sent was to be installed in the root of the TomTom and not inside any folders. Not sure if it is specific to the 910.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
COLINRG
Regular Visitor


Joined: Mar 02, 2005
Posts: 91

PostPosted: Sat Dec 15, 2007 4:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Link to system file. HERE


INSTRUCTIONS FROM TOMTOM
Download this file and save it on your computer.

Once the file is saved, connect your TomTom to your computer and turn the TomTom ON.

Now locate the icon in your My Computer window which represents your TomTom.

Open this up.

Copy the "system" file which you have saved on your computer and paste it inside the TomTom via the My Computer window. Do not put the "system" file inside of any folder. If a "system" file already exists, Windows will give you an option to replace the previous file. Click "Yes".

YOU TRY THIS AT YOUR OWN RISK


Last edited by COLINRG on Sun Dec 16, 2007 12:04 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AndyVaughan
Lifetime Member


Joined: Apr 13, 2006
Posts: 1500
Location: Rossendale

PostPosted: Sat Dec 15, 2007 4:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I got exactly the same, a zip file with "system" in it and the "gns" folder (which has gnsdata and TmcEAPi.so in it).

Same again, made no difference whatsoever.

M6 Northbound is currently showing 1:47hrs delay due to a lane closed at J39 when I go in to the details, but the sidebar just shows the icon for lane closed and no delay information at all.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Taeppa
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Dec 14, 2005
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed Dec 19, 2007 8:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Bought my 520T Saturday, same 1 minute sidebar problem. Contacted TomTom support today and their advice is to return it to the retailer as defective.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
COLINRG
Regular Visitor


Joined: Mar 02, 2005
Posts: 91

PostPosted: Thu Dec 20, 2007 9:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Taeppa wrote:
Bought my 520T Saturday, same 1 minute sidebar problem. Contacted TomTom support today and their advice is to return it to the retailer as defective.


Wouldn't bother returning it. It's a software issue and any others that you get will have the same problem.

Tomtom are looking into the problem (or so they say!!) Some people have had fix files emailed but they still have the 1 minute delay.

So now we are in hands of TomTom technical Rolling Eyes
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
taylormuk
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Apr 01, 2006
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Thu Dec 20, 2007 8:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have precisely the same problem. Either no indication or just 1min delay this is even though the main display shows the coloured chevrons and a full green circle (occassionally).

I contacted TomTom support their response was ...

Quote:
This is not normal, but should be easily resolved. Can you carry out a factory reset by going to Change Preferences - Reset Factory Settings, and following the instructions on screen. You will see the screen asking you to enter your language - when you see this, put a pin in the reset hole, which will switch the device off, and keep the pin in the hole for 30 seconds. Then press and hold the 'on' button for 15 seconds. Allow the device then to reload, and you should not encounter the same problems again. Do also ensure that you have installed the latest application update via Home if you have not yet already done so (see: www.tomtom.com/6133).


I've done this and have 7.221 installed there has been no change still either no indication or just 1min
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AndyVaughan
Lifetime Member


Joined: Apr 13, 2006
Posts: 1500
Location: Rossendale

PostPosted: Sat Dec 22, 2007 4:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It won't make any difference doing a reset - been there, done that.

I did almost 500 miles on Thursday/Friday, from East Lancs to Leicester to Norwich and back again and the problem still exists after resets, trying different versions of software and trying replacing files that TT technical have mailed me.

Looks purely like a software issue with the RDS-TMC as if I switch to GPRS Traffic I get the correct delays - one of which was showing as 47mins delay on GPRS and 1min on RDS.

Funnily enough, once you have the delay info from GPRS it remains even after you plug the RDS-TMC back in, and you get a second notification for the same incident via RDS with either no delay info or just 1 min delay.

Andy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Taeppa
Occasional Visitor


Joined: Dec 14, 2005
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Thu Jan 03, 2008 7:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

TomTom customer support has now e-mailed me:

"I have discussed this with our second line specialist team. All delays showing 1 minute as currently under investigation by the software development team.

This will be resolved in a future software update, in the meantime we thank you for your patience in this matter."

So we wait .....

Ken
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
AndyVaughan
Lifetime Member


Joined: Apr 13, 2006
Posts: 1500
Location: Rossendale

PostPosted: Thu Jan 03, 2008 8:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

At least they have acknowledged it as a software issue at last!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message







Posted: Today    Post subject: Pocket GPS Advertising

Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Pocket GPS World Forum Index -> Traffic Message Channel (TMC) All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Page 1 of 4

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Powered by phpBB 2.0.11 © 2001 phpBB Group
phpBB port v2.1 based on Tom Nitzschner's phpbb2.0.6 upgraded to phpBB 2.0.4 standalone was developed and tested by:
ArtificialIntel, ChatServ, mikem,
sixonetonoffun and Paul Laudanski (aka Zhen-Xjell).

Version 2.1 by Nuke Cops 2003 http://www.nukecops.com

Make a Donation



CamerAlert Database

Click here for the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database

Download Speed Camera Database
19.121 (01 Dec 21)



WORLDWIDE SPEED CAMERA SPOTTERS WANTED!

Click here to submit camera positions to the PocketGPSWorld.com Speed Camera Database


12mth Subscriber memberships awarded every week for verified new camera reports!

Submit Speed Camera Locations Now


CamerAlert Apps



iOS QR Code






Android QR Code







Terms & Privacy


GPS Shopping